Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Swimming Rocks!-


Yesterday was my swim workout.  I did 5 rounds of 2 min swim/1 min rest, using the tether and pull buoy.  The buoy is cool b/c it doesn’t let you kick, and it keeps your legs up.  I could definitely tell a difference, as I pulled a lot more with my arms, and I also felt better aligned.  My lats and shoulders were on fire!  It was awesome!  After doing five intervals, I got rid of the tether and buoy and swam 100 yards.  I felt like I was gliding through the water a lot better.  When I got out to sit on the side of the pool, I could tell my right teres “buddies” were in shock.  I went to wave my arms and I felt like my muscles were gonna lock down!  Freaky!

I will be having videos of my swim workouts on a regular basis because I want to see my technique improve!  It already has!

Here I am, doin’ my best Ginger Rogers impression, and lookin’ incredibly hot! LOL! 🙂

Can you see what I need to work on with my technique?

4 responses

  1. Never seen the tether before. I was always a big fan of buoys though. Especially when doing stroke drills.

    Stroke drill 4 parts.

    set 1, both hands straight out, move only one arm at a time.

    set 2, drag the fingers. As you bring your stroke over the top, drag your fingers along the top of the water. Saves you from wasting energy from bringing your hands too far out of the water (you tend to when breathing on teh right side.

    Set 3, run the thumb. run the thumb down your chest, and tap your thigh with it as you stroke. While you want to reach deeper to get more pull, for the most part it looks like you’re just dropping your arms straight down.

    set 4, put it all together for last set and swim normal.

    1 minute of each, repeat 10 times.

    The alternating breathing looked good, but try to get more strokes in. less you breath the better your from, and the faster you’ll go. you lose speed when breathing because you’re changing your drag. When I did long distance, I’d breath between 7 and 10 strokes. When I sprinted, I usually only breathed once or twice a length (2 to 4 times a lap), depending on what I was swimming.

    Swam competitively for years. Tried coaching, liked swimming better.

    June 15, 2009 at 11:44 am

    • Hey Chris!
      You’re officially part of my swim-training coaching team, then! 🙂 Thanks so much for your suggestions! I will try the drill fo’ sho’! I am swimming later this afternoon, so i’ll be working on stuff! The idea of breathing less frequently is appealing b/c I do feel that it messes me up. If I can get a handle on this NOW, my form will improve faster!

      I’ll report back in later! 🙂
      Yours in Health,
      Sarah

      June 15, 2009 at 11:48 am

  2. JMJ

    Lookin good Sarah! I’m diggin that tether thing. Where did you get that? Never even heard of that. Very cool.

    June 15, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    • Hey Jason!
      Thank you!
      I got the tether thingy for $25 at Leslie’s Pool Supplies! I’m going to rig a belt and use it hooked around my waist as well!
      Swimming rocks!

      Yours in Health,
      Sarah

      June 16, 2009 at 7:19 pm

Leave a Reply

