Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Monday’s Run!-


This morning's run & stats!

Have ya seen my stats? ;D

I am officially obsessed with using GPS to track my workouts!

This morning, I got up early enough to have my coffee and oatmeal, as well as water…then I went for a 3-mile run!  The route I ran was one i’d run before, and I had underestimated the distance!  Awesome!  Even better was the fact that last week when I ran this route, I ran it in 29 minutes.  28:12 today!  I got a pair of Nike Free’s on Friday & couldn’t wait to run in ’em today!  Felt great!  Yet again, soundtrack was The Crystal Method’s “Divided By Night“!

Just a little “thanks” to Rick Karboviak for piquing my interest in GPS training!  It rocks! 🙂  I have a feeling i’ll be purchasing a GPS-enabled heart rate monitor in the future!  Until then, i’ll be using my iPhone with the RunKeeper app!

I will be tracking my stats on an ongoing basis via RunKeeper!

Hope everyone is having an AMAZING Monday!  I know mine’s been awesome!

11 responses

  1. daniel

    man, you make me want to run again. i never got caught up with the tech & running & heart rate or gps.
    i just loved to run.
    you’re breaking it down, showing how it’s done.
    go sarah!!!

    June 15, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    • Hey Daniel!
      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂
      I never fiddled with a heart rate monitor much…I had one a decade ago when they first really became “cool”, but it didn’t seem to matter to me at the time…and never used GPS until now! I like gadgets, lol, so anything that makes things more “fun” & motivating rocks! I definitely like being able to track my progress. I’m excited!

      Yours in Health,
      Sarah

      June 15, 2009 at 2:25 pm

  2. I use a Garmin Forerunner 305 (comes with HRM) with SportTracks software to track my runs. Warning – once you are used to it, you cannot run without it. Without maps and graphs on the screen it is a fact you didn’t run/bike/walk anywhere at all! There’s a new model (Forerunner 310XT) that is water proof – you can use it for tri training!

    Hope your Frees are good for your feet 🙂

    June 15, 2009 at 3:31 pm

  3. You’re a Beast, Ms. Ripple! Killin’ it in the water, on land…what’s next…base jumping?!? (please forget I even said that…don’t get any ideas, Rip.)

    Love your enthusiasm (always have!), love your intensity, wish I could run at that speed! Damn.

    Keep it up, Sarah! “Y’all” Rock!

    F.

    June 15, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    • Hey Fred!

      Thank you! 🙂 There will be NO base jumping, so don’t worry! If anything, i’ll stick to my goal of hang gliding one day…that seems safer!
      I love the fact that by simply sharing my life, workouts, & expertise…i’m able to help other people & have made some awesome friends in the process! I have never claimed to have “secrets” or desired to make it appear that i’ve got a TON of stuff i’m holding back…which you can get NOW for the price of $5995! I detest the fact that so many “fitness experts” (and i’m not partial to the “expert” term, btw) out there, in cyberspace most often, claim they have the “secrets”…i’m so sick and tired of it. Truth is…there are no secrets! It’s all plain and simple stuff, as you know, and until i’m proven wrong, i’m gonna keep preaching this!
      Thanks for “getting it”!
      Yours in Health,
      Sarah

      June 16, 2009 at 7:26 pm

  4. Thanks for the ‘thanks’ in your blog, Sarah! GPS was a crucial component for my training plans back in my XC & track coaching days, as well as during my own triathlon training for a short time. You do get addicted to it sometimes, especially when you can track your runs and compare them down the road. For anyone interested in GPS applications for running, please visit either Kettlebolics.com or RocketSpeedTraining.com.

    June 15, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    • Hey Rick!
      You are more than welcome!
      Everyone should check out Rick’s sites – he knows his running stuff!
      Yours in Health,
      Sarah

      June 16, 2009 at 7:20 pm

  5. The GPS sounds cool! Keep kicking butt!

    June 15, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    • It’s a blast, Julie! 🙂 I’m obsessed!
      Gotta write about today’s workout!
      Thank you!
      S

      June 16, 2009 at 7:19 pm

  6. JMJ

    Good job Sarah. Keep up the good training! Glad the Nike Free’s are working out for you. With all the running I did training for the NSFC, I bought a pair of Asics. The are the shhhhhhhh. I love ’em. My old Nike Shox are garbage, they feel like they weigh 10 lbs compared to my Asics. Love me some Asics for running!

    June 15, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    • Hey Jason!
      I love Asics! I had the Nimbus 9’s and loved ’em. Didn’t so much care for the colors of the 10’s, lol…women’s shoes tend to be pink, lilac, etc…not so much my speed! 🙂 Great shoes though! Shox are crap! They look good but as you know, they’re nothing! The Free’s are amazing! My other pair of running shoes are Mizuno Wave Creation 10’s. Felt really weird wearin’ em this morning for my 5.25 mile run since I wore the Free’s Monday!

      Yours in Health,
      Sarah

      June 16, 2009 at 7:18 pm

Leave a Reply

