Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-A Little R&R!-


beach-11Have y’all missed me? 🙂

I’ve been in Florida.  I got back last night!  Went with a few friends to check out the beach house we’re renting for a wedding next month.

As many of you know, there have been some horrible storms going on in the past week, all over the country.  We left crazy storms in Baton Rouge to catch the tail end of them in Pensacola.  Saturday, when we went to see the house, it was extremely windy and drizzly, but the worst was over.

beach-2What does this have to do with exercise, you ask?  Everything.  A little long weekend can work wonders for one’s mentality! 🙂  I typically work on and off throughout the weekends, diong things on my laptop, blogging, etc.  I didn’t do ANY work this weekend, however, with the exception of answering a few emails to clients/colleagues and posting a few times on the S-T Forums (there’s one particular trainer guy on there who really could benefit from reading my last post about negative people, lol)!

beach-5Pretty much the entire weekend, I was forced to relax and just “chill,” which was a good thing.  I was frustrated for a little while because apparently the guys at Art of Strength don’t seem to think their affiliates deserve to be paid what they’ve earned in commission.  Also, i’ve had to contact them several times in order to finally get paid…after having signed up as an affiliate back in December.  I don’t know about you guys, but if I contact someone politely, then receive a short and not-so-friendly response and am kinda “put on hold” without being given a definite answer, it’s a bit of a turn-off.  I don’t count on this stream of income for anything, I just want to promote a company I really believe in.  I feel AOS is top-notch.  I have sent a lot of business their way.  Big grumble there.  So far, the only companies I endorse in this manner are Perform Better and AOS, and i’ve never had a problem with PB.  I dunno.  Not sure what’s gonna happen with all this. I only want to be affiliated with companies and people who do business the right way, and right now i’m not sure how to feel about AOS.  Anyhow, after realizing what a load of hooey this all was, and that I shouldn’t let it bother me, things were pretty peachy!  My friends and seeing the beach house helped take my mind of this petty issue.  Also, a few beers and snow crab legs don’t hurt!  Yes, I drink beer…you can drink beer and stay in shape, people! 🙂  Let your hair down!

beach-4Life’s gonna throw situations at you 24/7 where you’re forced to stand up for yourself.  Let’s face it, most people aren’t looking out for us.  Yes, our loved ones are, but aside from them, it’s really a “me against the world” kinda thing when it comes to making sure we are taking care of ourselves.  You see, I wasn’t raised to stand up for myself.  I was raised to please everyone, to be the “perfect” child.  I wasn’t taught that it’s okay to get mad.  I was taught that if I got upset, I was supposed to hide it, so I wouldn’t upset people.  Know what?  That Sarah is in the past.  She’s long-gone.  

What kind of role model would I be if I didn’t encourage people to stand up for what they believe in?  What kind of role model would I be if I didn’t show people that when you put your heart and mind to it, anything is possible?  I do my best to live a life that is honest, and this means I must do what I can to help foster positive attitudes in all those lives I touch!

So, now it’s back to the grindstone.  I have a bit of a sunburn (which will turn into a tan, thanks to my mom’s genetics, lol) and got some good rest, and got to hang out with good friends.  This weekend made me realize, yet again, that it’s GOOD and HEALTHY to just stop and smell the roses sometimes. 🙂

2 responses

  1. Nancy Rae

    It was a wonderful weekend and it really was great to see you finally chill. I know you think you are wasting time not doing some sort of work but it was time for you to take a break so you don’t burn out. You help so many people and it was time for us to help you. 🙂 We should do it again soon!!!!!

    March 30, 2009 at 11:40 am

    • Love you, Nancy! We didn’t get to work out. Maybe we can do that when you’re here this week? I need to be easier on myself. I definitely needed the break! 🙂

      March 30, 2009 at 12:31 pm

Leave a Reply

