Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Unconquerable-


InvictusI will be adding a post or two over the weekend, but I wanted to let you guys know I just updated my triathlon training blog!

Check out my most recent post, “TEN More Days!”

This is one of my favorite poems.  Invictus means “unconquerable” in Latin.  I have learned so much through the struggles in my life.  This poem reminds me of just how far i’ve come.  The process of training for my first triathlon has been an amazing experience.  I have learned SO much about myself, and have proven to myself just how strong I am, time and time again.  I feel that we build character through our struggles, and anyone who is content to rest on their laurels for most of their life isn’t truly living.  I have always been a driven individual, and it is because of this that I gravitate towards new challenges as well as other people who share a similar mindset.  I choose to surround myself with people who continually strive to better themselves.  Like becomes like! 🙂

Everyone have a great weekend!

9 responses

  1. “I am the captain of my soul” I. LOVE. THAT! Awesome, Sarah. Thanks for sharing!

    August 28, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    • Hey Jen!
      So glad you appreciated it! 🙂
      You are welcome!
      Sarah

      August 29, 2009 at 11:07 am

  2. Nancy Lockwood

    you r INVICTUS!!!!!

    August 28, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    • Hey Nancy!
      Awwww 🙂 Thank you.
      We ALL are, if we allow ourselves to believe!

      August 29, 2009 at 11:08 am

  3. Mel

    Sends shivers down my spine. I would wish you good luck, but I don’t think you need it. You sound like you can conquer anything you set your mind on, so all I do is wish you all the best.

    August 29, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    • Thank you, Mel! 🙂
      I have been slacking on here but I haven’t forgotten about the love and support everyone has given me! I will be blogging for sure pre and post-race! LOTS of pics and vids will be taken!

      September 2, 2009 at 7:07 pm

  4. arrowdynamicmom

    I love your attitude! You’re gonna kick butt!!

    September 2, 2009 at 11:41 am

    • Thank you, Sue!
      Thank you so much! I will be perfectly honest in saying that last week nearly pushed me over the edge…physically it has been demanding, but emotionally it almost broke me. I am fatigued this week despite the “easy” taper workouts…I believe this is an after-effect of slowing down and letting my body “heal” a bit. Knock on wood, my body feels great…i’m super-tight all over (massage yesterday was painful and I had a huge knot in my left upper trap/neck, but oh well), but no pains, injuries, etc. I am super-fortunate to have been able to withstand being a gymnast, and then living for years in a constantly overtrained state as a bodybuilder/fitness competitor. My body finally forgave me when I learned to incorporate functional and corrective exercise training into my routines, and I never looked back. My knees may creak a bit, but they are solid and all mine, and I plan on continuing to train smart and live life to the fullest by utilizing the most amazing machine known to me…my body. I truly am thankful for all of this as well as the amazing love and support i’ve received from everyone in my world. I am doing this race for ME, but I would be lying if I said it would be no different if I didn’t have people believing in me!
      Thank you for being an amazing friend! I will be back on the radar post-race, lol…obviously, i’ve been hiding under a rock lately! 🙂
      Sarah

      September 2, 2009 at 7:12 pm

  5. Sarah, you rock! Keep it up
    Dale

    March 19, 2010 at 6:58 am

Leave a Reply

