Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Scrub the Floor…For the Core!-


"549...550!  Whew!" ;)

"549...550! Whew!" 😉

It’s been a while since I put up a video of a nifty “outside the box” exercise.

In fact, I have a gazillion on my computer that I have yet to edit/upload!  I’m thinking eventually i’ll just redo most of them, lol.  I have a new site in the works, and plan on having it house my massive “exercise how-to” database.  Pretty sweet, huh?

Anyhow, here’s one I shot on Monday during my brief leg/core workout, which i’m still sore from… (okay, so the combination of that workout plus trying out my new clipless pedals that evening, then running 5.5 miles Tuesday morning, then swimming that evening plus riding 15.25 miles this morning probably has more to do with it than a few sets of squats and lunges, but hey, lol)!

I call these “Floor Scrubbers,” and i’m using the Valslides…one under a foot and the other under the opposite hand!  If you are fairly advanced, give these a try!

I would suggest 10 reps per side, and for an even bigger challenge, perform “Alligator Drags” prior to a set of these (place sliders under feet and crawl across floor without moving legs)!  My clients love ’em!  If it’s good enough for my clients, it’s good enough for you! 😀

To purchase a set of Valslides, visit the awesome Perform Better website by clicking here!

NOTE: Perform Better is basically THE ONLY company I choose to do business with.  In the near future, you will be reading about my experiences as an “affiliate” with a company who’s name I will not mention right now.  Let’s just say that many fitness-related companies leave a lot to be desired when it comes to customer service and good business.

12 responses

  1. Wonderful ideas–thanks for posting.

    July 15, 2009 at 3:57 pm

  2. Forrester McLeod

    OKay. My mind is blown. You are an official goddess! Wow!

    Rock On!

    July 15, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    • Why, thank you! 😀
      Takes one to know one!
      That’s the most awesome compliment I think i’ve ever received!
      Make sure to let me know how sore your abs are after trying these little floor scrubbers!
      Yours in Health,
      Sarah

      July 15, 2009 at 5:23 pm

      • Forrester McLeod

        Oh…..you overestimate me! I’m a calm, slow, yoga chick, but I DO have friends who work out and I will be telling them about your site. This really is wonderful and I have never seen anything like it!

        Cheers!

        July 15, 2009 at 7:43 pm

        • Thanks, Forrester! 😀
          Nothing wrong with calm and slow…yoga is awesome and if I was more in-line with it, i’d do more of it. Problem is that i’m too ADD & go-go-go to do it on my own. I need a yoga class, methinks!

          July 16, 2009 at 5:10 pm

  3. arrowdynamicmom

    10 reps?? You gotta be kidding me! I belly-flopped after 1 rep and couldn’t get back up 😦

    I’ll work my way up, maybe to 5…

    July 17, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    • Sue-
      You make me giggle! Hey, you gave it a try! Have you tried my quadruped (kneeling) variation? If not, that may be the place to start, and you can work your way up to the full-fledged floor scrubber! I’m thinkin’ BIG for ya! 😀
      Have a great weekend!
      Sarah

      July 17, 2009 at 3:17 pm

  4. I like to think that I’m “fairly advanced”, but uh, maybe not. I’d really like to try this.

    So if you actually do REAL floor scrubbing, my kitchen needs it. Wanna make a some extra cash?

    July 25, 2009 at 5:35 am

    • LOL! 😀
      I’m always up for multi-tasking!
      How much $ we talkin’ about? You gonna buy me a plane ticket?
      hehehehehe

      July 25, 2009 at 2:52 pm

      • Errr. For the price you’re hinting to, I’ll just lay a new floor down. LOL

        July 25, 2009 at 4:43 pm

        • LOL!
          well, one day i’ll have my private jet…then it won’t be a prob! 😀

          July 26, 2009 at 12:06 pm

Leave a comment