Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Boot Camp – WEEK 4!


Today marks the beginning of the FINAL WEEK for this 4-week session of boot camp!

On Friday, we will repeat the assessments we did at the beginning of this session, and I guarantee everyone is going to see progress!

What a great group of hard-working ladies!

The next session is a 2-week session…and it begins November 9!

Check out Kristen on the ropes!

A little speed ladder action:

The notorious “cone fetch” game:

PS – I think I can speak for EVERYONE in saying that BURPEES are their favorite exercise! ;D

5 responses

  1. By the way, I did a little googling and saw some competition pictures of you!!!! you look so young. I didn’t know you did Figure stuff. Do you miss it? Would you do it again? How hard was it? Harder than the triathlon? Seriously, I’ve always thought about it but I know friends who have done it and they say the diet is extreme!

    Angel

    October 26, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    • Hehehe! I was 20 when I did my first fitness competition! It was a Ms. Fitness show, and I came in 3rd…I think…yeah, I came in 3rd b/c I got a medal…if I would have placed in the top 2, I would have qualified for Nationals. Anyhow, after that first show, I didn’t compete until 2000 when I did my a Galaxy show in Florida. That was an eye-opener and at the time, my thyroid was tanking, so it was next to impossible to get super-lean. That show was in June and after it, I was determined to do the next Galaxy qualifier, which was in Dallas in August. A week away from the show, I decided not to compete b/c I was SO exhausted, mentally and physically, and it had become a super-negative experience for me. I trained and prepped again starting in January 2001 (after my newly-implanted boobs had time to settle, lol) for a show that was in May or June…this time, I really noticed something was wrong…my thyroid was cratering big time and I had all these hypothyroid symptoms, and felt I was losing my mind (along with my hair). I had a month or so to go, but decided my health (and sanity) was more important.

      I don’t miss it one bit. I wasn’t my thang. It’s great for some women, but it’s not for me at all. I was in this mode back then of trying to fit into a role that wasn’t right for me. I was trying to be super-girly and it just felt wrong.

      I made it harder than it should have been b/c of my eating disorder background. It basically threw me back into the starvation mentality and I was in a constant state of being overtrained. I was a b-word!

      Triathlon was much harder…and MUCH more rewarding. I dreaded working out for fitness comps…it was like punishment and I had that “more is better” mentality. Training for that first tri was soooo eye-opening…and it made all the years I spent slaving away on the Stairmaster worth it, because I was out in the fresh air running, on my bike, and (ugh) swimming instead of being indoors doing the same ol’ crap like I did when I trained for fitness. I am so over being stuck in a strict regimen of counting reps and calories. Life is too short!

      It all boils down to diet, to be honest. If you can nail the diet, and stay sane, you’re golden. I mean, you already have the physique!

      Heck, I have thought about doing a natural bodybuilding show just for the hell of it. I would do figure but I don’t know if I can get away with “playing girly” anymore…although I do still have the clear stripper shoes I got from Frederick’s! 😀

      You may just have inspired me to write a post about all that madness I was wrapped-up in, Angel!

      Have a great week!
      Sarah

      October 27, 2009 at 8:43 am

  2. The stripper shoes are my favorite part. They are actually the only reason I want to compete! 🙂

    You should definitely write a post. Tell people the REAL story.

    October 27, 2009 at 11:38 am

    • Stripper shoes make amazing legs look even better! It’s like…BAM! Hams-a-plenty! LOL 😀

      I’m gonna write one…don’t worry…it will let people in on what was once my crazy, neurotic, obsessed, unhappy little world…it may have to be a multi-part post!

      October 27, 2009 at 11:49 am

  3. YouAreNotAFitPerson

    I was just going to drop by and say if you were speaking sarcastically, as I am sure you were, then you can add me to the list of people who think Burpees are their favorite exercise.
    Hearing about the fitness competitions though, those seem crazy. I would think they would be much tougher than a triathlon. It seems like a fitness competition is squeezing the balloon from both ends, trying to get ripped, lean and slim while trying to build up your muscles and your strength.

    October 28, 2009 at 10:34 pm

Leave a Reply

