Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Last Night’s PM Boot Camp “Fun!”-


I cannot even begin to adequately put into words just how much energy this latest session of boot camp has had…especially the PM group! Don’t get me wrong, I love all of my clients…but the energy of the PM group is truly infectious! We have established a nice little “family” unit of roughly 15 upbeat, positive, supportive women in this group. Everyone is motivated and I love the fact that they are so encouraging of one another!

I will be posting soon about everyone’s goals and who managed to smash thru theirs! We have had some awesome progress this month!

Last night’s workout was seriously tougher than it appeared on paper. I wanted to emphasize upper body and do some “typical” dumbbell exercises. I threw in a new move with the sliders, as well as added some glute work to the mix. End result? Perfection! Even better was the fact that Sara (photographer rockstar) showed up with camera in hand and shot some more awesome pics and vids! When she came thru the door, I told her to head on back and deal with the moans and groans from the group! They just LOVE having their pics taken! πŸ™‚ I want to thank y’all for being such good sports about the occasional Rippel Effect photo shoot!

I know some people may look at this workout and think, “wow, what a list of ‘sissy’ exercises!” To y’all, I say this: TRY IT. Every now and then, it’s good to break from the “traditional boot camp” way of doing things (ie: lots of burpees, pushups, running, and even the popular circuit-based workouts using kettlebells, TRX, etc). I don’t typically have my groups do a lot of “isolation” work, but every now and then, we gotta fry the triceps! Bottom line, there is no “right” or “wrong” way to do things…in my book, there is only MY way, and that means adapting numerous training principles and styles to suit the needs of my clients.

Upper Body Bonanza…with a Whole Lotta “Bonus” Schtuff!

Warm-Up: Walk/Jog 5 min, followed by “Chopper” sequence (vertical, horizontal, and diagonal chops for 30s ea; 2 rounds)

Hip/Glute Work: Miniband Lateral Walks, Miniband Bridges, and Miniband Clamshells…oh my!; 2 rounds

Upper Body Circuit: 45s work/15s rest (we didn’t rest the entire 15s between most of the exercises!); 2 rounds

  1. Negative Push-Ups
  2. Single-Leg Biceps Curls (either alternating-arms or hold both dumbbells in one hand; 45s per leg)
  3. Bent-Over Flyes
  4. Lateral Raises
  5. 1-Arm Overhead Press with Rotation (hold both dumbbells in one hand if possible; 45s per side)

Slider Core Combo: Cinderellas (either 1-Arm, switching sides at halfway or 2-Arm for advanced) and Windshield Wipers; 45s ea, 2 rounds (see vids below)

Cinderellas:

Very Advanced Cinderellas!:

Tame those Triceps Superset: Staggered Kickbacks and Static Bridge Elbow Extensions; 45s ea, 2 rounds

Tons of stretching!

I tell ya, there is NOTHIN’ better than knowing you have put a group through an awesome workout! It’s easy to wear people out…that’s not my goal. My goal is to provide the best possible workout experience! That means: effective programming, progressions progressions progressions, and positive energy! There were lots of red, sweaty faces last night! Oh, and even better…we had a “newbie” join us last night! She worked hard and probably hates me today! πŸ™‚

I’m obviously a bit partial, considering this is my business and these are my clients…so of course, i’m gonna talk things up as much as possible…but don’t take my word for it:

Hi Sarah! Great workout tonight. I really enjoyed it and I’m sure my butt, abs and shoulders will remind me all about it tomorrow morning.

I also wanted to thank you for being so great at your job! I have gained so much confidence in the past three months from your positive attitude and encouragement. Not to mention all the wonderful other ladies and their encouragement. It really means a lot to me, and helps boost the confidence even more, when there is such a great group bond and we all support each other. And, awesome, I plan to be 8 lbs lighter than Christmas by the end of Jan. Just 1.5 lbs to go! I tend to be a quiet, shy person and before starting the workouts I was so self conscious, bc i felt like i had no curves and was so much bigger than my friends. I also have asthma, mostly induced by allergens, but it was getting worse when I tried to run or do hard core workouts (boo at Gillian, those hurt and not the good way!). Now, I feel like I am getting curves and slimming down to a more healthy body weight. And, bonus, I can breathe soooo much better and my asthma attacks have happened much less frequently. Yay! Anyway, I just wanted to let you know that I don’t think I could have gotten this far without you, the workouts & the other ladies. So thank you so much! Looking forward to atleast three more months of this feeling awesome and being awesome!

See ya tomorrow,
Amanda

See?

My job is the best. Love y’all! Thanks for rockin’ out this session!

Sarah

2/1/2011 UPDATE: Here are some great pics from this workout (thanks to Sara Kelley Photography)!

5 responses

  1. Thanks for the shoutout! You’re going to like these pictures! Thanks for always being awesome! Love you Sarah!

    January 28, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    • Anytime, no-H!!!!!
      I can’t wait to see ’em!!!!!!
      and THANK YOU for always bein’ so awesome yourself!
      2011 rocks already!
      Have a great weekend!
      Love ya!
      Sarah

      January 28, 2011 at 12:42 pm

  2. Jen

    Thank you so much!!! I am a fitness instructor working on my PT cert and teach weights classes and bootcamps right now…I love your info! I am always looking for “outside the box” types of workouts for myself and my students. I really appreciate all your information and will be checking in frequently! Keep up the great work! Jen

    January 28, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    • Hi Jen!!!!
      AWESOME!!!
      Thank you! So glad you are likin’ what i’m puttin’ out here! πŸ™‚
      Look for more boot camp blog posts to come…I slacked off with my blogging last year and so far, i’m on a roll for 2011!
      I love being able to provide some different ideas and insight into our field!
      Have a great weekend!
      Sarah

      January 28, 2011 at 1:12 pm

  3. Pingback: -Pix Added to “Last Night’s PM Boot Camp Fun” Post!- « RIPPEL EFFECT FITNESS

Leave a Reply

