Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Tips For the Dumbbell Deadlift!-


 

I used to read this crap!  The cover guy is the glorious Craig Titus...who is now in prison with his former fitness competitor wife, Kelly Ryan!  Haha...I competed in the Ms. Galaxy competitions.  The muscle world is soooo weird!

I used to read this crap! The cover guy is the glorious Craig Titus...who is now in prison with his former fitness competitor wife, Kelly Ryan! Haha...I competed in the Ms. Galaxy competitions. The muscle world is soooo weird!

Back in the day, I typically performed Stiff-Legged Deadlifts.  You know, the exercise where all you basically do is stick out your butt as you lower your torso towards the floor.  It’s always been one of those exercises that appealed more to women because it emphasizes the hams and butt.  Back in the 90’s, this exercise could be found in virtually any muscle magazine, and typically a bleach-blonde chick wearing a thong leotard was demonstrating it (in full makeup, nonetheless)!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I don’t do Stiff-Legged Deadlifts these days.  I’m more of a fan of RDL’s (Romanian Deadlifts) of all varieties.  Both SLDL’s and RDL’s emphasize “hinging” of the hips, however, the RDL incorporates a little knee bend.  There is actually more demand placed on the glutes when the knees are slightly bent!

42-15139248

This little guy looks like he's all business!

 

 

A while back, one of my loyal readers requested I shoot a video for deadlifts!  So Paul, this one’s for you!  Here’s Yours Truly sharing a few helpful tips for the DB RDL!

I don’t have access to Olympic weights, therefore I use DB’s and KB’s for my deadlifts.  I also perform deadlift movements with Superbands.

Also, thanks to you guys, “Outside the Box” passed 10,000 hits yesterday! 😀

4 responses

  1. DDRdiva

    Would it help, perhaps, to have a band around my shins, pulling them back?

    April 6, 2009 at 10:03 am

    • That’s not a bad idea if it forces you to sit back on your heels! I actually might shoot a vid here in an hour or so that gives more tips, but moreso for learning “hinging” for kettlebell swings. It can apply to deadlifts, though. There’s a progression that I like that goes: Wall Squat, Box Squat with partner keeping shins fixed, Box Squat w/o box and no partner, KB Towel Swings, KB Swings. Okay, I think i’m gonna do that! I’ll also shoot a vid that demonstrates a Superband deadlift/hinge. I believe John Izzo featured something similar last week. I shot a video of this months ago, but it’s not with me talking, and I have yet to upload it…i’ll talk this time! I think the talking is helpful, and I feel like i’m explaining things to a client, so it’s easy for me!

      Thanks for makin’ me do more work, Sue! LOL! Just kidding! I was gonna shoot more vids anyway, so there ya go! 😉 And my hair doesn’t look bad today, either, so it’s a win-win!

      April 6, 2009 at 10:10 am

  2. Paul

    Sarah, you are quite awesome and I appreciate you doing this. Definitely picked up some good pointers in the video, especially about keeping the lower leg locked. Thanks again!

    April 6, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    • Thanks, Paul! I’m happy you got something from it! I hadn’t forgotten about you! 🙂

      April 6, 2009 at 12:52 pm

Leave a Reply

