Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Lead, Follow, or Get Out Of the Way!-


Many “leaders” are truly followers in leader’s clothing.
Most people are followers.
Those who are too afraid to step out on their own just get out of the way.
As a toddler I was a leader.  One of my dad’s favorite stories is of when I was roughly four years old, and bossing the boys around after church in the parish hall.  What was I telling them?  “Sit down, boys!”
In grade school, I was also a leader in that I marched to the beat of my own drum.  I didn’t necessarily “rule the roost,” however I was a leader to one of the most important people in my life…my little brother.  He looked up to me and we had a bond no one could break.  I stood up for him.
Junior High was when things changed.  I pretty much just got out of the way.  I continued to march to the beat of my own drum, yet I became introverted and shy.
I feel the fitness industry needs more leaders.
I am a fitness industry leader.
This may sound arrogant, but oh well…it’s how I feel.
I am a leader because I have devoted my life to practicing what I preach and spreading the “truth” by being myself.  By doing what I love, and by reaching out to people near and far, I am living this every day.
The fitness industry has way too many followers.
Who are the followers?
That’s simple.
The followers are those who claim to be “experts.”
The followers are those who do not give a rat’s ass about helping people.
The followers are those who’s main goal in life is to make money.
Fitness is the vehicle.
The followers do not have to know much about exercise, nutrition, and health.
The followers simply regurgitate what others before them have said.
The followers are copycats.
The followers take another “expert’s” package, replace the former label with something bright, shiny, and “new,” and therefore continue the seemingly-popular trend of misleading the public.
The followers feel no shame in doing this, for they are supposedly “making millions.”
The followers are quick to schlep their name on any and every type of fitness “product” known to man.
Quite an easy job, right?!
Let’s make money! 
To all the fitness followers, I say this:
When you wake up in the morning and look at yourself in the mirror, are you truly proud of yourself?
Are you walking your talk or are you a fraud?
You are a fraud if you claim to know all this wonderful stuff about health and fitness, yet have no hands-on expertise.
You are a fraud if you can’t back up your claims with real-life proof.
You are a fraud if you pride yourself on the fact that you know so much about exercise, yet brag incessantly about the fact that you don’t work with clients.
I laugh at the “experts” who spew their “truths,” yet spend their days sitting in front of computers churning out one “miraculous program” after another, all the while getting fatter and more isolated.
How the hell anyone can look at themselves in the mirror and feel proud of the fact that their life’s “work” is complete garbage is beyond me.
The true fitness professionals know who they are…and they aren’t “internet experts.”
The true fitness professionals actually work hands-on with people, and are extremely proud of this fact.
The true fitness professionals may also be branching out by creating an internet presence.
Don’t get me wrong…there is absolutely nothing wrong with having an internet presence.
I love it.
Why limit yourself?
I say, if you truly love being a fitness professional, expand on what you are currently doing.
Don’t limit yourself.
Just don’t sell out.
Selling out means turning your back on the foundation of what makes our industry work…direct interaction with clients.
Selling out means promoting fitness programs and services yet not giving a rat’s ass if they might be worth a crap or not.
Selling out means affiliating yourself with anyone and everyone just for the sake of making more money of other peoples’ successes…and chances are, many of those other successes are a complete joke.
Think about it…would you trust a doctor who sat in front of a computer all day writing the “next greatest medical breakthrough,” after having thrown in the towel because he got sick of listening to people complain about their ailments day in and day out?
I would hope not.
I would hope you had the sense to trust only those who have devoted their lives to working hands-on in the medical profession because they enjoy helping people feel better, and the most obvious way to get this done is through face-to-face interaction with patients.
The “experts” who do not have the balls and/or personalities to relate to people are those who are apparently “making it big” online through the hawking of their “get a six pack in 24 hours” programs.
Wisen up, general public.
Here’s my challenge to those who are neither fitness leaders nor followers.
Here’s my challenge to those of you who have deemed yourselves worthy of just getting out of the way for the rest of your lives.
I challenge the “get of the way-ers” to step up.
I challenge you guys to find ways to put yourselves out there.
I challenge you to become more like the fitness leaders you look up to.
I challenge you to eliminate the possibility of living your life as a fitness follower.
Differentiate yourself.
Don’t be afraid to step outside of the pack.
Be a fitness leader.
Even if it means being a leader to a small audience, be a leader.
Even if you feel no one will notice, be a leader.
Whatever you do…don’t be a follower.
z183209502

