Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-2010 Cane Field Classic-


On October 16, I participated in a new race – the Cane Field Classic, which was a 4-miler thru sugar cane fields!


The Cane Field Classic is the brainchild of Walker Higgins of Performance Fitness. Walker is a top-notch fitness pro who does one-on-one training as well as outdoor group programs like myself.

Walker really outdid himself, as the race was very well run, tons of people registered, and there was excellent schwag & food for participants!

Also, it was definitely a first for me, as i’m sure it was for others…running through the cane fields!

This was my first off-road race, and I think i’m in love!

I’m not gonna lie…the first mile sucked! My legs felt heavy and my heart rate was sky-high! I don’t normally run thru mud and uneven terrain. It’s a lot of work! I think most of the runners would agree! Once I got onto level ground, things settled down a bit and I found a comfortable pace.

After a while, I realized that my Nike Frees were probably not the best choice for this type of terrain, as exemplified in this picture!

When I hit mile 3, I turned it up. I was zoomin’. Life was good! I ended up finishing in the ballpark of 33:15 (forgot to stop my Garmin), which placed me at 5th out of the top 10 female finishers!

I got a nifty 180-year-old plantation brick for being a top finisher! Schweet, huh?! 🙂

Great experience! I will most definitely be doing this race next year!

6 responses

  1. Off road rules! Sounds like an awesome race.

    Like the new blog layout 🙂

    October 28, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    • Thank you, Anna!!!! 🙂 Still working on redoing blog…have a ton of new pics to put up!

      November 9, 2010 at 7:33 am

  2. Ed

    Schweet. Literally.

    October 28, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    • It was a blast!!!!! Mud is fun!

      November 9, 2010 at 7:33 am

  3. Looks Like you had a trying time in this race but you pulled through. I really like your blog format and looking to hear more great things outta you soon…Darren

    November 10, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    • Thank you, Darren! 🙂

      November 16, 2010 at 3:05 pm

Leave a Reply

