Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Girls on the Run-


Not too long ago, I was messin’ around on Facebook and happened upon a link for the Greater Baton Rouge chapter of Girls on the Run. I clicked it, and was immediately overwhelmed with this sense of purpose. I had heard about GOTR a few years ago from a former client. Upon seeing the information and checking out the website (http://girlsontherungbr.org/), I felt compelled to become a volunteer.

Long story short, I am a Girls on the Run COACH, and I LOVE it!

There simply is nothing more rewarding than being able to make a difference in someone’s life. I have always felt this way when it comes to my role as a fitness professional.

Being able to make a difference as a role model for a preteen girl…now THAT is something that is priceless.

I wish I would have been involved with this program when I was 8-11 years of age.

So, what is MY goal with GOTR? Simply to be able to serve as a mentor to the girls in my group. They are so precious! So animated, energetic, and eager to learn!

We meet twice a week, and each day there is a different lesson. I can’t say enough about how amazing this program is! I was given all the required materials as well as a notebook full of lesson plans for the entire 12-week program. We have covered topics such as peer pressure, self esteem, leadership, teamwork, and feelings.

My awesome GOTR group at Dunham! They are rockstars!

At the end of the program, all of the girls participate in a 5k run! If you are interested in being a “running buddy” for this race, please go to the GOTR of Greater Baton Rouge site (http://girlsontherungbr.org/) and sign up!

I can definitely say without a doubt that volunteering with this organization has been the most rewarding experience of my life. I am not getting paid to do this. I am not doing it to fulfill any sort of job-related requirements. I am doing it simply because I felt called to do it, and I will continue to be a GOTR coach for as long as i’m able! I love it!

For more information, go to http://girlsontherungbr.org/

3 responses

  1. What zeal and passion you have for fitness. These young girls have the best role model to emulate as they grow toward a life time of health and fitness.

    November 23, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    • Thank you, Janice! I have had the best time working with them! The program is amazing! I can’t say anything but good schtuff! 🙂 We are nearing the end of the session & the 5k is on Dec. 10!

      December 1, 2010 at 9:34 am

  2. Pingback: -Something More of Us Should Do- « RIPPEL EFFECT FITNESS

Leave a Reply