This post has to do with the fitness industry, but the “lead, follow, or get out of the way” mentality applies to all professions…as well as life!

Who are the true leaders?

Many “leaders” are really followers in leader’s clothing.

Most people are followers.

Those who are too afraid to step out on their own just get out of the way.

As a toddler I was a leader.  One of my dad’s favorite stories is of when I was roughly four years old, and bossing the boys around after church in the parish hall.  What was I telling them?  “Sit down, boys!”

In grade school, I was also a leader in that I marched to the beat of my own drum.  I didn’t necessarily “rule the roost,” however I was a leader to one of the most important people in my life…my little brother.  He looked up to me and we had a bond no one could break.  I stood up for him.

Junior High was when things changed.  I pretty much just got out of the way.  I continued to march to the beat of my own drum, yet I became introverted and shy.

I feel I was a “get ouf of the way” type up until roughly January of 2007.  Yep, you read that right…January of 2007.  Why then?  Well, on June 30, 2006, I was in a bad car accident that I was extremely lucky to walk away from with not much more than a fractured eye socket.  I should have died.  I flipped and totaled my car.  This was a major turning-point for me and the months afterward were a bit of a struggle because I was dealing with a lot of things.  The wreck stirred up a lot of emotions inside me.  The main one was the fact that I was sick and tired of feeling as if others were out there getting things done, while I was not pushing myself to do the same.  It was around the time of January 2007 that I really began to buckle down and create some goals again.  I realized how easy it is to take life for granted.  I also realized how easy it is to take one’s talents for granted.  You see, although i’ve had a few brief “maybe such-and-such career is really the one for me” type stints over the past 14 years, i’ve always known in my heart that I was where I belonged.  I simply have a knack for working with clients.  I must never take this for granted, for I had let myself slip a little bit, which to most wouldn’t be a big deal.  My definition of “slipping” in this case means I wasn’t being innovative…I wasn’t “thinking outside the box”…I wasn’t doing my best.

I feel the fitness industry needs more leaders.

I am a fitness industry leader.

This may sound arrogant, but oh well…it’s how I feel.

I am a leader because I have devoted my life to practicing what I preach and spreading the “truth” by being myself.  By doing what I love, and by reaching out to people near and far, I am living this every day.

The fitness industry has way too many followers.

Who are the followers?

That’s simple.

mature_contentThe followers are those who claim to be “experts.”

The followers are those who do not give a rat’s ass about helping people.

The followers are those who’s main goal in life is to make money.

Fitness is the vehicle.

The followers do not have to know much about exercise, nutrition, and health.

The followers simply regurgitate what others before them have said.

The followers are copycats.

The followers take another “expert’s” package, replace the former label with something bright, shiny, and “new,” and therefore continue the seemingly-popular trend of misleading the public.

The followers feel no shame in doing this, for they are supposedly “making millions.”

The followers are quick to schlep their name on any and every type of fitness “product” known to man.

Quite an easy job, right?!

Let’s make money! 😀

To all the fitness followers, I say this:

When you wake up in the morning and look at yourself in the mirror, are you truly proud of yourself?

Are you walking your talk or are you a fraud?

You are a fraud if you claim to know all this wonderful stuff about health and fitness, yet have no hands-on expertise.

You are a fraud if you can’t back up your claims with real-life proof.

You are a fraud if you pride yourself on the fact that you know so much about exercise, yet brag incessantly about the fact that you don’t work with clients.

