Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Gettin’ Creative with In-Home Workouts!-


 

I love monkey training!

I love monkey training!

 Hey y’all!

 

Well, it’s almost Vegas time!  My brain must already be on vacation!  I realized, when I woke up at 6:24AM this morning, that I had set the alarm on my iPhone last night for 5:45PM…NOT AM!  I jumped out of bed, got a hold of my 6:30 client, and made it to the lakes to train her at 6:45!  She just started back this week, and we are doing half-hour sessions.  She was warmed-up and ready to go!  Thanks, Ashley, for being flexible!  I ran the lakes with another one of my rockstars at 7:15.  Four miles in 44:36 (walked for the first 5 min) wasn’t too shabby, huh Lisa?  I hadn’t run the lakes since August, and she never runs outside!  

Anyhow, another major upcoming Vegas vacation-induced blonde moment was made evident when I checked my emails after getting in my car.  I completely stood-up one of my newfangled rockstars, Kay, who I was supposed to have at 7:30!!!  OMG!  I have a few clients out of town, and she didn’t train Tuesday, so I brain-farted and lumped her in the “out of town” group.  Fortunately, she’s in love with working out now, and worked out anyway!  Oh, and she didn’t fire me! 🙂

Trainer NationAs most of y’all already know, I am not a “big box” gym trainer.  I am my own entity!  My clients don’t come to me, I go to them (most of the time)!  I help make working out more convenient for them, and it works!  Back in February, I became “published” – I wrote an article for Trainer Nation.  My article, “The In-Home Trainer’s Toolbox,” focused on “thinking outside the box” (there I go again) when working with clients period, but more specifically, in-home clients.

What I LOVE about working with clients in their homes & outdoors, is the fact that I must get creative and incorporate their surroundings into their workouts!  It’s funny, because i’m often asked “what can you do at home without any machines?”  I try not to laugh when people ask me that!  My response is typically something like “all those machines did for me was take up room in the gym…but they did make good anchors for my JC bands!”  

 

Kidding, I really don’t say that, but i’m thinking it!  What I usually say is “you can get a great workout with just your bodyweight.  You don’t need a ton of room, you don’t need fancy-schmancy machines, and you don’t need a gym to get it done!”

 

A few weeks ago, I concocted a fun little warm-up sequence for Kay, my rockstar mentioned above.  She’s awesome about working out prior to my arrival (she does half hour sessions), so I was asking her what she’d been doing.  It sounded like a snooze-fest to me, and I definitely don’t want her getting bored, so we agreed she needed more “spice” in her warm-up life!  Also, I wanted to get her moving more.  What I did was basically take the stretches/drills she already was doing and threw in some “bursts.”  She has a 2-story house, and the living area where she works out has a few steps leading down to it.

 

Here’s how it goes:

  1. Stretch calves on step – 20 sec ea x 1-2
  2. Stickups against wall x 10
  3. Elliptical 5 min
  4. Standing Quad stretch – 20 sec ea x 1-2
  5. Modified Cossack stretch with hands on stool (shift to side, hold 2 sec, shift to other side, etc) x 5ea
  6. Dowel Orbits x 10ea
  7. Miniband Lateral Walk down hall to stairs
  8. Single-leg hamstring stretch (old-school reach to foot with heel up on step) – 20 sec ea x 1-2
  9. Up & down stair hustle x 2
  10. Miniband Lateral Walk – other way back to living room
  11. 1/2 Kneeling Dowel 3D Hip stretch – x 5ea (3 planes)

Update!

I just talked to Kay, and here’s what she said in regards to the warm-up!:

“It IS working. I have changed up the ankle bands so as not to have to put them on then take them off then put them back on with the stair sequence. That took extra time…so I do the bands in the den then I added the peel aways then I jog on in to the stairs and up and into the bedroom and down and back up and down and jog back in to the den. I am good and warmed up.”

See?  ROCKSTAR!  I’m so lucky to have so many amazingly hard-working POSITIVE clients!  LOVE IT! 😀

3 responses

  1. Hey Sarah! Have fun in Vegas, and for goodness sake, don’t have any brain farts while you’re there! That could spell trouble! “What happens in Vegas”…right?

    May 21, 2009 at 9:35 am

    • Hey Josie!

      I surely will…have fun, that is! 🙂 You are very right…a brain fart in Vegas could lead to many bad things…good bad or bad bad, depending on how you look at it! lol! Anyhow, thanks for stoppin’ by!

      Yours in Health,
      Sarah

      May 21, 2009 at 9:53 am

  2. Pingback: -33 Years Young!- « “Outside the Box” Training

Leave a Reply

