Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-What We Can Learn From Kids-


 

Go Kenley!

Go Kenley!

The other evening, I watched a friend’s daughter’s t-ball game.  The players ranged in age from four to seven.  I had the best time!  As I watched the game, several things became obvious.

 

First off, kids imaginations fascinate me.  Maybe it’s because I hang around adults most of the time.  To most kids, life is one adventure after another.  Kids aren’t jaded.  Kids are just kids!  Their imaginations are incredible!  The thing is, as we get older, we don’t lose our imaginations…we just get out of touch with them.  “Real life” gets in the way, lol.  Why shouldn’t we get more in tune with our imaginations?  

 

Teeny tiny is on the left!

Teeny tiny is on the left!

Secondly, kids are not inherently lazy.  Kids want to PLAY.  Kids want to move their bodies and just have fun.  Why should this change as we age?  Again, “real life” gets in the way, but i’m sorry…if you have a perfectly functioning body and you’re sitting on your butt all day, you have no excuse.  We are fortunate to be able to simply MOVE.  Watching these little girls run was priceless.  There was one little one, definitely four years old or thereabouts…hair in pigtails on top of her head.  She was one of the tiniest ones on her team, and she never stopped smiling!  I swear, she was grinning from ear to ear the entire time!  Also, she was a great player!  She would crank the ball and then haul butt!  We were cheering for her even though she was on the other team!  If you have the chance today, observe your kiddos or friend’s kids as they PLAY.  See how active they are?  How did it come to be that we get older and play becomes a foreign thing?

 

 

 

Good game!

Good game!

Third, if kids like you, you know.  Maybe it’s because i’m a big kid myself, but kids always seem to like me.  I love making them laugh by doing goofy stuff.  I’m a big goober and depending on a kid’s age, they’ll either laugh with me or tell me i’m weird.  I love hearing kids talk about anything and everything.  Everything seems SO important, and it makes me flash back to being young.  Kids are pretty honest.  They’ll tell you what’s up!  Sure, they’ll try and pull the wool over your eyes here and there, but overall, kids are just doing their thing.  Now, if we’re talking teenagers, I realize that’s an entirely different subject! lol

 

 

 

 

Pink Panthers won!

Pink Panthers won!

2 responses

  1. DDRdiva

    Another wonderful thing about kids is that they are so uninhibited. They’ll try anything! My 7-year-old daughter picks up my 12kg kettlebell, deadlifts it and walks around with it (under my supervision of course). No worries about “bulking” from her! I don’t want her to ever lose her desire to be the fastest and strongest she can possibly be. How sad it is when teenage girls and grown women fret about becoming “too strong”.

    March 26, 2009 at 8:21 am

    • That is priceless!
      I agree with you. Why is it that we are taught to be “weak” and that “strong” is bad?
      Keep it up – you’re a great role model! 🙂

      March 26, 2009 at 11:41 am

Leave a Reply

