Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-This Is How I Do It!-


Always a good time!

Curious to see a little “on the fly” footage of Yours Truly layin’ down the law?

This was shot last Thursday during my PM boot camp. My initial plan was for us to be in an entirely different room, therefore I had to change up the workout. As it normally goes, I never really know how many people will be showing up to each workout, so i’m always forced to think on the spot (which I love)! This turned out to be a KILLER circuit with numerous modifications to suit all the participants! I think they all had a blast! 🙂

7 responses

  1. Hey there Sarah.
    Probably do not remember me…replied about 2yrs ago to one of your old blogs. Graduated from Tech in ’87 w/exercise science. Living in Maryland currently.
    Anyway, finally started the boot camp I talked about back then this summer. Going well, good group of folks. Hoping to make this my yr to finally break free from my gym training job on go out completely on my own.
    Love your new website!! Love your style. Have to laugh, because I set my circuits up so similar to yours. Just posted some videos to FB tonight and then saw your video….must be that Double T way of doing things!!!
    Best of luck to you with the upcoming yr.

    How bout them Raiders!!
    Stacy

    January 11, 2011 at 9:23 pm

    • Hi Stacy!

      I DO remember you! GUNS UP!!!!
      That rocks! I am so happy to hear you got it up and runnin’! I just “liked” your Facebook Fit U Boot Camp page! Will be fun to connect with you on there!

      2011 IS your year! You can and will do anything you put your heart and mind to, I have no doubt! It’s a big step, but I promise that you will do just fine! Feel free to contact me anytime if you want to “talk shop!”

      Thank you! I tinkered with the theme and am happy with this one for now! Expect to see more posts and videos this year! I slacked off last year and i’m back!

      Gonna check out your videos! That rocks that we think alike!

      Keep in touch!

      Yours in Health,
      Sarah

      January 13, 2011 at 4:41 pm

      • Hey there.

        Thanks for “friending” the page :). Have followed yours as well for a bit. Always nice to see what you are up to with your groups.

        Would love to talk “shop” sometime and pick your brain. The area we live in is so constrictive…would have to explain that one lol.

        Actually have a client currently that is moving your direction this summer/fall. Her husband has changed jobs, working in NO currently. Not sure where they will live tho. She asked me if I knew of any trainers down there, kinda as a joke. Told her I did know of one that grad from the same college and I followed online. She was quite surprised and excited at the same time. Will get her in contact with you if she moves somewhere within range of your business.

        Have a great wknd.
        Stacy

        January 14, 2011 at 1:05 pm

        • Hola hola!

          We can “talk shop” anytime! Feel free to shoot me a FB message or send me an email! I LOVE bouncing ideas off of other fit pros who give more than just a rat’s butt about what they are doing! LOL 😀 Bottom line, in an industry full of posers, egos, sub-desirable standards, and an “I wanna make a million dollars without really training clients” mentality, it’s refreshing to meet and interact with other fitness professionals who are transparent & willing to admit that they don’t know everything…nor do they have safely-guarded “secrets” they aren’t willing to disclose to others (I can’t stand the word “secret” in regards to our industry). Whew…I realize that I was a terrible run-on sentence, but hopefully my point comes across loud and clear! You already know how I feel about all of that, though, from reading my posts. So, in a nutshell, it will be fun to hopefully give you some insight into how I do things, what i’ve learned, etc. I want to write more posts regarding what i’ve learned, by the way. I will forever be making mistakes, and that’s a good thing! All of the mistakes serve to make me a better trainer in the long run, so it’s all good!

          That is funny about your client moving down here – small world! Thank you for thinking of me, and keep me posted! If she will be close, I would be more than happy to make sure she is taken care of!

