Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Watch Sarah Work Out!-


Just when you’d thought you’d seen it all…i’m going to be sharing more of my own workouts with you!

Yeah…that means lots of sweating and proof that I can “hang” with the best of ’em! 🙂

As y’all already know, i’m not a fan of “big box” gyms.  I don’t work out in a gym anymore…I haven’t worked out in a gym in over a year!  I do my workouts at home or outside.  Sharing my own workouts with you will prove, yet again, that you can get KILLER workouts without setting foot in a gym ever again!  In fact, I venture to say that you can get a better workout outside of the gym than under it’s roof.  Anyone wanting to dispute this with me can leave their comments below! 😉

Normally, I explain exercises and demonstrate them.  I figured i’d throw in a few “fun” videos here and there with actual workout footage.  For this first “feature,” you get a ton of video…my entire workout, to be exact!  Even better, i’m getting back into the swing of things after a bit of a layoff, so you really get to see me grin and bear it!  I put this entire workout together without getting ideas from anyone…who knows, i’m sure there are similar exercises done in a similar fashion…it really wasn’t rocket science, but…I felt good about it!

What can I say, I love the camera!

Here’s how I warmed-up yesterday:

After warming up, I went through my first Tabata sequence:

The “tweeting” you’re hearing in the background is TweetDeck…if you haven’t yet discovered this little gem, I highly suggest you do so!

Tabata II was even more of a butt-kicker.  My theory behind it was to make the snatches feel effortless, and well, they did…they already were effortless, but I haven’t been doin’ em with my 12 kilo lately…gonna get back to that asap!  Anyhow, by starting out with a heavy swing, moving on to hi pulls, and then snatches, you should feel this:

Tabata III was a bit more forgiving:

and to bring it down a notch, Tabata IV:

Hope you guys enjoyed it!

Tomorrow i’ll be posting about today’s workout, which was a rather short one…until then…

TRAIN SMARTER!

ORDER MY MTM. 1.0 EBOOK TODAY!  Will be posting lots of awesome feedback on it soon!

CLICK HERE TO ACCESS THE MAIN PAGE!

8 responses

  1. Debbie

    Thanks Sarah, I love any kettlebell related videos. I bought a Gymboss a few months ago and this encourages me to use it more. Great job!

    May 5, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    • Awesome, Debbie!
      Here’s the thing…I personally feel i’m pretty good at not wasting time in between exercises…just catch my breath and rest as little as possible…that SHOULD work but in the real world, it doesn’t seem to pan out as well…i’ll check my text messages, etc…lol…so, with the Gymboss, I set it and I know I gotta keep going until it’s done…a very good tool for someone with ADD! 😀
      If you got thru this workout, let me know how bad it gets you!
      S

      May 5, 2009 at 3:43 pm

  2. Thanks for the videos, Sarah! The TGU is one of those exercises I have trouble doing right…your video makes it clear how to do them…VERY helpful!

    Also, very impressive tabata work! (loved your comment: “I sweat like a pig when I workout…” made me laugh! ) Hey, if you’re not sweating, you’re not putting enough into it…
    Thanks again!
    -Fred

    May 5, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    • Hey Fred!
      Thanks for stoppin’ by to leave your thoughts! I really do appreciate them!
      The TGU used to baffle me…but the beauty of the movement lies in the ability to break it down, step by step, and keep things “clean”. I love having clients with hip mobility issues go through this drill…why? I can tell them, as they perform it, what to do…I can see what we need to work on, and they can correct it as we’re going thru it. It’s a marvelous exercise! I used to think it was goofy! 🙂 I perform the TGU most often with a leg raise like Anthony DiLuglio does…vs a bridge up (with heel on floor) then leg thru. I like this better. I also sometimes do it with the squat variation, vs leg thru. Ah…I love it!
      I will continue to provide my own workout clips…because I feel they are funny and helpful…I am only human, after all! I DO sweat like a pig! Very often, I had people ask me “are you alright” back when I worked out at gyms…LOL! Funny stuff! I get red-faced fast and sweat profusely…I guess my system is working efficiently?

      Yours in Health,
      Sarah

      May 5, 2009 at 10:30 pm

  3. Kristen

    Hi Sarah,

    This was a great workout. I love changing things up so I thought it would be fun to try this today. I did the TGU warmup (killer!) and then three of the four tabatas because I didn’t write one of them down. The workout kicked my butt big time and that was with some modifications to suit my fitness level. My favorite tabata was definitely the second one. I also liked the plank tabata because it was a nice change from just doing the regular plank.

    To add to the fun after I did the tabata workout, I did another one of your kettlebell workouts to go along and I was toast at the end.

    Thanks for sharing these workouts!

    Kristen

    May 13, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    • Hey Kristen!

      Thanks for letting me know how the workout went for you! You were a brave soul! 😀 I was DEAD after this workout and SORE the next day…the DOMS hit me 2 days afterward! lol
      …and you added ANOTHER one of my kb workouts at the end? You’re a machine! Awesome! Which one did you throw in? I love it! I need to encourage my peeps to “test out” the workouts I put myself through, and modify them as needed, as you did! We’ll see if there are more of ’em that can hang!
      You just reminded me that I have footage from Monday’s workout that I have yet to upload to YouTube! So many projects, so little time! lol I’ll get around to it though! I did a lot of suspension training, so it’s some different stuff!

      Thanks again for taking the time to leave your comment, and also for trusting me enough to give my workout a shot!
      More soon!

      Yours in Health,
      Sarah

      May 13, 2009 at 7:49 pm

      • Kristen

        Hey Sarah,

        Your other kb workout that I added was 5 x 10 snatches, 1 arm swings and burpees because I love snatches! I couldn’t hang with the burpees so I switched them to mountain climbers.

        I did your tabata series again today 🙂 because it was so much fun last time and added another tabata set I made up. You’re giving me some great ideas for workouts. Thanks for all the inspiration.

        Kristen

        May 15, 2009 at 2:21 pm

        • Hi Kristen!

          Sweet! You worked out for me today! 🙂 Thank you! lol Where did my day go? I blew too much money on clothes! Argh. I will be working out in the pool in a little bit while hanging with friends, I guess…flipping off the board and raft racing!

          I’ll keep the workout ideas comin’!
          Have a great weekend!
          Sarah

          May 15, 2009 at 3:27 pm

Leave a Reply

