Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Ah…More Jillian!-


To humor those of you who weren’t lucky enough to see this week’s “Biggest Loser” episode, here’s a treat for you!

I’m thinking the dialog prior to shooting this clip went a little sumpin’ like this:
Producer A: “Hey Jillian, everyone’s talking about these newfangled kettlebells these days…ever heard of em?”
Jillian: “Yeah, they are a NEW exercise tool and supposed to be the latest trend.”
Producer B: “We’d better jump on that now!”
Producer A: “Here’s a 10 pounder…gosh this little sucker is heavy, hahaha…swing it around a few times and talk about how it’s great for fat loss.”
Jillian: “How much am I getting paid for this?”
Producer B: “An extra $100k.”
Jillian: “Roll the camera!” 

I was doing my best not to laugh while filming! 😀

16 responses

  1. sbnboozer

    Was that you laughing in the background or the producers? 😉

    April 10, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    • Hehehehehehehehehehe!!!!!!!
      I’m wondering what kinda emails NBC has gotten regarding this segment…you KNOW the “at the top” RKC guys are lettin’ em have it! PS – did you see I linked to your humor blog?

      ANNOUNCEMENT: EVERYONE AND THEIR DOG SHOULD TAKE A LOOK AT WAYNE’S BLOG, “LIFE’S LITTLE LESSONS!” http://blogs.delphiforums.com/n/blogs/blog.aspx?webtag=aintkarmacool&nav=main

      April 10, 2009 at 12:22 pm

  2. Paul

    The sniffling and laughing in the background are priceless. I think she is attempting to create a new spin on the kettlebell snatch.

    April 10, 2009 at 12:51 pm

  3. Lauren

    Hey great post! Just letting you know I let Leigh know over at FLzine about the clip and they posted it on their zine!

    http://www.flzine.com/they-said-what-jillian-michaels-cant-kettlebell/

    April 10, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    • Awesome!
      Thanks, Lauren!
      That rocks! 😀
      Yay! I’m glad I helped!

      April 10, 2009 at 1:00 pm

  4. hmmm, sounds like you feel the same way as we do in the Spinning world!
    http://funhogspins.blogspot.com/2008/11/open-letter-to-jillian-michaels-of.html

    …and then some hate mail I got as a result of that post!
    http://funhogspins.blogspot.com/2008/12/hate-mail-from-fan-of-jillian-michaels.html

    And to think – the public ADORES her and follows everything she says and does! We fitness professionals are constantly trying to clean up her/their mess, eh?!

    April 10, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    • Hey Jennifer!

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving your thoughts! I took a look at your post, letter, and the hate mail, and left my thoughts! I remember that specific episode you wrote about! I am not a Spinning instructor (I did get certified in Power Pacing 12 years ago, though…just never taught!), but the stuff she seems to cook up while her victims are riding the bikes is atrocious! I remember one episode where they were doing overhead barbell presses while riding? Why? I don’t get it! And with horrible form and in obviously fatigued states. I have tried to like the show b/c I feel it inspires people to get off their butts, but the stuff they do in the gym scares me!

      You have a good thing going and know your stuff! Keep it up!
      Sarah

      PS – I love what you wrote in the post that links to your letter…regarding blog posts and controversy…since yesterday, when I initially posted about Jillian’s horrible kettlebell antics, i’ve gotten a gazillion hits and found there are a ton of us out there who feel the same! 🙂 So, maybe there IS hope that we can spread the TRUTH and eliminate this kinda junk!

      April 10, 2009 at 1:49 pm

  5. Pingback: -Don’t Watch Bob, Either!- « “Outside the Box” Training

  6. DDRdiva

    Try tellin’ it like it is about Tracy Anderson, if you want to see your hits go off the charts! (but brace yourself for the wrath of her disciples) Between the Today show and BL, NBC is not shaping up to be the place for sound exercise info.

    BTW thanks for trying to check out the kettlebell DVD. I preordered it so I’m really hoping it’s good, or at least not bad. Maybe there will be a clip on YouTube soon.

    April 10, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    • OOOOOH! Good idea! She chaps my hide, too! I’ll do that.

      What people need to understand is that just because a trainer is a “celebrity trainer,” it doesn’t mean they are a GOOD trainer. I can honestly say that if I had the opportunity to train one celebrity, i’d probably be able to work 5-10 hours a week and not have to train any more clients. I think that would be really boring, lol, but aside from this, working with a celebrity is a different ballgame. Celebrities have more money than God, and they have deadlines…and at many times, they will do whatever they can to get in shape/lose weight fast, etc. THIS ISN’T NORMAL!

      The trainer working with “general population” clients has their work cut out for them. The average person doesn’t have access to a personal chef, masseuse, assistant, reflexologist, and doesn’t get regular colon cleansings! LOL! Seriously, though, the average client is a lot more challenging to train than a celebrity…i’ll put money on that. Yes, of course, celebrities can be b*tches and demanding, but i’ve had a few “average” clients in the past who fall into that category.

      If I trained just one celebrity, i’d be famous. From ONE celebrity client. Why? If I “wowed” them just enough, they’d talk to their friends/other celebs, and i’d gain more attention. I could be the world’s crappiest trainer, but i’d be the “it girl” because I was toning up Beyonce’s butt! It’s being in the right place at the right time. Unfortunately, I currently reside in Louisiana, lol…but I really don’t wanna train celebs…i’m perfectly happy doing what i’m doin’!

      I still wanna see the KB vid clip…it just wouldn’t open all the way 😦

      April 10, 2009 at 2:42 pm

      • Paul

        Tracy Anderson, is she the one that says women should not lift weights over 3 or 5lbs? Sarah, what is your take on that?

        April 10, 2009 at 5:09 pm

        • Yep yep…you will be soon reading my take on Tracy Anderson…i’ve definitely gotta speak my mind on that topic! I could go into it right here, but i’m gonna devote an entire post to her! I’d do it right now, but i’m off to a crawfish boil! 😀

          April 11, 2009 at 10:16 am

  7. Sarah-

    Saw your vid….awesome blog post. I blogged about it here:
    http://snipurl.com/jillianfails

    Do you have that clip of her doing kettlebells wrong on YouTube? If so can I use it on my blog?

    Thanks!
    Crank it!
    B-Rad

    April 10, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    • Hey Brad!
      I LOVED your post!!!!!!!!! I also dig your slant on things, and the “rant” factor. I tend to get on my soapbox a lot myself! 😀
      Heck yes, you can use the vid clip! It’s on my YouTube channel – fitprosarah
      Keep doin’ your thang!
      Sarah

      April 11, 2009 at 10:15 am

  8. *forehead on keyboard*

    She’s terrible.

    April 11, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    • Teehee! 😀

      April 12, 2009 at 3:23 pm

Leave a Reply

