Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Just a Quick THANK YOU!-


Biskit and I say HI!

Biskit and I say HI!

Hey gang!

I have obviously been hiding under a rock for a bit…heck, I haven’t even been on Twitter for 3 days or so, aside from a few tweets I just sent out earlier from my phone.  Even though I haven’t been in touch with many of you, you are in my heart.  The support and love i’ve received from friends and clients near and far, in person and those I haven’t even met yet, has been AMAZING.  I chose to train for this race because of ME…I am doing this for ME…if I was doing it for any other reason, it wouldn’t be worth it.  With this being said, there is no way I could have been staying on track so well and feeling so amazing about the race without everyone’s support.  I am not gonna lie – last week almost broke me.  Physically i’ve felt GREAT!  I have been tackling the toughest workouts of my life and have overcome a lot of self-doubt in the process, but last week the emotional stuff started coming into the picture.  I realized I was venturing into the dreaded “overtraining” realm, therefore I chose to eliminate my weekend workouts and started back Monday with easy taper-week training, which will end after my ride tomorrow.  I may sneak in an extra easy ride/run on Saturday in Austin because i’d be silly not to take advantage of the AMAZING scenery and bike-friendly routes.  We shall see, though.  I got a massage yesterday and my entire body is like one huge knot.  Again, though, I don’t feel bad physically.  I am truly blessed to have a perfectly-functioning body!  So, for those of you who have been doubting your abilities, I want you to do one thing.  STEP OUTSIDE YOUR BOX.  Think about what could happen if you put your fears aside and JUST WENT FOR IT!  I promise you that once you do this, it’s not hard at all.  I am forever changed because of this experience.  I plan on continuing with triathlons because i’m hooked, but I will do so in an intelligent manner, of course.  TRAIN SMARTER, NOT HARDER!  Listen to your body and challenge your preconceived beliefs regarding your abilities.  You WILL amaze yourself! I know I have! 🙂

Updates pre- and post-race…and there will be TONS of pics and vids!

With much love and thanks,

Sarah

8 responses

  1. Nancy Lockwood

    i am blessed to be able to be a part of this and to support you in this event. i am so proud of you and can’t wait to get on the road to get there. invictus!!!

    September 2, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    • I am blessed to have you as an amazing friend and supporter, Nancy! Thank you for all you have done for me! I’m excited to get goin’ too! We are gonna have a blast and i’m excited to get to show you Austin!

      September 2, 2009 at 7:42 pm

  2. Sarah –
    You are such an amazing person and I wish you nothing but the best. You deserve it. I’m sending happy, healthy and kick ass wishes to you on your race day! You worked hard to get to this point & I hope you enjoy every minute of your race. Remember to EXPERIENCE and BE IN every moment of the race – don’t just go through the motions. Make it a day & and experience that you’ll never forget. Kick ass girl!
    Best Wishes!
    Tera Busker

    September 2, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    • Hey Tera!
      Thank you so much! You know I will be feelin’ those positive vibes on race morning! Heck yes! I am fully determined to be IN it…for sure…I want to enjoy all aspects of racing…even the snags, ya know? They are gonna happen! Just gotta roll with the punches, as we do in life! 🙂 I will most definitely kick as much ass as I can! I NEVER thought I would be at this point…if someone would have told me a half year ago that i’d be about to do a triathlon, I would have laughed at ’em. Just gotta be in the right mindset and realize that it CAN be done! I am at the point in my life and career (as you know, lol, thanks to our Facebook exchanges) where I refuse to accept excuses from myself or anyone else. If I have clients make excuses, I always come back with something that doesn’t support the excuse, but gives them a chance to realize what they are doing (and hopefully nip it in the bud). All I know is that we each have this one life to live…and too many people make excuses for most of their lives and therefore are bitter and unfulfilled. I say screw that! I am proud to not be in that group! WE GOTTA LIVE, PEOPLE! This means being PRESENT and not living in the past…this means facing the crap that happened in the past and dealing with it, so it doesn’t control you anymore. Been there, done that, moved on! Life is GROOVY!
      You keep kickin’ ass too!
      Sarah

      September 2, 2009 at 7:47 pm

  3. Tonya

    Sarah,

    It’s been great to watch your journey to this race. I love your attitude about it too. Good luck and have a great time. I’ll be rooting for you.

    Tonya

    September 3, 2009 at 4:30 am

    • Thanks, Tonya!
      I just read this…will be updating here shortly on how amazing the race was!
      Thanks for everything!
      Sarah

      September 9, 2009 at 10:38 am

  4. Kay

    sarah,
    you go girl, all the way to austin , and show those texans and everybody else what you’ve got. you can do it. you are trained and ready to go. just remember to have fun in the “doing”. i am so proud of you,
    kay

    September 3, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    • You’re a rockstar, Kay!
      Thanks for the support and love!
      Sarah

      September 9, 2009 at 10:37 am

Leave a Reply

