Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Gotta Rope?-


I’m going through my laptop and realizing I have a plethora of video clips I have yet to do anything with!

Typical me…I gather tons and tons of information, and it overwhelms me b/c I don’t have time to get to it!

Here’s a nifty little compilation of exercises you can do with a 1 1/2-inch thick manila rope.  I have two 30-foot ropes and a 50-foot rope.  The 50-footer is a beast!  You’ve seen some of what I do with them.  Here I am, farting around with exercises as I normally do when the mood strikes me, which is pretty much all the time! 🙂

Using a rope to perform various exercises ROCKS if you’re wanting to improve your grip strength!

Oh, and don’t order a rope from AOS or Perform Better.  Yes, i’m an affiliate for both, but you can get ’em WAY cheaper via eBay.  I paid $1.25/ft for mine!!!!!  $150 for a rope is RIDICULOUS!  Just doing my part to help keep peeps happy during this recession, lol!

11 responses

  1. Hee! Give Sarah enough rope and she’ll … do pullups! Love it! How did you suspend those puppies?

    May 21, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    • Hehehehe!!!!!!!
      I’m resourceful!
      The townhouse I’m in is open…above the living area is alllll the way to the 2nd floor ceiling. Loft bedroom upstairs and this railing madness from which I hang suspension systems and ropes…that sounds rather “weird”!!!! LOL!

      May 21, 2009 at 8:01 pm

  2. Hey Sarah…didn’t anyone ever tell you that doing pull-ups HOLDING ROPES is EXTREMELY difficult?

    Apparently not, from the looks of things….

    Great grip strength! Very impressive!

    -Fred

    May 21, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    • Thanks, Fred!
      I only did a few reps to demo!
      It was fun tho! Reminded me of PE class in Jr. High…I was always the top performer…I need a house NOW so I can tie a rope to a tall tree and go to town…clients too…
      the 2 rope pull-up is waaaay harder than the 1 rope type…you can see in the vid that i’m trying to control the swing…it was awesome!
      Yours in Health,
      Sarah

      May 21, 2009 at 10:33 pm

  3. Do you have a place where you can do rope waves or do you use the rope suspended only? Just curious…

    May 22, 2009 at 8:21 am

    • Hey Leslie!
      You know I do the waves, sista!
      I anchor it around a tree or a pole, most of the time. Have threaded it thru a few heavy kbs before, but don’t like that as much!

      May 22, 2009 at 10:56 am

  4. Michelle

    Where did you find them on ebay? What should I search for? I tried rope under fitness, sporting goods, etc. Couldn’t find any. I have been buying them for my outdoor bootcamp in San Diego through AOS and YES they are EXPENSIVE!!!!! Love your blog!

    May 22, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    • Michelle

      Hi Sarah, I finally found the rope. Do they have the finished edges like the ones from AOS? Who have your ordered from?

      May 22, 2009 at 2:37 pm

      • Hey Michelle!
        Thanks for stopping by!
        I believe the seller’s eBay name is “rushazzled”! They don’t have finished edges but I just use black duct tape. Screw the pricetag on the AOS ropes! It’s highway robbery!
        I have family in San Diego! Never visited, though…my uncle actually has a small winery! We Rippels love our wine! 🙂

        Yours in Health,
        Sarah

        May 22, 2009 at 5:08 pm

  5. Love rope training! Great tool!

    Thanks for the great video, some new ideas on there for me!

    TOM

    June 1, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    • Hey, Tom!
      Thank you!
      PS i’m gonna link your site to mine! 🙂 Have been meaning to add a few awesome pro’s!
      Yours in Health,
      Sarah

      June 1, 2009 at 3:13 pm

Leave a Reply