I laugh at the “experts” who spew their “truths,” yet spend their days sitting in front of computers churning out one “miraculous program” after another, all the while getting fatter and more isolated.

How the hell anyone can look at themselves in the mirror and feel proud of the fact that their life’s “work” is complete garbage is beyond me.

The true fitness professionals know who they are…and they aren’t “internet experts.”

The true fitness professionals actually work hands-on with people, and are extremely proud of this fact.

The true fitness professionals may also be branching out by creating an internet presence.

Don’t get me wrong…there is absolutely nothing wrong with having an internet presence.

I love it.

Why limit yourself?

I say, if you truly love being a fitness professional, expand on what you are currently doing.

Don’t limit yourself.

Just don’t sell out.

Selling out means turning your back on the foundation of what makes our industry work…direct interaction with clients.

Selling out means promoting fitness programs and services yet not giving a rat’s ass if they might be worth a crap or not.

Selling out means affiliating yourself with anyone and everyone just for the sake of making more money of other peoples’ successes…and chances are, many of those other successes are a complete joke.

Think about it…would you trust a doctor who sat in front of a computer all day writing the “next greatest medical breakthrough,” after having thrown in the towel because he got sick of listening to people complain about their ailments day in and day out?

I would hope not.

I would hope you had the sense to trust only those who have devoted their lives to working hands-on in the medical profession because they enjoy helping people feel better, and the most obvious way to get this done is through face-to-face interaction with patients.

The “experts” who do not have the balls and/or personalities to relate to people are those who are apparently “making it big” online through the hawking of their “get a six pack in 24 hours” programs.

Wisen up, general public.

Here’s my challenge to those who are neither fitness leaders nor followers…

Here’s my challenge to those of you who have deemed yourselves worthy of just getting out of the way for the rest of your lives…

I challenge the “get of the way-ers” to step up.

I challenge you guys to find ways to put yourselves out there.

I challenge you to become more like the fitness leaders you look up to.

I challenge you to eliminate the possibility of living your life as a fitness follower.

Differentiate yourself.

Don’t be afraid to step outside of the pack.

Be a fitness leader.

Even if it means being a leader to a small audience, be a leader.

Even if you feel no one will notice, be a leader.

Whatever you do…don’t be a follower.

Fitness professionals…please share your thoughts!

11 responses

  1. Mel

    I find it rather ‘funny’ to read this entry here as I have been wondering about it for the last couple of weeks. As a total newbie in the field (and that at my age) I seem to get sucked in for a while now to follow, read and learn form the once that seem to be the loudest, flashiest yet all the same. The same to the point that I am wondering if they all just copy the programs from each other to make money (online based). Now, I am honest and say that at this point it will still take me some time to break free from this and find my own way through practise, trial and error and interaction with clients. I have made a start. A small one at that, but everybody has to make a start. Coming to your side is always a refreshing opposite to what you get on the other sites that I follow. ‘…I am a fitness industry leader. This may sound arrogant …’ I do sometimes wonder (please don’t take it the wrong way) but at the same time you put things into perspective and say it as it is. The entry seems like a wakeup call to make sure to find and follow my own way rather than getting sucked into this ‘Fat loss action plans’ ebooks … all the same for a quick buck … No, not that I am after writing an ebook, but what comes across from those sites seem to be very loud, drowning out my own learning curve and finding my own way. I guess to stop this I simply have to stop visiting these sites and focus on my own practise and see where it gets me. At this point I am simply scared to make mistakes, haven’t got the answers a client is might be looking for … On the other hand, if I don’t pretend to be the know it all then clients don’t get angry if I say that I need to check it up. My insecurities are still quite big, but if I don’t throuw myself out there, I will never learn. Learning from books, taking classes to get qualified and practising myself are only one side of the coin. It is getting it across to the client where for me the real work and learning starts. Especially because one size does not fit all. What works for one person needs changing for another for whatever reason. Nerve-racking to me, but a well needed challenge.
    Thank you for the wakeup call! Needed that.

