Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Plane Rides HURT Pt. II!-


Okay…as promised, here are the remaining exercises in my “Plane Ride Rehab” Sequence!

3. SMR – Piriformis & T-Spine Extension

4. Scap Push-Up + Rotation

5. X-Body External Rotation

So…the “Plane Ride Rehab Sequence” is as follows:

  1. Up/Down Dog + Tweaks – try 5 reps thru, with 1-5 calf stretches (ea) per rep
  2. Wall 10:00/2:00 Pec Stretch – try 20 sec x 1-2 per side
  3. SMR Piriformis – sit on “hot spot” until discomfort decreases, as needed
  4. Foam Roller T-Spine Extension – 2-3 positions x 3 reps ea
  5. Scap Push-Up + Rotation – try 10 reps total (5 ea side)
  6. X-Body External Rotation – try 10 reps ea side with a light-medium JC Travel Band
3 responses

  1. Good ones, Sarah!
    I really have to go out and buy a roller…been talking about it for months now. I’m sure it would be good for me, especially by hips and quads. (They always tighten up the day after muay thai…)

    Once again, terrific vids!

    Thanks!
    -Fred

    May 28, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    • Hey Fred!
      Thank you!
      Yeah, foam rollers are great. There are mixed opinions in the fitness community as to their effectiveness…but the majority opinion is that they are beneficial. I personally don’t feel I need scientific research to prove that something is worth using. For me, if I use it and it works, then it works. Most of my clients love the foam roller! That reminds me, I need a massage…I should call and make an appointment! I gotta get em regularly…need to get back on schedule with that!

      Have a great weekend!
      Sarah

      May 29, 2009 at 11:56 am

  2. Debbie

    Thanks Sarah!
    I drive to Vegas since it’s so close to LA but have manual transmission and no cruise control–which makes for a sore butt and legs! The pain is worth the great gas mileage I guess. I will definitely take my roller and bands with me the next time!

    Enjoy the weekend,
    Debbie

    May 29, 2009 at 3:17 pm

Leave a Reply

