Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-KILLER Sliding Reverse Lunges!-


Here’s a great leg exercise – the Sliding Reverse Lunge!  

I read something by Mike Boyle a while back regarding the use of a kettlebell when performing reverse slideboard lunges, so I opt for this method.  Why?  The kettlebell gives the resistance a lower center of gravity.  Holding just one kettlebell on the inside of the working leg adds a rotational loading component.  This places more demand on the working leg glute and torso!

In addition, I like to finish off these amazing lunges by adding some “mini-lunges” with just bodyweight.

I’m using the Valslide and an 8kilo kettlebell.  

Slide the rear foot back, dropping down into lunge position, then return to start.  Once you’ve completed 10-15 reps, set down the weight and complete 10-15 “mini-lunges” to finish things off!  KILLER!  

My clients love/hate these! 😀

10 responses

  1. Paul

    That does look pretty brutal. My quads are shot yesterday from doing 3 sets of 20 Zercher Squats with a sandbag on top of some Pistol Squats.

    March 17, 2009 at 4:58 pm

    • Well, i’d imagine so! My quads are sore just thinking about that! 😀 You’re an animal! Try the sliding lunges once the soreness subsides!

      March 17, 2009 at 5:13 pm

  2. Tonya

    Thanks for posting a video of these. I was holding the kb in the racked position instead of at my side when I did these, but I’ll correct this next time they’re in the mix.

    March 18, 2009 at 5:36 am

    • Heck yes, T!!!!!!
      Having the KB in the rack position isn’t a bad idea, though! 😀

      March 18, 2009 at 11:19 am

  3. DDRdiva

    Sarah, yesterday I went to the fitness room at our local community center and did a workout using some of your exercises including the standing band press you wrote of on 1/29 (I did them on the cable crossover machine). There’s a senior center there, so lots of seniors use the fitness room, and a lady saw me doing the cable presses and asked if that was good for the shoulders. I said “well, I really feel it in my middle”. So I showed her how to do them, she did about ten on each side, then went off to the ab machine to do crunches. (I decided to be polite and not say anything, LOL) Well, if she feels anything like me the next day, I bet her abs are on fire! Just wanted to let you know that your work is being spread around beyond your blog.

    March 18, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    • THAT IS AWESOME! 🙂
      I love it! You were like the exercise “good samaritan” trying to show the “way” about REAL ab training!
      That is great!
      Keep spreading the word!

      March 18, 2009 at 12:16 pm

  4. sarah

    the blog is awesome, love the set up you got at home!

    keep kickin ass!

    –z–

    March 19, 2009 at 6:08 am

    • Thanks, Zach!
      Hope to meet ya in May!

      March 19, 2009 at 9:01 am

  5. Re: holding the kb in the racked position. That’s just a progression to this exercise. It’s gonna take more core stability to hold the weight higher. Love that you drop the weight and then add a little finisher onto the exercise — nicely done!

    March 19, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    • Thanks, Leslie!
      The finisher is a killer!
      😀
      Much more painful (in a good way) if you crouch down…I have one particular client who tries to get out of that…funny how people pay us and don’t wanna give 120%!!! Crouching = better legs and butt.
      Nuff said!

      March 19, 2009 at 4:00 pm

Leave a Reply