    August 11, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    • Hey Mel!

      I applaud your enthusiasm and determination to learn as a “newbie!” It’s an exciting thing, isn’t it? 🙂 The best thing you can do is be a sponge. In my early years as a gym rat, I devoured almost every fitness/bodybuilding magazine/book I could get my hands on. Before I even realized that I wanted to work with clients, I constantly had my nose in magazine/book. Looking back, I realize just how much time this took away from my college studies, but lo and behold, I made it through, lol. I obviously knew my calling from the get-go. I read a lot of “junk information” (ie magazines that were crammed full of advertisements for crappy supplements along with workout routines only a steroid-propelled he-man could endure), but this was okay, because from the get-go I also learned to sniff out the myths. I have always been passionate about spreading the “truth.” I owe a lot to the owner of the first gym I ever worked in…he was big on speaking up about fitness misinformation, and looking back to those times, it doesn’t seem a lot has changed. A small few of us are still determined to spread the truth, while the majority finds more value in polluting the minds of the masses (and draining their pocketbooks) with information/products that don’t hold weight.

      I am by no means arrogant. I may be confident, but I am definitely not arrogant. I feel that oftentimes, we fitness professionals who are not afraid to stand up and speak our minds could be construed as such. I also feel that we women may come across even more in this manner, as the majority of what people read/see/hear in our industry is brought to us by men. After roughtly 12 years of knowing my true calling, yet feeling a bit detached for it more often than not thanks to a lack of self-confidence, I am proud to say that I am confident. I held myself back for a loooooooong time and refuse to do it any more. The “what if’s” and “maybe I shouldn’t’s” are a thing of the past. As i’ve mentioned before, I live by a “why not” rule. Why should I not be confident? Why should I not put my message out there when I can back it up 120%? Why should I not serve as a positive example of someone who has walked their talk? Why should I not share my experience, mistakes, and successes with those who desire to learn from them? Don’t worry, I didn’t take what you said the wrong way! 🙂

      Like I told you a while back, if you lived closer to me, I would gladly pass along any and every fitness-related resource I have sitting here at my house. I have numerous books/industry-related journals & magazines/DVDs/articles. I would venture to guess that most of the “types” I would like people to be more aware of have never gotten their hands on a fraction of what i’ve learned/continue to learn. Why? Simple. They can make more money churning out information that has already been put out there. They are definitely not stupid for realizing this, but they are misleading people by perpetuating the myths and continuing the “there’s a magic bullet” way of thinking that so many people wish to believe. It makes me sad that I can think back to 1995 and picture an ad in a bodybuilding magazine that claims it’s product is the “fat loss miracle breakthrough”…as I said earlier in this response, not much has changed since then.

      Yep…you guessed it. It’s the quality versus quantity thing…much easier to make money producing things that are cheap and not effective, than to offer something that costs more yet produces actual results

      Stick to REPUTABLE sites for information that is worth passing along to your clients. Off the top of my head, here are just a few:
      *www.PTonTheNet.com
      *www.NASM.org
      *www.IDEAFit.com
      *www.premierglobal.co.uk
      *www.IzzoStrength.com
      *www.JimiVarner.com.
      I do not make money off “pitching” John or Jimi or their products. I simply have a ton of respect for what they stand for as well as the information they put out there. They have created some info-packed resources that are based on working countless hours hands-on with clients.

      Relax! 🙂 I know it’s overwhelming…but in a good way, right?!

      In regards to a client asking you a question to which you do not know the answer. Your client will respect you more if you tell them that you do not have an exact answer, but you will find one and get back to them. Clients can sniff out those who try and appear as “all knowing.” Let’s just say Sally Sue Billy Bob Trainer claimed to have the answer yet as a result, caused a client’s back pain to get worse? They might lose that client, but more importantly, they would seriously damage their reputation…and obviously more importantly, they harmed his client. I’m sure you realize this!

