Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Don’t let the “boot camp” phrase scare you!-


(If you are looking for more information on my upcoming Jan. 3 program, look for details at the end of this post! Now…on to the good stuff!)
Okay, I have something to get off my chest.

I can’t stand the term “boot camp.” Never have, never will.

Sadly, it’s pretty much “the” way to get people to understand what kind of program it is that I offer, because people are familiar with the trendy term.

With this being said, “Rippel Effect Outdoor Fitness” is what I prefer to call my program…but we aren’t outdoors right now with it being cold outside!

“Rippel Effect Indoor Fitness” sounds…well…kinda lame. Until I come up with a catchier phrase, i’ll just stick with Rippel Effect Fitness Boot Camp.

Apparently camo now comes in purple...who knew?!

So, why do I not like the term “boot camp?”

For starters, it conjures up images of big, burly dudes wearing camouflage. No, i’m not referring to military personnel or those who love to shoot Bambi in the woods. I’m referring to trainer types who think they must fit the played-out “boot camp” image by wearing fatigues and a whistle while screaming at their “recruits.”

Secondly, it seems that on too many occasions these types have their boot campers perform countless military-style workouts & outdated exercises. While yelling so loud that their veins pop out of their necks, they are having their groups yell cadences as they run laps.

“Little birdy on the windowsill…do endless burpees until you get ill!”

Lame.

This is NOT how Rippel Effect Fitness does things!

For an overview of my “boot camp” style fitness program, please check out my FITNESS BOOT CAMP page by clicking HERE!

Here’s what a recent Rippel Effect Fitness boot camp participant had to say:

“Hi Sarah,

Just wanted to say that I really enjoyed the boot camp over the last few weeks.  I really needed something to rev up my usual workout routine and get me motivated to NOT GAIN WEIGHT in this last month between T-giving and Christmas when I was going to a lot of get-togethers and exposed to sweets constantly, and your boot camp totally did that for me!

I wanted you to know that I REALLY enjoyed it, and I got a lot out of it, and you are a great motivator and a lot of fun to joke around with, and I LOVE that you did so many different things with us each session.  I may have cursed you a little for muscle soreness now and then, but it definitely was never boring!!!   And I also appreciate that you allowed us to bring our kids; I think it’s so important for kids to see their parents working out so that they know how important fitness is.  My son just LOVED coming with me the other night to City Park!

Thank you again for all you do to whip us slugs into shape!!!!

Happy Holidays!

C.S.”


RIPPEL EFFECT FITNESS “FRY THE HOLIDAY FAT” INDOOR BOOT CAMP

BEGINS MONDAY JAN. 3!

CHECK OUT THE FACEBOOK EVENT NOTIFICATION TO RSVP, & REGISTER NOW!

If you are not on Facebook, simply email me at fitprosarah@gmail.com to reserve your spot!

CLICK HERE for a recent post about Rippel Effect Fitness “Fry the Holiday Fat” Indoor Boot Camp!

REGISTRATION IS LIMITED because Rippel Effect Fitness is NOT about quantity, but all about QUALITY! This is why I strive to keep my groups at a manageable size, so that every participant gets the most benefit! Think of it as a fitness boot camp-personal training hybrid. It’s like boot camp…only better!

The rates are:
3 days a week = $229
4 days a week = $249
5 days a week = $299

Pay via cash/check/PayPal invoice

BECOME A FAN OF RIPPEL EFFECT FITNESS ON FACEBOOK BY CLICKING HERE!

Keep up with all the latest events, specials, updates, and pics!

4 responses

  1. I’m right there with you, Sarah. I’ve debated this back and forth and, like you, wrote a blog post about it. It’s here…

    http://nopinkdumbbells.blogspot.com/2010/06/i-need-your-opinion.html

    It’s hard to know what to do but after a year and half, I think I’m sticking with “boot camp.”

    December 29, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    • Hi Mickey!

      High five! I dig your blog by the way! 🙂
      I’m sticking with the dang term for now too…until something better pops into my head!
      Hope your 2011 is off to a great start!
      I am so focused on goal-setting at the moment it’s crazy!
      Keep in touch!
      Sarah

      January 3, 2011 at 9:24 am

  2. Angel

    So I should or shouldn’t keep wearing army fatigues when I train my clients? Joke! What’s funny is I was actually IN the military and even I don’t wear my old uniform. I would think that those boot camp instructors would feel awkward wearing the uniform when they never even served. But that’s another conversation altogether. As always, love your posts!!!!

    January 3, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    • Haha, Angel!!!

      Girl, you could totally rock out the camo and you have the RIGHT to wear that uniform because you served our country! Don’t even get me started! One of my best friends as well as my brother are military, and they would both laugh at the goober trainers who think it’s necessary to “play dress-up” and further purpetuate what I feel is a lack of intelligence in our industry…sigh… 🙂 Makes US look even better, though, right?!

      PS currently planning out 2011 race schedule. Doing a half marathon at the beginning of March. Doing a half Ironman at the beginning of November. Yes, you read that correctly! I WILL get over this damn open water swim crap! What does your year look like?

      PSS I’m sure you are as stoked as I am about the new year! I am about to put together my “resolutions board” that I mentioned in this post! It’s gonna be bright yellow and I can’t wait to see what all of my ladies put on there! Pics to come!

      Always great hearing from you! You will be hearing more from me as well…am making an effort to post on an almost-daily basis! YAY 2011

      Have a great week!
      Sarah

      January 3, 2011 at 4:00 pm

Leave a Reply

