Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Friday Thru Tuesday-


JUNE 19

Friday June 19's Run

I’m playing catch-up, so here are the recaps of my workouts from last Friday June 19 thru today, Tuesday June 23.

Friday, I got up and ran through a nice, older neighborhood.  I didn’t have a plan on where I was going, I just wanted to run.  It felt good to do so, although I believe the heat (even though it was relatively early in the morning) combined with the intensity of my run set me up for a bit of heat exhaustion over the weekend.  Friday’s soundtrack was provided by ATB, as I listened to his album “Trilogy.”  Good schtuff!  Totally sweaty and happily spent, I came home, showered, and ate a bit prior to heading out the door to train clients.  I trained a few in their pool later that morning, and it was blazing.  I should have brought my swimsuit so I could have joined them.  Lesson learned!  Friday turned out to be a pretty exciting day!  I am now the proud owner of a Terry Isis road bike.  It’s shipping from California sometime this week, and I can’t wait for it to get here!

Saturday’s plan was to get up and fit in an easy run prior to my swim workout.  My body said “hell no” regarding getting up at 5:30 am, so I slept in, realizing that I had a long day ahead with my birthday luau.  My swim workout SUCKED.  Okay, so it wasn’t terrible, but it was obvious that I had heat exhaustion by that point because my body wasn’t cooperating.  I felt awkward in the water and it was a bit of a bummer, but I stuck it out and completed over 700 yards.  The rest of the day was devoted to pre-party tasks and then a ton of fun in and out of the pool all day/evening.  I have a bruise on each elbow thanks to the slip n’ slide races! 🙂

Sunday was NO working out…and more hangin’ in the pool…another scorcher of a day.

Yes, folks, I was drinking a ton of water, I promise!

JUNE 22

Monday, June 22's Run

Monday, I got up at the butt-crack, had my coffee, ate some cereal, and went for a run very much like the one I did Friday.  It felt so good to run after a weekend of cuttin’ loose!  I’m feeling stronger using improved posture, and i’m focusing on my breathing.  Monday’s run’s soundtrack was provided yet again by ATB, as I listened to his latest album “Future Memories.”  Another great one from ATB!  I believe it was 100 degrees Monday, and it’s projected to be just as bad all week…and that’s WITHOUT the heat index.  I trained my little group of clients in the pool again Monday, but this time I got in there with them!  We worked on stroke techniques and had a good time.  My 2:30 client got a bit of everything because she asked for it!  Dynamic warm-up, hip/t-spine mobility work, some new core stuff, Superband locomotor circuit, and focus mitts!  Another great workout for one of my rockstars!  My second workout of the day was a swim around 4:00pm.  Did some different stuff – 4 sets of 12 laps (a little over 100 yards), resting only as long as Sheila went, and then 3 sets of 50 yards (6 laps) using pull buoy, then 3 sets of 50 with kickboard.  Grand total of 45 minutes or so for both of us to get done, and oh…my…gosh…talk about dead legs!  Maybe i’m a weirdo, but the feeling of being pleasantly spent really makes me happy.  Such a sense of accomplishment!  Felt redeemed after Saturday’s crappy swim workout!  Ate a good dinner and vegged on the couch for the evening while doing some work.

Today was a rest day, for the most part.  I got up and did an 18-minute mobility/kettlebell workout just because I felt like it.  Scheduled a massage for this afternoon and it was AMAZING.  I will be getting a massage every other week from now on!  I used to do this back in my fitness competition days and have been wanting to get back on track with regular appointments.  If you don’t get regular massages, I highly recommend that you do.  It’s all about happy tissues, folks…lol! 😀  Oh, and i’m not talking about lame relaxation massages…i’m talking deep-tissue make you wanna cry at times massages!  Main areas of concern today were my neck, traps, occipital region, glutes (especially left, boy howdy), calves (especially left), and feet (arches were killer, especially left).  Notice a left-sided trend?

As always, thanks for being so supportive and appreciating what i’m doing.  I am trying to throw in posts regarding things other than just triathlon stuff, so don’t worry.  I know a few of you are curious about my progress, so i’ll keep writing about my own workouts.  I want to hear from you – what do you want to learn more about?  Leave your comments below!

Yours in Health,

Sarah

4 responses

  1. "Lance"

    Who the heck is ATB?

    June 24, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    • Hey “Lance”! 😉

      ATB is Andre Tanneberger (sp?), who you need to know if you’re into electronic/trance music!

      Is your alias in reference to Lance Armstrong? Are you implying we’ll ride bikes on the levee for a workout in the near future? 😀

      June 24, 2009 at 6:07 pm

  2. "Lance"

    Yes, soon as we get that bike together and tuned up for you, we’ll hit the levee!

    June 24, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    • YAY! 😀

      June 25, 2009 at 1:32 pm

Leave a Reply

