Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Stand Up and Speak Your Mind!-


mainstream_mediaThe beauty of blogging is that i’m able to share my thoughts with the world.  I don’t share them in the hopes that they will “jive” with everyone.  I think y’all know me better than that.  I share my thoughts because I CAN.  I share ’em because i’m not afraid to do so.  You see, there used to be a time where I didn’t really speak up.  All I can say is that I refuse to censor myself or make things “politically correct” for the sake of not ruffling a few feathers.

As i’ve said a few times this past week…I like to ruffle a few feathers.

The fact that i’m able to do so means that i’m doing something right!  It means that i’m doing what i’m supposed to be doing…i’m just speaking my mind.  I don’t want everyone to agree with me.  I have never been a “mainstream-minded” individual.  I don’t plan on changing.

The fitness industry is full of misinformation, crappy products, and people just out to make “easy money” (just as with any other industry).  The fact that the fitness industry was built on peoples’ desire to improve their health makes all the less-than-honest “schtuff” that’s floating around out there more obvious, in my opinion.  All these “magic bullets” and “quick fixes” that promise overnight weight loss, ripped muscles, and sweatless exercise are so blatantly obvious that it stumps me that the general public can be so blind.  I may be one fitness professional, but i’m doing all I can to serve as a whistleblower when it seems so many just go along with the flow.  Why don’t more people speak up?  Oh, wait…backlash.  Yep, it happens.  I say that’s a pretty lousy excuse.  If you feel something in your gut, SPEAK UP!

The fitness industry has ALWAYS been a subject that has gotten me on my soapbox…go figure, right? If I didn’t give a crap about it, I wouldn’t have opinions which I felt necessary to share with the world.  If I was in this profession because of the wrong reasons (ie: not sure what I wanna do with my life, think I can make “easy money,” etc.), I wouldn’t still be here after 14 years.  I wouldn’t still be here after periods of very low income.  I wouldn’t still be here after periods of being depressed and unsure about my future.

The fact that i’m still here today and more fired-up than i’ve EVER been speaks volumes.

So, if you wanna listen, GREAT!  If you don’t wanna listen, great as well!  I’m sure i’ll be saying more things in the near future with which many won’t agree.

It is my responsibility to stand up for the intelligent exerciser.  It is my job to provide information and insight through hands-on experience with various exercises, methods, etc.

It is also my responsibility to stand up for the fitness professional.  It is my job to share my experience and lessons learned with other fitness professionals, acting as a sounding-board and ally to those who have just started out in the profession, as well as those who have been around a bit longer.

It is NOT my responsibility to agree with everyone.  It is NOT my responsibility to put information on here that is bogus.  It is NOT my responsibility to promote people, products, services, etc that I don’t believe in.  I’ll leave all of those duties to the mainstream.

10 responses

  1. Tracy L

    Hey Sarah! Good rant! People are always looking for an easy way to get in shape except doing the actual work. And people take advantage of this. I think that you a definitely a fitness pro. Keep up the excellent work!
    Yours truly,
    Tracy

    August 16, 2009 at 7:38 am

    • Thanks, Tracy!
      You keep workin’ hard yourself! 🙂

      August 19, 2009 at 6:27 am

  2. Mel

    By now, as a newbie in the business, I rely on sites like yours to tell it straight. There is far to much flashy stuff out there to make money, confusing lay people with all sorts of jargon and fancy items from gadgets to supplements. We (I) need sites like yours to point out what is crap and what isn’t, build on your experience and your passion for it. So, you stay on your soap box and ruffle feathers on a daily basis if that serves as an eye opener and different points of view. This does not mean I or anyone else has to agree with everything you say, but it certainly gives us something to think about. Like it or not ;o).

