Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Plane Rides HURT!-


Hey y’all!

As you already know, I was in Las Vegas this past weekend.  I know, I know…you’re tired of hearing about it.  I won’t talk about it anymore! 🙂  

Here’s how my travel went:  I flew from Baton Rouge to Houston, then took a connecting flight from H-town to Vegas.  Coming home was the opposite.  The BR-H-town flight was roughly 45 minutes, and the H-town-Vegas flight was like 2 1/2 hours.  That’s not a lot of sitting in one day, considering many people sit at a desk for 8+ hours, but…add to this the fact that seats on most airplanes are poorly designed, and you have an aching back!  Also add to this the fact that I do not feel good about laying my head back against the squishy pillow thing that the Continental 757’s had.  That just grosses me out.  Fortunately, on the way from Houston to Vegas, I sat next to a nice couple.  The lady let me set my bloody mary on it while I was working on my laptop! I made buddies on both flights on the way there, but on the way back to Baton Rouge this wasn’t the case…probably because I was exhausted (and still am, to some degree) & spacey!

To commemorate my travel pains, I decided to shoot a video of a sequence most people should have no problem doing.  I chose five (actually six) exercises to lengthen, de-activate, and “turn on” the muscles that most often may be taxed from sitting in a crappy airplane seat!

To order a foam roller, CLICK HERE (will open in new window).

To order JC Travel bands (i’m using a “light” one), CLICK HERE (will open in new window).

1.  Up/Down Dog + Tweaks

2.  10:00/2:00 Pec Stretch

(I just realized that on the above video, FITPROSARAH.COM is covering up my head!  Oh well…don’t feel like redoing it!)

Tomorrow I will feature the remaining exercises!

3 responses

  1. Pingback: -Plane Rides HURT Pt. II!- « “Outside the Box” Training

  2. chriskolba

    Great topic. Love the site and the philosophy. I have the same approach to my training and rehab of my clients/patients.
    Keep up the great work!
    Chris
    http://www.chriskolba.wordpress.com

    May 30, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    • Hey Chris!
      Thank you and back at ya! 🙂
      Your blog rocks, and you know your stuff! I may have to pick your brain from time to time!
      Great minds think alike!
      Have a great day!
      Sarah

      May 31, 2009 at 7:52 am

Leave a Reply

