Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-I Love Non-Traditional Training!-


As many of you know, back at the beginning of September, Baton Rouge was pummeled by Hurricane Gustav.  The aftermath?  Fallen trees EVERYWHERE and NO POWER for most of the city and surrounding areas.  I was without power for two weeks…on top of this, I had the world’s worst case of poison ivy to add to the “fun,” lol.  How did I get the poison ivy?  Well, I was at my friends’ house, up in a fallen tree that was apparently covered in it.  I was sawing the tree up for hours, exorcising some pent-up stress and frustration brought on by the Gustav craziness.  We had to get the top part of the tree sawed off in order to get the trailer out from underneath it.  

Yes, I said “exorcise,” not “exercise,” although it was most definitely exercise. 🙂  I feel the hours I spent up in that nasty tree saved my sanity, if only temporarily…because the next morning when I woke up with a swollen face and itching all over, my life was not fun for the next month!

limb

The limb...and "my tree" in the back right!

Anyhow, yesterday I spent the day over at the same friends’ house, this time my task was to take care of the huge fallen limb that was partially in the pool.  The yard had gotten out of control, so the John Deere was out in full effect, amongst other tasks.  My friends know that I love using the pole saw!

limb-2

"My limb"...and the "bog"!

This was a big limb.  I couldn’t pull it by myself, so I began sawing off pieces of it.  I wanted to make sure that I didn’t cut off so much that the part hanging over the pool fell in.  As I was going to town on the limb, several thoughts crossed my mind, the main one being the fact that I LOVE manual labor!  I love working hard and seeing the end result!  I would saw for a bit, then turn it off and pick up big pieces of the limb and toss them in a pile.  I was deadlifting and performing overhead throws!  I was getting a workout, and it was a lot more fun than a typical one!  I would intentionally pick up pieces and see how far I could throw them, making them into the pile each and every time!   Lots of hauling cartfuls of branches to the road afterward!

limb-6

Weapon of choice!

I don’t know what it is about using the pole saw, but it’s addictive!  I kept wanting to saw up more limbs!  I actually sawed up a few large ones that had fallen during the storm, which cleared up more of the yard for mowing!  There’s an art to using the pole saw, you see…since it’s not big like a chainsaw, you’ve gotta go at a big limb from multiple angles, and it takes a while…but it’s a blast!  Yes, i’m weird!

limb-3

Where'd it go?

The end result?

No more limb!  A big pile of branches/limbs next to the street, and a SORE body today!

Oh, and once again, a BIG thanks!  Over 8,000 hits now!  That’s 1,000 in the past week!  Look out, world! 🙂

limb-4

Utah weighs 120 lbs...yes, BIG limb!

limb-51

We could have a bonfire!

Battle wounds!

Battle wounds!

4 responses

  1. Paul

    I had to use an ax remove some roots from palm trees at our new place. Whew, what a workout. I really do love stumbling on everyday activities that can be turned into a workout.

    March 23, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    • Me too! I was seriously about to go for the axe on a few larger limbs, but by that point I was BEAT! 😀

      March 23, 2009 at 3:53 pm

  2. Wayne Boozer

    This reminds me of a Rocky movie. Still, yard work (especially the heavy stuff) is a great wat to work up a sweat as long as you play it safely.

    March 24, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    • HELL YES!!!!!!
      Remember when he was training in the snow? LOVE IT! Was that Rocky III or IV? That’s my favorite Rocky movie…where he fights the Russian…”I must break you!” LOL!
      Gotta control the chainsaws! 😀

      March 24, 2009 at 2:41 pm

Leave a Reply