      The fact that you are very concerned about being qualified and offering a top-notch experience for each and every client speaks volumes. Never lose this! I know it’s a bit stressful but believe me…you are already proving yourself! 🙂

      Keep it up!
      Sarah

      August 11, 2009 at 6:55 pm

  2. JimmyBoi

    christ I am so sick of these kinds of posts from people. You do realize that your twitter is full of fakes right? That you communicate on a daily basis with the people you are not “afraid” to call out?

    Why don’t you have the guts to really call someone out or shut up about it already. You don’t have the guts to name names because you hope those same people are going to be there in the end to help make you money. Give me a break, I will beleive it when I see it.

    August 11, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    • Well, hello JimmyBoi!

      Wow…I sure struck a nerve with somebody.

      Obviously I have my own opinions and as expected, not everyone is gonna see things the way I see them. I guess it can be a bit threatening to have a strong female fitness professional who isn’t afraid to speak her mind out there “brainwashing” people, lol. I am happy that lots of people don’t agree with me. Again, I have never adhered to many of the “mainstream” views, therefore your comment rocks! Next thing I know, I’m gonna be called the “b-word,” which is actually quite amusing considering I’m the furthest thing from that. Oh well…

      I don’t feel the need to name names because I am not a mud-slinger. What good would it do for me to name names? I wasn’t raised to do so, and I have always been the type to give people the benefit of the doubt. I have always been the type to see the good in everyone…this is why the blatant use of Internet “power” and the “I’ll kiss your butt if you help me out, yet I don’t really give a crap about you” type thing that goes on doesn’t sit well with me, and never will. There is nothing that I can do to change things, so there’s no sense wasting time stressin’ about it. All I can do is continue doing what I’m doing, which is awesome because if I am THIS fulfilled right now, and things are just barely starting to big-time snowball, wow…I really can’t imagine feeling more fulfilled with my career, but it’s happening. I am proud that I have 14 years behind me in the fitness industry. I am proud that I have busted my ass to make a name for myself. I am proud that I have a direct influence on the lives of the people I train, as well as those I have gotten to reach out to online. I am proud to say that I wake up each and every morning excited about my work and life. Not many people can truly say that.

      If people want to be sellouts, they can do it. All I’m saying is that there ARE sellouts. The sellouts get so hacked when they are referred to as such…gee, I wonder why?! By all means, people should continue to sell out, because it makes those of us who are obviously better WAY more obvious to those who actually give a damn. Yet again, my “quality versus quantity” way of thinking sticks out like a sore thumb. Yet again I’m exposed as a “weirdo” because I actually choose to do things with quality being the driving force behind them.

      I would like to see more people step up and do more with themselves than create more and more ridiculously DUMB “created for the supposedly stupid and brainless general public” information products just for the sake of making quick money. It’s disgusting. It’s no different than all the crap “buy now for only $19.95!” fitness gadgets you see in the wee hours of the morning on infomercials. Complete crap. I feel the people deserve better than crap. I feel people deserve better than that horrendously ridiculous $19.95 vibrating dumbbell that has been advertised recently. If you don’t agree with me, well, then I’m sorry your standards are lower than mine. I’m sorry that you try and convince yourself that stuff that’s not much different from a cheesy $19.95 exercise gadget (that bears much resemblance to a sex toy) is a killer way to make loads and loads of money…because, well…that’s obviously pretty hilarious and sad at the same time.

      You don’t see types like JC Santana, Mike Boyle, Evan Osar, and Gary Grey producing crap, do you? No! They create stuff that I would venture to guess flies over the heads of most of the “sellout” types. Most of their stuff is geared towards other fitness professionals who actually thrive on providing outstanding service whose careers are based on a lot more than “hey, Jim Bob…this is how you get lean and ripped in 2 weeks…just send me three easy payments of your monthly salary and you’ll find out all the fantabulous secrets!” Yes, they do make a great deal of money by other streams of income than just working directly with people, but they have the reputations to back it up. Guys like Jason Ferruggia and Zach Even-Esh create stuff too (and Zach has his own Underground Strength cert now), but their passion lies in working with people. Obviously, a lot of people kiss these guys’ asses. Oh, and don’t let me forget to mention Jimi Varner, a fitness professional who has worked 60 hour weeks directly with clients in a local sports club (gasp, the horror, right?!) These guys know what they are doing and have found ways to create amazing businesses that are built on a foundation of what I would venture to guess would be thousands and thousands of hours of hard work WITH clients/athletes.

