Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Boot Camp KILLIN IT!-


Workin' out while it rained!

Workin' out while it rained!

Yesterday’s workout was AMAZING!

These ladies are killin’ it!

First off, it was raining the entire time.  I anticipated a few bootcampers would be absent b/c they have been sick.  There were six ladies kickin’ butt last night!

The workout worked out perfectly, despite the conditions!

We set up underneath the gazebo at the LSU lakes.  I had planned for rain, and the workout went smoother than I had anticipated!  I didn’t know if there would be other people hanging out underneath the gazebo because of the rain, but we lucked out.  We had it all to ourselves, for the most part!  Towards the end of the workout, some ladies sat down at one of the picnic tables and ate crawfish! Not the best smell while you’re working out, but oh well!  LOL! 🙂

Pickin' on Laura Beth..."face THIS way!" :)

Pickin' on Laura Beth..."face THIS way!" 🙂

We warmed up with a Tabata bodyweight sequence, then wasted no time falling right into an upper body strength circuit.  We used a work:rest ratio of 30 sec:15 sec.  I had planned on this initially, but decided it might flow better with a little longer rest interval.  Lo and behold, the ladies WANTED shorter rest intervals!  HECK YES!

I had the ladies partner up, and while one was performing an upper body exercise with the Superband, the other was doing step-ups.

Laura Beth, I promise i'm not tryin' to pick on you!  I just got so ticked! :)

Laura Beth, I promise i'm not tryin' to pick on you! I just got so ticked! 🙂

The circuit incorporated the 1/2 inch Superbands and various step-ups using the picnic table benches:

  1. Hi Pull
  2. Push Presses
  3. Hammer Curls
  4. Bent-Over Row

We went through three rounds of this circuit, which turned out to be a butt-kicker!  On round one, the ladies did alternating step-ups; on round two, the ladies did lateral step ups; on round three, the ladies did alternating step-ups.  They were step-upped out!

Trading places!

Trading places!

After a short break, we fell right into circuit numero dos, which focused on the lower body.  For this circuit, I had the ladies keep their partners; while one was using a 1-inch Superband, the other was using the Miniband to do various walks.  We kept the same 30:15 work to rest interval!

Suzanne power-marchin!

Suzanne power-marchin!

Here’s how it went down:

  1. Alternating Lunges/Miniband Forward & Backward Walk
  2. Lateral Lunge Left/Miniband Lateral Walk
  3. Lateral Lunge Right/Miniband Forward & Backward Walk
  4. Power March/Miniband Lateral Walk

We completed two rounds of this circuit and the ladies were FRIED!  Everyone was sweaty and happily fatigued!  It was great!

Visit http://www.BRLABootcamp.com for more information on Baton Rouge Adventure Boot Camp!

Demonstrating a hamstring stretch using the bands!

Demonstrating a hamstring stretch using the bands!

What a good feeling!  Done!

What a good feeling! Done!

4 responses

  1. Paul

    That ham stretch is amazing and if someone doesn’t have access to a band like myself you can use a belt or two. Any chance they will get a taste of the Magic 50 :-p?

    In a week or two I want to film either myself or my friend performing your level 3 workout but I have to get bands first.

    April 29, 2009 at 4:53 pm

    • Should I film myself doing the Magic 50? I thought about that today when I was almost done. Problem is, you can only upload up to 10 min of footage on YouTube…I guess I could split it up…I could show “round 1” and then “round 5”, so y’all would see how fatigued I get! 🙂

      Also, if you film yourself going through Level III, I sure as heck wanna put it up on here! Complete with your brutal modifications using the sledge! Heck yes!

      April 29, 2009 at 5:14 pm

      • Paul

        Alright, that sounds like a deal. I will go to sports authority as I have a gift certificate and look for some bands so we can do the workout.

        April 29, 2009 at 5:43 pm

        • AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
          Can’t wait to see it! 😀

          April 29, 2009 at 8:22 pm

Leave a Reply