          OK…i’m gonna try and be lazy now! lol

          Have a great weekend too, and let’s talk soon!
          Sarah

          January 14, 2011 at 8:07 pm

  2. Mel

    Hi Sarah,
    I noticed you added skipping. What is your take on impact on a solid floor (skipping, jumping jacks and all sorts)? I am not that picky because I jog on concrete as well, but what about clients? Will it cause problems or is it one of those myths like spot reduction? So far I did circuits in a gym hall with a “bouncy” wooden floor. Now that we have moved from Germany to the UK I have to start again and set up new classes. Right now we are looking at a property to rent with a very large living room that I might keep for myself for fitness and yoga. What to do about the impact for the intervals? It is not like they are crashing down from a great height. I am looking at some “play mats” for cushioning. When I go on you tube or websites I see other trainers taken their classes to car parks and allsorts and let the clients jump around. Are we wrapping people up in cotton wool to much and make them even softer as they are (of course everything within limits)? That means they should never jump the last couple of steps if there is no soft landing waiting for them or anyhing on those lines. Don’t run after the bus unless there is padding. The list goes on. Would 10 – 20 minutes of intervals (for example) on concrete (or concrete with carpet) 3 times a week not prepare the body more for eventualities like this? It’s not like I am telling a overweight person to do a marathon on concrete. Again, everything within limits but the constant wrapping up is getting to me.
    Slightly of tangent, there is a fitness channel on sky on they have one program for the elderly. The trainer sits there with a 70 + lady on the chair and does wrist circling and stuff like that. I haven’t seen much else yet, but get bored easily and it was getting on my nerves. How is this going to help the elderly get stronger, work on their balance … I would not give them a 12 kg kettlbell either, especially when they only just walked through the door, but circling wrists and not much else can’t be it either. Sorry! Will stop now.

    At the start of my circuit classes I had the exercises written down on the board so the ladies could check what comes up. When the class was getting bigger and more exercises introduced I wrote next to each station what they were going to do. That is ok for the regulars, but the others might struggle a bit when they are not sure what to do. At the same time I had a lady that could not read (officially I did not know about it. Her friends told me in confidence to avoid situations where she had to read). I then started taking photos of myself doing the exercises (start/ finish) and placed them next to the title of the exercise. This way everybody new straight away what to do at the next station. Over time I build up a little library of photos making sure I keep them guessing and interested. It takes the “worry” of me in case a few ladies at the same time don’t know what to do, but the gymboss already said: GO! Don’t want to waste valuable working out time. No excuses :o)!

    January 12, 2011 at 8:43 am

    • Hi Mel!

      I think that any impact-type movement done to excess on a hard floor is not a good idea, which is why I try not to overdo them. I’ve done very well with this approach! Everything in moderation! 🙂 I always offer progressions and variations for most exercises. So, if someone is not yet ready to hop, skip, or jump, there is an alternative!

      I have a feeling that television show would get on my nerves as well. It is wise to be conservative when working with the elderly, but if there isn’t sufficient stimulus to elicit a positive training effect, what’s the point? Don’t get me wrong, getting people moving in general is a VERY good thing. Now you’ve got me thinking about my 94-year old adorable grandmother (Nanie), who is in an assisted living home. She loves to play cards but despises the exercise classes. In fact, when I saw the monthly calendar they had printed out for her which lists all the activities for each day, she had drawn a line through “Exercise Class” every day! haha…gotta love that. I asked her why, and she told me “it’s boring!” They do chair exercises. I don’t expect to see my Nanie up dancing around, as she fatigues easily now and has a bad back, but…if it’s boring, who wants to do it?! No different than younger people!

      What you are doing with the exercise pictures sounds great! What a great resource as well! That takes some pressure off of you and encourages your clients to take responsibility in learning the exercises. Very good idea! and don’t ya just love the Gymboss? I couldn’t get by without it! You will be constantly evolving and developing into a better trainer the more you work with people. It’s awesome! I feel like I will never stop expanding my boundaries and becoming a better fitness professional! The sky is the limit!

      Have a great day!
      Sarah

      January 13, 2011 at 4:50 pm

  3. Pingback: -This Is How I Do It Pt. II!- « RIPPEL EFFECT FITNESS

Leave a Reply