      Yep, I’m obviously a complete idiot because I feel that a fitness professional’s life’s work should be based on working hands-on with clients. I must be a complete moron to think that not anyone and their dog could have the right to create “magical” fitness systems/programs! Hell, I might as well hand over a pad and pencil to my dog, Biskit, so he can churn out stuff that’s better than a lot of what I’ve seen online. Wait, he types better than he writes…plus he can type with all four paws, so…

      And for the record, I don’t need any of “those types” to help me make money. I have enough help in that department. There are people out there who, if I so desired, I would contact if I needed a “boost” in my online presence & info product creation. To be honest, I probably will be hiring someone in the near future to help me with some projects. I would be stupid not to. I can, however, be selective and look past a lot of the “hype.” Again, not each and every guy who is out there with an online presence is a sellout. I thought I made that point clear already.

      If you are THAT worried about the way I think, I’m guessing you may be one of ‘em, and what I wrote could be taken as a personal attack. To this I say “oh well,” because the world is made up of all kinds, and if we all did things the same way & were clones of each other, it would be pretty boring.

      More people need to stand on their own two feet.

      I am proud to say that the majority of my followers on Twitter aren’t fakes. The majority of those I interact with on a regular basis are fitness professionals who value what I have to say & share my values. I also interact with many fitness enthusiasts, runners, and triathletes (because I do work out, unlike lots of the “experts” who are out there). I guess I go against the grain because I’m actually on there to do more than just pimp myself out. Please do me a favor and un-follow me. Stalkers are creepy & I have more than enough of ‘em.

      Thanks,
      S

      August 11, 2009 at 4:42 pm

  3. Good God – us leaders are really hitting nerves out there this week! Sarah – I am proud to say that I am a leader in the fitness industry and I am honored to know another great leader like yourself. You really put it out there, tell people like it is and stand up for the amazing TRUE fitness professionals out there.
    I have known WAY too many trainers/experts out there who spew out tons of “new fitness info/gadgets that are going to change the industry” but all they are doing is repeating the same crap that they were TOLD by another follower. They “sell” their client garbage information and/or horrible equipment that is worthless. They never really experience life in the fitness industry they just talk about it.
    Another thing, who are these overweight, unhealthy and non exercising trainers in the industry? Who are they kidding? What is it you that say – “Trainers, your body should be your business card.” If they are not willing to walk the talk, why would they make their clients do the same. Sad thing is they don’t . They just take their clients money and don’t do their job.
    More trainers out there need to have the “quality and not quantity” view on clients. I, personally, do not have or ever want a FULL schedule of clients. I would rather give my clients the attention that they deserve and have time to create quality programs that will help each of them reach their individual goals. I’ve seen way to many experts/trainers out there that have all of their clients do the EXACT same workout because they don’t have the time to create proper programs specifically for their clients goals. Maybe they are too busy, or maybe they are just not educated enough or maybe they can’t find any more programs to steal for REAL professionals – whatever.
    Sarah – you’re awesome & I say keep telling the followers out there the TRUTH! They really need to hear it!

    August 11, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    • Hey Tera!

