Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Watch Sarah Work Out! Monday May 11-


Yes, I realize i’m behind in getting this posted, but this has been a crazy week!

Yet again, I decided to video most of my own workout this past Monday!

I’m gung-ho about Tabatas these days (who isn’t?), and I love my Gymboss, so i’ve been throwing together workouts utilizing this format.  I don’t have to count reps and can just focus on what i’m doing!  For some exercises, 20 seconds isn’t enough time, and obviously you’re not going to do Tabatas with exercises such as heavy squats, etc.  The exercises I chose worked perfectly for me, because right now i’m super-weak on pull-ups, with a max of like 5 or so… 🙂

Check it:

Watch me fatigue!

I wrapped things up with some core work utilizing the BOSU, since I tend to neglect that piece of equipment.  I did a few plank and side plank variations…also caught this on video, so may post it later!

10 responses

  1. Hey Sarah I did the warm up in your MTM for the first time today and after that my achillies said it was OK to run today 🙂

    May 16, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    • Anna!

      That rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      The 3D Calf work really helps! It’s kinda like you’re “encouraging” mobility of the ankle, versus forcing it to stretch.
      Thanks for letting me know! I have enjoyed using that sequence with my clients, so i’m happy to hear more of you are benefitting from it!
      Yours in Health,
      Sarah

      May 17, 2009 at 6:38 am

      • It’s not just the 3D calf work, but I found the dowel movements great to get some blood moving throughout the body and I don’t know how that works, but I think that also affected my achillies’ response. It’s much better to run or workout when your whole body is awake rather than straight after you drag yourself out of bed (like today, ugh).

        I am seriously hanging out for the career change so my exercise time is not 5:30am!!!

        May 17, 2009 at 3:27 pm

        • Hey Anna!
          It makes perfect sense to see a response in the Achilles’ from dowel hip mobility work. Each time you shift forward to stretch the hip flexors, that “rocking” mobilizes the ankle in the sagittal plane! So, it’s like a win-win! 🙂
          A while back, I referenced an article by Mike Boyle, in which said the body was basically a “stack of joints,” with an alternating stability/mobility need. That’s confusing, so in other words, if you start at the ankles:
          ankles need mobility
          knees need stability
          hips need mobility
          lumbar needs stability
          t-spine needs mobility
          cervical spine needs stability

          If you get those ankles mobilized, it can work wonders for the “stuff” stacked on top of it! 🙂 Tight ankles and tight hips are like a double negative. Thank goodness you were FiveFingers! BTW…I STILL haven’t ordered some! ARGH! That needs to go on my to-do list when i’m working on my dry erase board(s) this week!

          Yours in Health,
          Sarah

          May 17, 2009 at 3:50 pm

          • Hey this weekend I had a close look at the Nike Sister One shoes. They look very good – fairly light, flat, and come in cool colours. I think they’d be good for working out without looking so freaky, and would also make good everyday shoes.

            May 17, 2009 at 4:59 pm

            • I will have to check em out! I have a pair of Mizuno Wave Creation 10’s on their way right now…on backorder from Eastbay, but I still want “barefoot” shoes… 🙂

              May 17, 2009 at 8:39 pm

  2. Great workout!

    May 17, 2009 at 9:08 am

    • Laura,
      Muchas gracias! I was dying on the pullups, obviously…I don’t know if it’s obvious, but on the push-ups, I was shaking! I ain’t too proud to post my vids…one day I can look back and see how weak I was…lol…I need a trainer of my own! hehehehehe
      Cheers!
      Sarah

      May 17, 2009 at 11:25 am

  3. Two more terrific vids, Sarah!
    Looking strong on those pull-ups…
    Thanks!
    -Fred

    May 17, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    • Thanks, Fred!
      I’m a weenie on em! First set felt good but I was DEAD come round 2! More to come!
      Yours in Health,
      Sarah

      May 18, 2009 at 7:49 am

Leave a Reply

