Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-A Week’s Worth of Training!-


Wow!  What a week!

Monday = Kettlebells

Tuesday = Pullups/Pushups/Core Birthday Workout:

  1. Warm-Up: Cossack stretch, Warrior sequence, Crescent pose, Triangle pose, Up/Down Dog + Tweaks
  2. Tri-Set I: Overhand USA Chins x3/Push-Ups w/Feet Elevated x10/Suspended Pike Hold 5 sec x5; did 2x thru
  3. Tri-Set II: Reverse-grip Chinx x5/T-Stab Push-Ups x10/Slo-Mo Bicycle Crunches x15 ea; did 2x thru
  4. Tri-Set III: Neutral-grip Recline Pull x10/Elevated Push-Up to 1-Arm Raise x10/Hanging Knee Raise x10; did 2x thru

Wednesday = Kettlebells – repeated Monday’s workout with a few modifications, then later messed around with EA Sports Active for the Wii!

BatonRougeLakes-2005-1Thursday = Running – did the “big” lake loop without additional route thru neighborhood (stayed on Stanford):

4.1 miles in 36:24

Started at 3:45PM…note to self, NO MORE running in the afternoon…will run outside ONLY in early mornings, because the heat is too much for me!

I knew this when I went running, but this was the day my friend called me to ask me to do the Austin Triathlon, and I was all gung-ho and excited…and I wanted to see what I could do.  My initial plan was to run for roughly 15 minutes and then turn around & come back.  I’m stubborn, though, so once I got to the opposite side of the lake, I told myself i’d just keep going…despite the fact that all i’d had to eat that day was Ezekiel bread toast with peanut butter for breakfast, along with some grapes that my client gave me, which I ate on the way to go running after training her.  She told me I was crazy to go running at that time of day, lol…the grapes really did help!  Thanks, Lisa!

Here I am talking about the triathlon plan after getting home from Thursday’s run…I look GREAT, huh?  You can tell i’m zonked…and it only got worse…after this, I showered and went over to hang out with some friends, and I was a complete zombie.  You know it’s bad when you’re told, “you look tired” and people ask you if you’re okay, lol!

Friday’s workout was supposed to be swimming, as I got a tether setup to use in my friends’ pool, but I opted to go test drive a new Jeep Wrangler Sahara instead.  Friday became a rest day, which worked out for the best!

I purchased a 14-week Olympic distance triathlon training plan from Triathlon Geek.  It looks like a very balanced and “real life” plan, so i’m excited to put it into action!

Saturday = Running – did the “small” lake loop, starting at the City Park tennis courts:

2.5 miles in 25:46

I experimented with some Pose Method running here and there as I ran.  Thanks to a reader, Amy, as well as an aspiring personal trainer & Twitter buddy, Anna, i’m really really intrigued and excited about this!  I am well aware that shoes interfere with the body’s natural abilities, and that cushy running shoes are not necessarily a good thing.

The Pose Method requires you to run as we are supposed to:

1. S-like body position with slightly bent knees
2. Forward lean from the ankles to employ gravity and work with it not against it
3. Pulling or lifting feet up under the hip not behind the buttocks
4. Ball of foot landing under your body (your GCM – general center of mass)

Almost immediately, when experimenting with this technique, I felt my calves and GLUTES working.  “Typical” running does NOTHING for the glutes, in my opinion…I mean, look at most runner’s butts…they are flat and many are flabby!  Sprinters are an entirely different animal, obviously!  Anyhow, it was AWESOME to feel my glutes working while I was running!  It makes perfect sense, from a functional perspective, and I am looking forward to gaining more expertise in this technique!

Later yesterday, I caved and finally messed around with some Guitar Hero on top of the BOSU dome, which was suggested to me by an awesome reader and Twitter buddy, Sue (ddrdiva)!  Here’s some Billy Idol for ya!  More to come on this, as it was trickier than I expected and my calves really started to fatigue!  I LOVE Guitar Hero, and i’m thinking it would be hilarious to get more “into it” & jam out while trying to maintain my balance!

Sunday = “Sarah-Style” Yoga/Kettlebell/Mobility work – 20 minutes: sun salutation, warrior sequence, high plank variations, sun god, cossack stretch, TGU singles, snatch to windmill, dowel orbits, dowel overhead squats, in-line & outside-elbow high plank lunge stretch, t-roll without rolling feet, marching bridges, dead bug.

I will also be experimenting with the swim tether this afternoon! 🙂  Two of my best friends have decided that Sundays are going to be “cook for the week” days, and we will be grilling chicken breasts & cooking other stuff for the week.  I am tickled pink to have such amazingly supportive friends in my life!  TEAM SARAH!  Anyhow, what’s really cool is that my training for the triathlon is going to help my friends get and stay on track with their own workouts and nutrition.  Trust me, even though I am doing this for myself, there is no way i’d be able to do it without the support of my friends, family, clients, and readers/online buddies!  You guys rock!  I am truly blessed!  Thank you for all y’all do! 🙂

4 responses

  1. Hey that’s great you put those dot points up. Keep remembering them, especially as you tire. I seem to have forgotten point 3 – my right foot is lazy and stays on the ground too long instead of lifting up under hips resulting in an unhappy achillies. It’s a pain to concentrate on so many things, but more of a pain if you don’t!

    June 7, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    • I like how you put that – I think many things are more of a “pain” if you don’t concentrate on them! 😀 That’s a good tenet for life itself!
      I’m about to go for a run…just a short 20-30 min one…i’m going to do some intervals and work on technique! yay! Excited!

      June 8, 2009 at 6:07 am

  2. DDRdiva

    Go Team Sarah!!! And thanks for the shout out! Did you know you’re at the top of the results when you google “Guitar Hero BOSU”? Congrats 🙂

    Thanks also for the POSE link. Very interesting reading. I’ve also found that I play DDR better on the balls of my feet. I wish someone had taught me how to run when I was little, then maybe I wouldn’t have been a PE class dud.

    June 7, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    • Hey Sue!
      Thank you and you’re welcome! 🙂
      That’s awesome, lol! I’m gonna start a series of vids, thanks to you…maybe we can form a “Guitar Hero BOSU’ers Union?!” haha!
      You were a PE class dud? I doubt that! I think my parents thought I was part-monkey! I was always climbing trees & running around & hyper! PE was my favorite! I have a picture of a certificate I received in 7th grade for the “President’s Fitness” thing or whatever…i’ll have to use that as a picture in a blog post. I’ll never forget how we had to run 2 miles as part of it, and so many of the girls in my PE class were dying and whining. I also remember we had to re-do the 2 mile run b/c someone acted up or did something…and that really upset most of the class. Not me! I was ready to go! lol 😀
      Have a great week!
      Sarah

      June 8, 2009 at 6:11 am

Leave a Reply