      As you said, amen & hallelujah! Some of us have seen the light, and it is really, really good! Others can continue to walk in darkness, blindly convincing themselves that it is the “true” light. Now I sound like i’m giving a sermon! 🙂

      I’m happy i’m not the only one who’s not afraid to hit a few nerves! The fitness industry needs more of us female professionals to stand up and speak our minds. I’m not a man-hater, i’m just saying that there seems to be a lack of female “presence” out there. We are keeping it real and are proud to stand outside of the pack! It takes guts to do that, when apparently we are told we must kiss everyone’s butts because we can’t make something of ourselves. We are told that we should become affiliates with anyone and everyone who is marketing a fitness info product/website/service so that we can make income in our sleep…which in some cases is perfectly fine (I have been a Perform Better affiliate for years now and fully back their company and products). It’s not perfectly fine, however, when you affiliate yourself with people/products/services/websites you could give a rat’s as* about, just for the sake of making money off them. This is why you won’t see me pimping out the vibrating dumbbell or the majority of fitness info products that are being heavily promoted out there. This is why, on Twitter, for example, I will un-follow a “fitness professional” who just gets on there to share tweets that pimp out their products. Often times, these people aren’t really fitness pros at all…they are hiding behind “masks” that say they are such, but they come nowhere near you or I in terms of professionalism, experience, passion, and pride in our profession. They are a face without a name to me. I will un-follow these types if they do not interact with others. Why would I want to follow someone who obviously doesn’t give a crap about interacting with other people who may need their help or want to “talk shop” or just shoot the breeze? The fact that i’m able to get to know other fitness pros such as yourself, as well as fitness enthusiasts who ask for my advice is AMAZING to me. If people don’t see things this way, it says a lot about their motives and character. They do not fit into my world.

      Don’t even get me started on out-of-shape trainers. 😉 We’ve already discussed this, and it’s time for me to wind down from the workday, have some wine, and fix some dinner! We could be here all night if I got started on that soapbox!

      Keep on rockin’ it!
      Sarah

      PS – watch out…your comment could get you a few more haters! ;D

      August 11, 2009 at 6:10 pm

  4. Hey Sarah,
    Sorry I took so long to read this. I am busy with real clients. I’m working to become a leader.

    I see many “fakes” and “sellouts”. They seem to make more money, maybe they do… But most make their money selling 30 days to fit. I make no bones about it and have lost prospective clients because I tell them the truth… not what most want to hear. Many want to hear that they will lose 40 inches and 80 pounds by the weekend, and there are “trainers” that tell them they can reverse 20 years of bad habits in 7 days.

    There are days I think that selling out to a supplement line would solve my financial woes… I’ve seen a few folks go from ragged trainer to riches by PUSHING supplements. However, “with great power comes great responsibility” Spiderman… My clients trust me – completely. Some would take hydroycut if I told them to. I can’t risk their health or trust.

    My clients have made me who I am. They have saved my life and grown my Personal Training busness. I know that doing the right thing is the only way to suceed.

    Personal training is Personal – person to person. That’s how I do my business and earn my living. Each month gets a little better than the last.

    I truly has been refreshing to find another trainer who is so like minded. You, Sarah, have become one of my heroes.

    Thank You!

    Steve

    August 11, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    • Hey Steve!!!

      I am truly flattered, Steve. Thank you – I am proud to be considered a hero! I hope I continue to inspire you!

      You’re already a leader! 🙂 You are telling people the truth and although you may find that some of them don’t wanna hear it, you are doing the RIGHT thing. Don’t change! You are wise to not fall into the “pushing supplements” garbage…in fact, trainers are not supposed to “prescribe” supplements to their clients. This means we can make recommendations, but we are not supposed to say “you must take Miracle Stack XXX” or whatever. I’m not big on supplements. I believe in a handful of natural stuff, but that’s it.

      I love what you said – “my clients have made me who I am”…THIS IS THE TRUTH! We fitness professionals would be NOTHING without our clients. Our clients teach us so much and allow us to have amazing opportunities to touch lives.

      You are obviously on the right track! How long have you been in the industry? If you need any pointers, you know who to ask! 🙂

      Thanks again for stopping by to leave your thoughts, and I look forward to talking with you again!

