Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Rippel Effect Fitness Boot Camp Philosophy & Upcoming Book!-


Fitness boot camp training has been a popular part of my business for well over six years. The fitness group concept is a win-win, and has really become a popular means of exercise. I enjoy running boot camps so much, in fact, that I have made an effort to scale-back my personal training business so that I can put more time into my boot camp operations.

Why do I feel boot camps are a win-win? There are several reasons. The most important reason is boot camps allow more people to take advantage of a personalized approach to fitness, without forking over tons of money for one-on-one training. I fully back my one-on-one business, but let’s be real – not everyone can afford the $75/hour price tag, nor does everyone desire to work alone with a trainer.

There are numerous boot camp programs in my area, and no two are alike. I realize that as with the fitness industry in general, there are plenty of programs that are poorly run. I pride myself on providing the best experience possible! The bulk of my experience lies in working one-on-one with clients, and I have had to let go of a bit of worry pertaining to the fact that in a group setting, it is not easy to make things specific for each member. I spent a great amount if time and energy trying to create workouts that were a lot like those I design for my one-on-one clients (ie: emphasis on addressing specific postural issues, muscle imbalances, etc). I came to realize that I was trying to make things way too complicated, and this was interfering with the main focus of the workout. The reasons the ladies were coming to my groups were different based on their goals, but similar in the fact that they wanted a challenging, efficient workout that wasn’t boring! The main focus in their eyes was just getting it done and feeling empowered because of it! This can sometimes be a little hard to relate to for a fitness professional like myself who actually loves this exercise stuff! I get very excited talking about why I want a client to do a specific exercise, or pretty much any other topic that pertains to exercise for that matter! Problem is, most people who come to me seeking fitness intervention truly don’t care about all that – they just want results!

I am constantly reminding myself of my beginnings in the gym, and how intimidated I felt when I was just getting started. I am able to relate to my clients because I’ve been there, and I became empowered and am empowered each and every time I exercise.

Your success is ultimately determined by YOU, so never forget this. Without an inner drive to succeed, you will have a difficult time reaching your goals. We all have our struggles, but if you can utilize them & turn them into positive change, AMAZING things can happen! So, you are in charge of how far you go, however, I created this resource to help you get there!

The book I am putting together is my attempt to provide you, the fitness professional and/or intelligent fitness enthusiast, with “outside the box” programming ideas. I am providing you with a plethora of workouts that I’ve used in my outdoor and indoor “boot camps” over the past six years. You can utilize workouts however you see fit – I am providing the programming, but it is up to you to implement it wisely. This means adapting the workouts and exercises to your ability and/or that of your clients. This does not mean haphazardly throwing exercises at people and putting them at risk of injury. Only with time and hands-on experience comes the ability to create a workout experience that is both results-based and safe for all involved.

In the past couple of years, our profession has seen a tremendous influx of “box” gyms pop up that are being run by inexperienced coaches. With time, this trend will run it’s course. Those who respect sound programming and have solid reasoning behind each and every exercise they prescribe for their clients will remain. Those who think it’s acceptable to just throw a bunch of “functional” exercises together and have their clients believe that “the” way is to work out as fast as possible in a state of exhaustion will not be around for long.

Exercise at your own risk…and if your exercise program puts you at risk, please think twice.

Yours in Health,
Sarah

PS: My original ebook, MTM 1.0 is now available on the Amazon Kindle Store! Chick here to check it out!

20121023-130147.jpg

2 responses

  1. Great post Sarah!!!!! Cudos to you for putting all of this together for people to purchase. Have always enjoyed seeing what you do for your clients/classes, noting that our training styles are very similar….must be the college we attended 🙂

    October 24, 2012 at 10:25 am

    • Thank you, Stacy!!!!!! Great minds think alike! 🙂 Guns up!

      October 24, 2012 at 1:32 pm

Leave a Reply

