Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Change is GOOD!-


Totally unrelated pic...but funny...I bought this...you wind him up and he does pushups!

Happy Monday, everyone!

I wanted to kick the week off with a post about something that applies to ALL of us.

CHANGE.

Last week, I really began to reflect upon my own workout program and goals. For over a year, the focus of my workout program has been training for triathlons. I made a HUGE change in early June of last year (a day or two after my birthday, in fact), and that change was simply deciding to do my first race. Little did I know at the time what an amazingly positive impact that decision would make on my life. As a recovering perfectionist and “all or nothing” type who is eternally seeking balance, having a goal is something that fuels me. I simply cannot perform and/or make progress as I would like if I do not have a goal in mind. I have to commit myself or else I get sidetracked. So, long story short, I jumped into training for my first race with a vengeance. Ask anyone who knows me – I was unstoppable. If you weren’t one of my amazing blog readers last year, go back and check out my triathlon-related posts. You can also check out my ongoing training log at dailymile.com by clicking here.

So, why am I getting at? What does my own training have to do with change? Other than the fact that I practically revamped my entire way of working out and tailored it towards a tri-specific program, the entire process changed me. I learned so much about myself and grew stronger with each workout. The workouts got harder and I grew stronger. Funny how that works! 🙂

In the typical way these things tend to play out, after all of that buildup, finally “race day” came. It was definitely a first for me. The entire process was full of firsts. I was hooked and couldn’t wait to keep racing. I came back to Baton Rouge from my beloved home state (and favorite city, Austin) even more determined and ready to plan my training for the next race. The downside was that my first race was at the end of racing season. What ended up happening was I wasn’t able to keep that “fire” burning as it had been, and although I stayed on track, there wasn’t that pressing urgency to get things done. The next race I had planned on was in March of the next year. Holidays came and went. I got sick for a few weeks. I decided not to do that second race. I felt uninspired, unmotivated, and unsure of what to do next. I continued to bike and run but hadn’t been in the pool since December 2009 when in April of 2010 I committed myself to doing a sprint tri in early May. Suddenly, everything old was new again. I grinned and bared it during swim workouts. I focused on gaining more experience. Race day came and it rocked, despite my ongoing battle with the open water swim. I was proud of myself and it was as if I was back on track. Next race was Memorial Day. I looked forward to it for several reasons: I had discovered I liked the fast-paced nature of the sprint distance, I felt confident, and the CapTex Tri was in Austin! I got to see my friends and spend the weekend in the ATX as well as tackle yet another race! Awesome!

"I NEVER wanna do another tri EVER again!" ;D

Long story short: the race was disastrous. I could have quit numerous times but I didn’t. That’s the bottom line.

I didn’t quit.

Again, you may be asking “where are you going with this?”

After that race, I felt a little lost. My confidence was shaken. I would be lying if I said that I have felt a bit uninspired since that day. Yes, I have continued to train, but I haven’t been sticking to my “plan” because I cannot seem to commit myself to any more races this season.

So, last week I made the decision to just let it go. I am taking a break from training for a specific race, and if I decide to register for one (most likely the Avia Austin Tri), great…if I don’t, no big deal. I am going to take some time and fall back in love with kettlebell training. I have missed it! I am also going to stop slacking on my “upkeep” work (flexibility, mobility, and core stuff). I am taking the pressure off of myself and am actually looking forward to designing a program for myself that doesn’t just focus on swim, bike, and run. I will continue to run and of course, ride my bike, but I can’t make any promises about swim workouts. If I feel like plodding away in the water, I will. If I don’t, I won’t. Simple as that.

My approach to exercise is an eclectic one. I like to use all sorts of methods, and I get bored with doing the same routine twice. You would think that my ADD would get the best of me with the seemingly-limited scope of training for multisport, BUT…training for three disciplines has actually kept my interest! Training for just running, on the other hand, would bore me to tears! Anyhow, what i’m excited about is the fact that I know my workouts will serve to improve my performance in triathlon, even if i’m not following a strict triathlon-specific plan.

There is something to be said for the carryover effect that Rippel Effect workouts provide!

If you are seeking change, DO IT!

If you need more inspiration, watch this documentary:

I watched it last night and it really got me thinking…yes, I know…more thinking! As if I don’t do enough of it already!

Have a great week!

Sarah

One response

  1. Love it as usual! I haven’t done much running at all this year. I found it too hot over summer then when it cooled down I just found it too exhausting getting up at 5:15 every morning when I work long days.

    Now I am doing a bunch of other stuff that I really enjoy. The strength work is carrying over to legs of steel so my recovery from races is quicker. I’m a bit slower but I’m enjoying the training so much more!

    August 2, 2010 at 3:20 pm

Leave a Reply