      Yours in Health,
      Sarah

      August 13, 2009 at 3:32 pm

  5. I am not a fitness professional. But I am someone trying to get fit and I hope in the process, I can inspire others to make the changes they need too.
    I love this post! I am so frustrated by conflicting information about dieting and exercise and all of the claims for “quick fixes.”
    Anyone who is serious about getting fit knows deep down there is no quick fix.
    I applaud you and the trainers like you, who lead, who are honest about the hard work it takes to get there, who admire and respect their clients and do what they can to help them. Thank you. There should be more FitProSarahs in the world!

    August 12, 2009 at 8:06 am

    • Hey tri-buddy!

      You are most definitely inspiring others! Your journey inspires me, and the fact that you have set your triathlon goal and are working your way towards it! Amazing stuff! 🙂

      I am happy you appreciated my post! Obviously there are some who didn’t, and that’s perfectly fine by me! The people who appreciate it are the people I care about, and the people who truly value what i’m doing as a fitness professional.

      Thank you for your thoughts and for saying there should be clones of me running around in the world! lol 🙂 I really could use one…to get all this work done! hehehe Really, though…there are others in the profession who share my views, and do so openly…and many more who choose to keep mum b/c they don’t want to ruffle a few feathers.

      I ain’t afraid to ruffle a few feathers…if they need to be ruffled, I say ruffle ’em!

      Yours in Health,
      Sarah

      August 13, 2009 at 3:39 pm

  6. Mel

    Consider yourself lucky that I do not live close by because or I would pick your brain 24/7. I can’t stand wasting my time on learning crap and listen to ‘flashers’, but if I am new in an area it is very hard for me to separate the ones with knowledge to the posers. It takes me time to wake up as I am doing now, but I will get there eventually.

    Thank you for your comeback and good on you for not being apologetic for who you are and what you believe in. ESPECIALLY as a women. You go girl and the rest of us (yes, me) can only learn from this example to find our OWN way in life/ fitness without coping from someone else.
    I have noticed that I seem to be looking at my coursework more critical than most of the sites that I visit which is wrong. I do believe that some of the coursework is a bit outdated, but the other side of the courses is that they take you back/ through simple basics rather than all the fancy, flashy stuff. I find this quite good and can build on the basics.
    I am also booked in with a local personal fitness trainer (lady) from September on to learn from. More as a student as I lack experience than a person that needs a workout. Don’t worry, my own fitness is well in hand. I don’t believe in telling the ladies to get of their backsides and then I just sit around myself. I might don’t have a six pack, but I don’t give classes to get one either.

    Well, I don’t know if you can knock all the programs out there made by the ‘sell outs’, because if it does work for people of course they will get a lot of online clients. Now, without naming any one or programs ( I too don’t do that) here is an example. About 400+ clients at $9,95 dollars a month (can’t tell who uses video based for $49,95 a month) that is a lot of money for somebody to just work from home not ‘needing’ to work hands on with clients anymore. So, a great money maker, but the individuality of each person is lost. Unless they know themselves how to make changes to the program, all these people will do exactly the same.

    This is might be a stupid question but I wasn’t sure if the comment was meant ironic over all the silly gadgets out there. Vibrating dumbbells? You are joking?????

    Request for blog entry:
    A rant of yours that I would be interested in is the subject supplements. Being a vegetarian I struggle a bit with getting all the proteins on board as I am not to keen on bean, legumes … There are (without naming again) sites out there promoting supplement XY in the moment saying that without it your workout is pretty pointless. The next course I want to focus on now is B license for nutrition (they separate everything: fitness trainer, cardio, nutrition) so I started to read some different books also from different years. So far each book tells me that with a variety of food (even as a vegetarian) there is NO need for supplements to help the body recover after a workout. There is also NO need to get a high amount of protein in as it is a myth that it builds muscle. The workout will do that and carbs are needed to help recover/ refuel rather than excess amounts of protein. I personally think all the supplements are there to make money again, but with being new to the industry I wonder why so many people go for them.

    August 12, 2009 at 8:07 am

Leave a Reply

