Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Catching Up!-


Site updates: I just added pics from the Oxbow Triathlon to my Rippel Effect Tri page (click here to go look)!

A lot has been going on in my life. I have taken two months off from my own workouts due to a herniated disc (L5). I am currently going to physical therapy and am looking forward to getting back on my bike soon! It’s been interesting…I have lost 10 pounds from not working out! I am working on building my core strength and getting things back to “normal.”

As a result of the herniation, I have sciatic nerve-related issues and my left leg has felt like it doesn’t belong to me. Case in point: I attempted to go running (the last workout I did), and not only was my pace dramatically slower, but I felt completely out of my element. I believe my average was 9:30 min/mi for three miles! Towards the end of the run, I tripped because of my left leg and my left knee almost locked out. Could have been bad! Never in my life have I felt self-conscious while running. I felt totally awkward and had to put a ton of thought into each step. Not good at all.

Things have improved greatly (my “foot drop” isn’t quite as noticeable as it was initially…and it was pretty bad, lol). I am in the process of writing a blog post or two about what i’ve experienced during this time in my life.

There will be more updates soon, so stay tuned!

8 responses

  1. wow wierd but I too am in physical therapy for frozen shoulder and osteoporosis of back and hips…what an ordeal..I just srated exercising again thru PT have a back brace I need to wear up to 3 hours a day …it is hard on me so I can relate!

    July 8, 2011 at 5:14 pm

    • Update me, G! Sending you good karma. Here’s to vetting back to “normal,” whatever normal may be (in my case, I have no clue, lol)!!!!! Been a while! 🙂

      July 21, 2011 at 9:00 pm

  2. Hi Sarah – Sorry to hear you’ve been down and out. I experienced the same problem in April. That “foot drop” really sucked! It took me a few months to get over it. Eventually I got back to normal; although, I’ve been experiencing some low back pain now and then after workouts. Don’t give up, there’s hope!
    Carl

    July 8, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    • Thank you, Carl! That makes me feel even more optimistic! The food drop DOES suck but slowly but surely it improves! Did you go thru PT?
      Thank you for stopping by!
      Yours in Health,
      Sarah

      July 25, 2011 at 5:45 pm

      • Hi Sarah,

        I did not got through PT. I’ve been the PT route for my back before, but not this time. From the pain I had (it felt like I had a pulled hamstring, pulled calf, and shin splints besides the back pain) I realized I had sciatica. So I purchased an inversion table to take pressure off of the sciatic nerve. I used it a couple of times a day to decompress my back–it seemed to work, but I can’t say that the inversion table or just time cured my pain and foot drop.

        July 25, 2011 at 6:37 pm

        • The inversion table is a very, very good thing! One of my clients has one, and I need to use it when I go over to her house!

          The pain you listed is pretty much what I went through initially. It was unbearable to stand, and sitting wasn’t that much better. It was a completely different kind of pain compared to the low back stuff, though. Not a stabbing pain but a persistent strong burn/ache and putting pressure on my left hamstring/psoas/lateral lower leg was out of the question! Glad that part is over with! In fact, when I started PT, it had been well over a month since the sciatica flared up, and even then, I was unable to tolerate pressure on that left hamstring. My PT tried to have me do leg extensions (which I hadn’t done since circa 2001, lol) on the machine with very little weight, and there was no way! The pressure hurt! I had to start off with a 2 1/2 lb ankle weight!

          Here’s to continued improvement!
          Sarah

          July 27, 2011 at 12:36 pm

  3. Thanks for letting us know that even a conditioned athlete can get an injury like a disk injury. Did you get injured or just wake up with it one day.

    July 13, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    • Hi Patty!

      I have had low back issues since I wad a 12-year old gymnast. My back gets “thrown out” 1-2 times a year. The difference this time was that a slip down the stairs caused me to plant my left foot down, severely jarring my back. I’m on the mend!!! Hopeful and ready to get back out there on my bike and hitting the pavement with my runs!

      Thank you for bein an awesome reader!
      Sarah
      Ps more to come!

      July 25, 2011 at 5:43 pm

Leave a Reply

