Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Sarah’s Reaching Squat Matrix!-


Last month, I featured a post called “Four Great Hip Mobility Drills.” <–Click to open the post in separate window.

Here is my Reaching Squat Matrix, which is similar to the drills I explained in the previous post. It works great as part of a warm-up or as a mini-workout!

I recommend this variation prior to performing a similar lunge matrix. Also, you can perform this sequence without a dumbbell.

This is an excellent way to fire up the “communication” between the hip and opposite shoulder.  There is a great deal of work being done by the trunk in order to control the movement!

5 responses

  1. John

    I like it Sarah and I’ve seen it used in the physical therapy realm. If you place a band or tubing in a high position and incorporate the “throwing” action, you also get a “reactive” component that involves great ab work!!

    April 1, 2009 at 11:09 am

    • Yes yes yes! 😀
      Good stuff! I am gonna fiddle with the band version! I have tried it before, but I need a lighter JC long band for it! I’m thinking the band variation may not be a bad idea for the client I mentioned with my SB Dead Bug post! I have her do the reaching squats with a 3-5 lb dumbbell, to get things firing, but i’m thinking the band variation could be better b/c it should challenge her core more in decelerating the external rotation!!! Thanks for chimin’ in and giving me some more ideas, as usual!

      April 1, 2009 at 11:15 am

  2. Christina

    LOVE IT!!!!! great with the hip mobility….the tightness is subsiding!!! YAY!!!

    April 1, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    • Yes! 🙂
      Lots of stuff on here for hip mobility, and more to come…so, you’ll be happy!

      April 1, 2009 at 5:47 pm

  3. Pingback: -Reaching Squat Matrix + Band- « “Outside the Box” Training

Leave a Reply

