Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Are You Gifted?-


Hey gang!

GIFTED 🙂

I welcome you to come along on a little journey with me…one that ventures into the wonderful world of deep-thinking and the not-so-happy schtuff. This post applies to everyone!

I want to introduce you to the “gift.”

Those who have never hit rock bottom will never fully understand that those of us who have climbed our way out of it are those who have the “gift.” It’s the gift of being able to impact peoples’ lives on a much deeper level…deeper than those who have never really wrestled with their inner demons can ever imagine.

We all know at least one person who has never seemed to have any hard times in their life. We also all know at least one person who has gone through some really trying events. Perhaps you have dealt with a lot of pain yourself.

I do realize that we ALL deal with life in our own unique ways. Some people just never seem to have experienced deep pain or tragedy. I do not wish the “bad stuff” on anyone, but I will say that I have a lot more respect for those who have embraced it and found the “gift” than those who live in a wacky alternate universe where there is no pain, worry, or poverty (in any sense of the word).

It’s ironic that I lived for years barely able to make ends meet, and I am not money-motivated to this day. Money-motivated people in this industry seem to stick out like a sore thumb to me. They are the ones for whom I have very little respect. They are the ones whom I feel are devaluing our impact as fitness professionals. Greed. Obviously, we want to make a good living, but not everyone is as fortunate to have the “gift.”

What motivates me? Serving a purpose. My purpose is centered around giving as much of myself to others who are in need of physical and emotional improvement. Yes, I realize i’m not a psychologist, but I come pretty darn close to being one! I am able to connect with people, and this is worth more than any dollar amount. Connecting with people is what powers me! I’ll leave the dollar signs to the fitness professionals who have no clue what the “gift” is.

“Victim mentality” people are afraid of the gift, because it means accepting responsibility. Being able to accept responsibility for oneself is the ONLY way a person can truly experience life. If you’re a victim, you’re basically dying a slow and negative death.

I don’t care if you were mentally and physically abused for years as a child…if you refuse to deal with it and instead walk around each and every day with the “poor me” way of thinking, I have zero respect for you. I know that sounds a bit harsh, but oh well. Maybe my feelings are partially due to the fact that I lived in the “victim bubble” for years and years. Why? I was afraid. It was easier at the time to be miserable inside than to fully embrace life. It took years of soul-searching and overcoming a great amount of fear for me to pop the “victim bubble” and LIVE.

The "gift" has enabled me to make a living doing what I do best, inspiring others! My new Jeep serves as a reflection to me of how much i've gone through to get to this point in my life. THANKFUL.

The “gift” has been an invaluable partner to me in my experiences as a fitness professional. It has allowed me to connect to those who are struggling. It has enabled me to help others believe in themselves when no one else had ever given them a chance. It has continued to keep me “human” and free of a ridiculously-large ego (although there are some of you out there who are convinced I need to wear a superhero cape)!

I realize this post may be a bit “out there” for some…but I know quite a few of you will grasp what i’m saying.

Until next time, make each day as mentally, physically, and emotionally healthy as you can! YOU have the power!

<3, Sarah

This post is dedicated to my friend and "other mom" Debbie, who was (and always will be) an amazing "gift" to me.

6 responses

  1. Elizabeth

    Nice post 🙂 I enjoyed reading!

    September 14, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    • Thanks a bunch, E! 🙂
      I had to go for a swim after posting it…it made me think/feel too much! Not a bad thing though!

      September 14, 2010 at 3:22 pm

  2. Lynn White

    I liked the “Gift”

    September 19, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    • Thank you, Lynn!

      September 23, 2010 at 6:34 am

  3. Hey Sarah!

    Awesome post!

    TOM

    October 4, 2010 at 5:38 am

    • Thank you, Tom!!!!

      October 11, 2010 at 11:50 am

Leave a Reply