    August 16, 2009 at 11:40 am

    • Hey Mel!
      I will be getting back to your email regarding online training! 🙂 Just wanted you to know I hadn’t forgotten about you!
      If everyone shared the same point of view, life would be really boring! The majority rule isn’t always right. In fact, I would venture to guess that what the majority views as “right” isn’t really so 80% of the time. Also, we were all born with the ability to form our own opinions. Many people form theirs through simply following what others do/say/think. I feel the ONLY way to form an opinion that is worth claiming as one’s own is to step outside one’s box, try things, and go from there. How can people simply adopt a viewpoint without “testing” it? It’s easy to agree with people. It’s not easy to disagree. By putting my viewpoints out there, i’m stepping outside my own box (aka “comfort zone”) because I know not everyone is going to see things my way…and i’m 100% fine with that! There is no way i’d be able to grow and continue to flourish as a fitness professional if I didn’t form my own opinions through JUST DOIN’ IT!

      Yours in Health,
      Sarah

      August 19, 2009 at 6:34 am

  3. Jessica

    Sarah,
    This is very well written and it really crystallizes the desires and occasional frustrations many trainers who have worked hard in the pursuit of their knowledge. Do you mind if I link back to it once my website is up or may I quote you? Keep up the great work!
    Jessica

    August 16, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    • Hi Jessica!

      Thank you!
      No, I don’t mind at all! I am flattered! 🙂 You may quote me as much as you want!

      Yours in Health,
      Sarah

      August 19, 2009 at 6:35 am

  4. Laura

    You go, girl!! I get so angry when I see “celebrity trainers” putting their names on crap products that are a waste of money at best, dangerous at worst (naming no names here!) and generally trying to make a quick buck by pandering to people’s desire for a quick fix. They bring the whole industry into disrepute.

    August 16, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    • Hey Laura!

      I feel ya, sista!
      I am stepping out on a limb here (go figure, lol) but I think it’s a safe bet to say that if a product has a “celebrity trainer’s” name on it, it most likely isn’t worth a shiny penny. Doh! There I go again, probably ruffling a few feathers. Oh well! 🙂
      I’m glad to know I have gotten to know an amazing group of like-minded fitness professionals. I love our little “secret society”!!!! lol

      Have a great day!
      Sarah

      August 19, 2009 at 6:39 am

  5. John

    The truth is, Sarah, is there always be “crappy” trainers and trainers that “couldn’t hang” in the field so they decided to be online marketers. As you state, it happens in every business. Those that fail, seek another outlet within the same genre and elicit one’s weakness (which is ALWAYS financial gain). The truth is, if you are good at what you do–its doesn’t seem like work…and if you are at that point, the money will follow.
    Online marketers like to detract the negativity by calling REAL whistelblowers “haters”, but the truth is –they are the ones that are spreading negativity in the field. They take advantage of mediocrisy and feed it for their own rewards, rather than raise others up to a higher level like you and myself and many others do. Focus on content…spread your word and your work. Those online millionaires won’t be around long–they attend ONE seminar and they think they have been in the field forever. Give me a break.

    August 16, 2009 at 6:39 pm

    • Hey John!

      Amen! Wonderfully put, my friend. Back a while ago, I used to get so upset about this “phenomenon” to the point where it raised my blood pressure more than necessary. It was detracting from my positive energy, and then I finally realized that I would accomplish nothing by getting frustrated. I realized all I can do is do things my way, and avoid stumbling upon most of the hype that’s out there. It took me a little while to get to that point. I had signed up for various email newsletters from these types of sources, and I began unsubscribing. I was getting bombarded by the same types of emails every day, clogging up my inbox, and adding to the frustration…because most of the information provided in the emails was common sense, and there was always a “catch.” It’s just a big plug for so-and-so’s schtuff, and the schtuff is always pitched with a 15-mile-long sales page that resembles all the others out there. That annoys the hell out of me, and i’m not gonna buy any of that schtuff anyway. So, nowadays my inbox is graced by the presence of people and organizations who put out information that enriches my mind and therefore my business. Also, my brief stint in a “professional” relationship (using the term loosely) with one of these types really sealed the deal and confirmed to me that my gut instincts were always right…and that although I can give people the benefit of the doubt, I must ALWAYS listen to my gut! Those of us who are out there walking the talk are those who are truly making a difference, and we refuse to settle for mediocrity!

      Yours in Health,
      Sarah

      August 19, 2009 at 6:55 am

Leave a Reply

