Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Revisiting the TRX Single-Leg Lunge!-


A while back, I blogged about an exercise commonly known as a “suspended single-leg lunge” or “TRX single-leg lunge.”  You can access that post by clicking HERE (will open in a new window).

The other day, I included these in my workout.  I have had several clients perform this movement, and have always just referred to it as a “suspended single-leg lunge with reach.”  I incorporate a contralateral floor reach and arm motions to mimic running mechanics.

Know what?  It may not be super-important, but from now on, i’m not referring to this exercise as a “lunge.”  Why?  The act of lunging requires you to step into the “lunge” position. To me, these aren’t lunges…they are single-leg squats!  Furthermore, my variation is a squat/deadlift hybrid b/c I include a hinging action at the hips with the arm reach.

So, without further ado…here’s the Suspended SL Squat + Contra Reach!

BTW, I don’t own a TRX.  I’m not sold on the pricetag.  I highly recommend the USA by BodyweightCulture.com, and I also use the Jungle Gym.

Keep training SMARTER!

Sarah

2 responses

  1. Debbie

    Another great idea! Don’t laugh but I do these brushing my teeth at night from a pulley rope borrowed from my Total Trainer (separate pilates rope I purchased). It’s fixed to my pullup bar on a door and serves as an assist for pullups (too cheap for bands). Totally agree on the pricey TRX.

    I’m pretty lightweight so it works but I’m going to add the arms and include it in my routine. I have a stretch-out-strap that would probably work too. Yes, I have a mini-gym, not an apartment!

    March 27, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    • Awesome! I’m not laughing at all…I do single leg reaches to pick things up off the floor! 🙂

      March 30, 2009 at 8:45 am

Leave a Reply

