Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Life is Movement!-


As I mentioned yesterday, I spent this past weekend in Pensacola, Florida.  It stormed all day Friday, and Saturday was better.  Sunday was gorgeous, although i’ve never sat on the beach with goosebumps before!  It did warm up, however, and now i’m sitting here with sunburnt shoulders!  Anyhow, I shot this little clip of the Gulf Saturday.  The waves were kickin’!  Sunday, the surfers were out, and was once again reminded how I so badly want to learn how to surf!  One day! 🙂

When I have my toes in the sand and look out upon the ocean, I am reminded of just how amazing life is.  Standing on a beach…watching the waves crash upon the shore…I will forever be in awe of the beauty of both nature and life.  The ocean never sleeps.  It is in a constant state of movement.  Even when the water is calm, it is alive.

The same thing also happens to me when I go skiing.  Standing at the top of a mountain is an incredible feeling, and skiing down it is even better!  There is just something surreal about the entire experience, and this is why I feel everyone should try skiing once.  Even if you completely stink at it, freeze your butt off, and end up sipping hot toddies in the lodge for most of the time, you will be humbled by the experience of getting out there.  The feeling of gliding down a slope simply can’t be compared…and i’m sure surfing is right up there with it.  So, mark my words…I WILL learn to surf by the time i’m 40!  That gives me just a little over seven years, so i’d better get after it!

Life is movement.

Doesn’t it just feel good to move?  I think so.  The ability to move my body and stay in shape is something I am truly grateful for.  Too many people take this for granted.  Too many people sit around complaining that they are tired, they hurt, and they are overweight.  Know what, folks?  You have the ability to do something about it.  There are many who aren’t as fortunate.

Get out there and MOVE, people!  Don’t waste another day!

Yours in Health,

Sarah

3 responses

  1. Debbie

    What a great gratitude message Sarah. Unfortunately, some people don’t realize how valuable their health is until something goes wrong (see this as a nurse). If we could just be a little more proactive, rather than reactive, right?

    April 1, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    • Exactly!
      I love my job because it’s PROACTIVE medicine…if I were to have gone to med school, i’d be helping people, but after they had gotten sick/injured. To me, i’d rather show people how to take care of their health, and even reverse health issues, so down the road they aren’t set up for disease/sedentary lifestyle. I wish more people could grasp this! We are only here for a short time. Who wants to spend a lot of it sick and sedentary? I know I sure don’t! What a waste!

      April 1, 2009 at 1:26 pm

  2. Tonya

    Thanks for the reminders that there is more to life than work work work. I love that your attitude about life, health and fitness is so balanced.

    April 1, 2009 at 2:54 pm

Leave a Reply

