Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Wednesday & Thursday’s Training!-


YUMMINESS!

YUMMINESS!

To the left you’ll see a picture of the YUMMY turkey, spinach, pepper jack, and jalepeno panini my fantabulous client Cassandra made for me Wednesday.  She uses Ezekiel bread and it’s DELISH!  I have eaten many a panini at Cassandra & Eddie’s house!  The best was when I walked into their house & saw Cassandra dressed in “normal” clothes, and she told me she wasn’t working out that day, she had forgotten about something, and offered to make me a sandwich. 🙂  Yes, I got paid to eat a sandwich and laugh about it with my client.
I also want to plug Fiji water because I love it and also because I was ripped a new one by some dude on Twitter who tweeted at me after I left a friendly message stating how much I love the dang water.  Apparently he wanted to make me feel like scum for supporting a company that does yadda yadda yadda?  I don’t remember exactly, but…
Anyhow…on to my post regarding my workouts from Wednesday and Thursday!  Why did I post a picture of the lovely sandwich?  Because i’ve lost weight, and my clients felt I needed to be fed.  I’m doing all I can to eat…it’s hard, really…to get accustomed to the increase in training.  My appetite is improving, so no worries!  I have gone down like 4-5 pounds in the past 2 weeks of training for the race.  I am super-hydrating as well.  This is all a process and I am very in-tune with my body at this point in my training career.  Back in my neurotic days as a fitness competitor, I was very “numb” to what my body had to say.  Obviously, that’s just plain dumb!
Wednesday was my swim day.  A good day for sprints!  My “coach,” Sheila and I did 60 yard sprints (plan called for 50 yards, but with all the turning around in the 10 yard pool, she felt it was fair to tack on 10 yards to each).  We did 12 sets of 60 yards.  The plan called for 10 sets but again, we wanted to account for not having a longer pool.  Each sprint was to take 50 seconds (based on the 50 yard length).  We alternated turns – she went (6 laps), then I went, etc.  We used her technique from competitive swimming days of having pennies in a little glass, and taking one out for each set.  Can I just say that this workout kicked my as*?  Oh my gosh!  Each and every sprint, it was around the 3rd lap on each that my arms seemed to give out and my shoulders were on fire!  Also, I was not as fluid with my breathing as with a slower pace (go figure), and towards the 5th lap and the “home stretch” (aka 6th), it was truly a test of will…each and every time!  I seriously could not have done this workout without Sheila there.  It pays to have a best buddy who’s also a coach!  The sprint portion of the workout took us roughly 22 minutes.
Tacx VR

Tacx VR

Thursday’s workout called for 45 minutes on the bike at a Level I (warm-up/cool-down) pace, followed by four 60-second single-leg drills.  I used my client’s Specialized Allez Elite on the trainer hooked up to Tacx virtual reality.  His bike is a 54cm and i’m a 48-50cm.  Lowered the seat and it worked okay for today.  I was just supposed to go for time, and didn’t want to mess with hills and such (the system “creates” hills by putting resistance on the rear wheel as you watch yourself climb…pretty nifty), so I chose a velodrome course.  For 45 minutes, I watched myself go around and around at an 18-20 mph pace.  I can’t remember how many miles I did, but I was a complete sweatbasket and my legs were dead!
I actually set my alarm for 5:30am this morning in anticipation of waking up to sneak in an extra workout…but my body said NO!  I wanted to fit in a run because I will be modifying my weekend workouts to account for my friend Stephen and I’s birthday luau Saturday.  I will NOT be working out on Sunday! 🙂  Besides…as Stephen puts it…”Sunday is the Lord’s day…it’s a day of rest!” LOL!
Temporary card!

Temporary card!

Last night, I paid my dues and am now an official USAT member!
I also am officially registered for The Austin Triathlon as well as the Run For Your Life 5k, which is next Saturday! WAHOO!
Can ya see him?

Can ya see him?

I had completely forgotten about these pictures…I took ’em on Monday after I completed my run.  As I was walking around to cool down and stretch, I saw a few squirrels dart across the ground.  I then noticed that one of them was BLONDE!
I had never seen a blonde squirrel!  I would say it was albino, which i’m sure it technically was, but it’s fur was a peachy color!
I just HAD to take pictures!
Anyhow, as the squirrels were playing grab-as*, I managed to shoot a few pictures…but they were climbing up the tree, so it was hard to get good ones.  Dang you, iPhone, for not having a zoom!
Ta-da!

Ta-da!

Here’s an enlarged shot of the blonde squirrel!  Can ya see him now?

8 responses

  1. Eddie

    That sandwich looks delicious! I want one!

    June 19, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    • LOL!
      Please tell me you’ve had the yummy goodness that is your fantabulous wife’s panini, Fast Eddie?!!!! 🙂
      PS did you hear about the 1 1/2 hour pool workout your four women did today? It was a blast! Cuz officially dubbed herself the common denominator in each team that lost the “raft races”…lol! Jessica is a machine, Tori has mad freestyle skills, and Christina mastered the breaststroke today. Cuz is also a freestylin’ fool! It wears her out, but that’s good! Next time, i’m gonna get in the pool and work on technique with y’all!

      June 19, 2009 at 9:06 pm

  2. That sandwich looks sooo yummy!!! I love paninis. You could put anything in a sandwich and grill it up and I’d eat it!

    Great job on the killer workouts AND the USAT membership!

    June 19, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    • Hey Jen!
      I’ll get Cassandra to grill one up for you next time…i’ll hop in my car and deliver it…55 min or so, coming from Port Allen? LOL! That’ll be $100! jk
      I need me a panini press fo’ sho’!
      Thank you! I am determined to document my training/progress because it’s making me even more accountable! My goal for this first race is to FINISH! 🙂 I don’t have a specific time in mind…just yet…maybe closer to the date, I will, but I just want to get through it! I can’t wait! I feel so empowered already!

      Yours in Health,
      Sarah

      June 19, 2009 at 9:20 pm

  3. Eddie

    Yes, Cassandra will occasionally make a panini for me if I’m good 🙂 I wondered why everyone’s so tired, but the girls got a second wind, and they’re off to the movies. They bounce back so fast!

    June 19, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    • They were happily fatigued! It was funny b/c when I showed up at 10:20, Christina was snoozin on the couch, Tori was upstairs asleep, and Jessica had overslept and was on her way! Cassandra was like “i’ll put on my suit and join y’all” so it was a pool party workout! We had a blast! I am about to hit the hay…I wish I could go to the movies this late! I would fall asleep in my popcorn! PS we will ride bikes soon!

      June 19, 2009 at 9:27 pm

  4. Hillary

    That panini picture has made me hungry! Time for a lunch break, I think! 🙂

    I love it that you drink FIJI Water. It’s excellent for re-hydration (all those naturally occurring electolytes) and has a great, neutral pH – which makes it all the more thirst quenching, to me.

    June 21, 2009 at 11:59 am

    • That panini is the BOMB! 🙂 I am addicted!
      FIJI rocks my socks! I’m with you…it’s so mellow and easy to drink! I know some people would say “it’s just water,” but it’s really that good!
      Thanks for stopping by!
      Yours in Health,
      Sarah

      June 22, 2009 at 5:40 pm

Leave a Reply

