Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Boot Camp Butt-Kickin’ Week II!-


Working on squat form!

Working on squat form!

Week II for Boot Camp is underway!

Monday’s workout was tough.  Add to this the fact that most of the bootcampers had a case of the “Mondays,” and you’ve got a pretty challenging hour!

I have to commend each of the ladies who participated.  They stuck it out and no one complained about a thing!  Mondays are hard enough as it is!

Monday’s workout consisted of a five minute general warm-up of jogging and easy speed ladder.  After this, we went through the dynamic warm-up/yoga medley I concocted last Thursday.

Next on the hit list was a “classroom” circuit to focus on basic strength exercises.  We worked on squatting, lateral reaching lunges, pushups, and dips.  I want the ladies to feel comfortable performing the basic movements as well as progressions with each!

Teaching the push-up!

Teaching the push-up!

Working on dips!

Working on dips!

Demonstrating alternating waves

Demonstrating alternating waves

After working on the basic bodyweight exercises, we went through a metabolic circuit made up of rope alternating waves, burpees, miniband lateral walks, kb swings, jumping jacks, and rope in & out waves.  Two times through this butt-kicker and that was plenty!

Tammy & Lisa C. workin' the ropes!

Tammy & Lisa P. workin' the ropes!

Tori & Christina kickin' butt!

Tori & Christina kickin' butt!

Laura Beth & Suzanne swingin' the bells!

Laura Beth & Suzanne swingin' the bells!

If ya wanna swing, ya gotta hinge!

If ya wanna swing, ya gotta hinge!

Lisa C. jumps while Suzanne & Laura Beth show the ropes who's boss!

Lisa P. jumps while Suzanne & Laura Beth show the ropes who's boss!

Demonstrating marching bridges!

Demonstrating marching bridges!

To wrap things up, we went through some core work…planks with hip swivels and marching bridges.

Then it was time to stretch!

What a great feeling!

Rain or shine, we are working out this evening!  I am planning on it still raining at 6:00pm, so we will be working out underneath the gazebo!

On another note, “Outside the Box” has passed 15,000 hits!  I am already receiving great feedback on MTM 1.0!  More to come!

Building bridges!

Building bridges!

Stretching after another great workout!

Stretching after another great workout!

2 responses

  1. Hey Sarah, You guys look like you’re having fun. I never tried marching bridges. I guess we need to share some ideas, because I have a ton and I could always learn something new or a new way to deliver it. Holla at me when you get a chance. Take care,

    Shawn “Chev”
    HARDBODY OUTDOOR FITNESS
    http://hardbodyoutdoorfitness.com

    April 28, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    • Hey Shawn!

      I have a gazillion ideas and i’m not one of those types to hoard them and claim I have “secrets”, so we most definitely need to talk soon! 🙂 My main “issues” are dealing with larger groups (say, 20 or so). I get stressed out and worried I can’t do my best with a group that size, but I know it’s possible! I just don’t want to neglect anyone and I want to make sure each person knows exactly how to do things. Marching bridges are awesome because you hold that bridge position and then alternate that marching pattern, while trying to keep the hips level. The ladies seemed to love ’em! I’m gonna do another blog post tomorrow about tonite’s workout…it was an awesome one! It rained the entire time, so we worked out underneath the gazebo thingy and it was GREAT! I have a good little group of hard workers!

      Yours in Health,
      Sarah

      April 28, 2009 at 7:50 pm

Leave a Reply

