Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-TGU’s, Snatches, Swings, and BOSU Burpees!-


I have been getting back into the swing of things with my own workout routine this week!  The flu set me back a bit, but I was determined to get back at it this week!  Been feeling like a weakling, lol! 🙂

Monday’s workout was great!

Today I decided to modify it a bit. 

For my warm-up, I did TGU singles, 5 per side, with my 8kilo.  This took roughly 4 minutes, so I threw in some Cossack stretches afterwards, and then was ready to go!

Did I mention that I LOVE TGU’s? 🙂

I went through five rounds of:

  1. 10 Snatches
  2. 10 1-Arm Swings
  3. 10 BOSU Burpees (hold the edges of the flat side and perform a modified Burpee, placing the dome on the ground, sprawling out, hopping back in, and pulling the BOSU up to you as you stand up)

Awesome workout!  I rested as little as possible and the entire thing took me 24 minutes…that’s with a few small breaks to answer a text message or two, lol!

Here are some vids!

TGU: As i’ve said before, the TGU is an EXCELLENT warm-up movement.  Why?  It works the body in all three planes, and it is awesome for both hip and shoulder mobility.  Most people aren’t capable of performing a full-fledged TGU with good form just starting out, so there are tons of drills and exercises that can be utilized to work up to the “real deal!”  Great stuff!

Cossack Stretch: This is an awesome stretch for the adductors!  It will improve your hip mobility, so most of you could benefit from it!  In this vid, I demonstrate several levels of progression.

KB Snatch: Snatches are one of my favorite kettlebell drills.  They just feel good to me!  The Snatch is one of those exercises that can be tricky to “get,” but once you get it, it becomes a lot of fun!  Making the movement fluid and keeping your entire body tense are keys to mastering the Snatch!  I shot this vid back in December, and I have newer ones, but this one will do for now!  I figured Biskit’s fans would like to see him! 🙂

1-Arm Swing: You guys really are getting some good content today! 🙂 I just uploaded this vid to YouTube.  In it, I demonstrate both the 1-Arm Swing and the Clean & Press.  I have combined these two drills into a mini-complex.

Burpees: Just a flat-out butt-kicker!  I don’t have a vid (yet) of how they are done with a BOSU, but I will work on that!  If you’re unfamiliar with Burpees, you’ll get the idea from this vid!

Hope y’all got a kick out of this post!  Now go hit it hard! 🙂

9 responses

  1. Paul

    You already hit the Magic 50 up again! I like your high speed, we are doing it again on Friday. My time was around 10:30-11:00 so we will see how I do this week (it did a good job of blasting my traps). I like this format you did for the post, give us a workout and then have video examples for each.

    April 29, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    • I LOVE THE MAGIC 50! I am all about keeping things simple this week, and it works!
      Thanks for the ideas, Paul, and the input about the post!
      I may just keep doing the same kinda thing for future posts. Not gonna lay out massive workouts, but provide mini-workouts or supersets/complexes and either add the pics or do video explanations. I like keeping my explanations/demos short and to the point. I feel there is a lot I can convey via talking, because it’s like second nature to me…I just pretend i’m instructing a client!

      April 29, 2009 at 5:13 pm

      • Paul

        I must say I enjoy the videos more when you demo and talk as I can get a better understanding of what should be going on.

        April 29, 2009 at 5:44 pm

        • Cool!
          Good, because I got over my brief worry that I sounded too “hickish”…i’m a proud Texan and I have a twang and i’m proud of it…so I decided to let it all hang out!

          April 29, 2009 at 8:23 pm

  2. Anna

    Sarah, I can’t wait to try this workout. Do you have any tips on how not to bash up my forearm on cleans? Your site and Youtube videos inspired me to buy my first KB a few days ago, and I’m teaching myself the lifts with your videos and my mirror.
    Thanks so much!

    April 30, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    • Hey Anna!
      Awesome! I’m flattered! 🙂 Yay!
      Okay, cleans can be one of the funkiest KB drills to “get,” but once you get ’em, you’re in like Flynn!
      Keep your elbow in close to your body and pretend your zipping up a coat with your thumb. The KB should roll across your forearm. Actually, if the KB is too light, you may have issues with bashing! What size are you using? I started out with an 8kilo and (depending on the type of workout), do my snatches, cleans, and C&P’s with it and my 12kilo. I like high-rep snatches with my 8kilo right now b/c I took a bit of a break from KB training, and the 8kilo just feels good for my shoulders at the moment.
      Another way to work on cleans is to face a wall…think about the “zipper” technique, and obviously you don’t want to smash a hole in the wall…you’re not standing right up against it, but use your best judgment at first. This will make you use your hips!
      Keep in mind that the hips drive most KB lifts!
      Spoken like a true RKC? lol…because i’m not… 🙂 I’m just me! I may get a cert one of these days…we shall see…i’m thinking i’m doing pretty well on my own…and I wanna buy a new Jeep and am wanting a house too…so, the cert may have to wait a while…lol!
      Thanks for your input and bein’ a part of my “community” here!
      Sarah

      April 30, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    • Anna-

      Also, start off with Sumo Deadlifts and some of the other less-ballistic lifts…of course, ya gotta do 2-arm Swings, but get a strong base with the “strength” moves and work into the cleans and snatches as you get a feel for them. Hi Pulls before Snatches! 🙂

      Yours in Health,
      Sarah

      April 30, 2009 at 10:04 pm

  3. Anna

    Wow, thanks for your fast response! I’m using 8 kilos. I thought that would be a good weight to start with – fully knowing that I soon want the 12 kg too. 😉 I’ll keep all of that in mind, and I’ll have to wait a few days because the forearms are feeling kinda beat up still. 🙂
    Thanks again!

    April 30, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    • Hey Anna!
      No problemo!
      You might get a pair of sweatbands…you know, the ones for your wrists. Wear em while you’re doing the cleans! That way you’ve got some “padding”, which may help eliminate the dread of bashing your forearms as you learn to become more fluid with the movement! One of my client actually uses little boy’s football forearm shields, but I think wrist sweatbands work just as well without the bulk. You will use the 8kilo a lot!
      TGIF!
      Sarah

      May 1, 2009 at 6:57 am

Leave a Reply

