Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-The Tiger Tail-


Ah…it’s Saturday.  It’s a gorgeous day outside, and i’m a bit under the weather. 😦  I NEVER get sick, so i’m thinking this must be allergies or something.  I’m sneezing, a bit stopped up, my throat is sore, and I just feel “blah.”

Anyhow, i’m planning on being productively lazy today.  What does that mean?  Well, i’m going to tackle a few projects while relaxing on the couch, just like i’m doing right now.  I’m also spending some quality time with my Tiger Tail, as my right gastroc seems to have become one huge knot.

photoWhat the heck is a Tiger Tail, you ask?  Well, it’s an awesome little device that, as the Perform Better guys put it, “helps relieve sore, tight, cramping, fatigued and stiff muscles by helping restore muscular balance.”  It resembles a skinny rolling pin, and like the foam roller, it helps “release” trigger points and promote healthy tissues.  

I think of the foam roller as the “cannon,” while the Tiger Tail is the “rifle.”  The foam roller lets you cover large areas, and the Tiger Tail lets you get in and work a bit harder on areas such as the traps/neck, low back, and calves.

Yes, the Tiger Tail is the same kinda thing as the “Stick,” although I have never used the latter.  I opted for the Tiger Tail because living in LSU country has somewhat brainwashed me into thinking “tiger everything!” lol 🙂

9736ps1

23 responses

  1. bravofitness

    You know, I hear FiveFingers help relieve cramping cows! 🙂
    Get better!

    March 7, 2009 at 10:19 am

    • This is true, this is true!
      Did you order yours yet?

      I’m really thinking the knot is because I wore heels (albeit not 5-inchers, lol) the other night…but why just my right calf?

      I’m also doing 3-D stretching as much as I can…when I get up from the couch (gosh I sound lazy), I do a few stretches…I’m thinking i’m going to use this “problem” as a little “how do we fix it?” thing…i’m gonna find out what best fixes my unhappy calf! 🙂

      March 7, 2009 at 11:13 am

      • bravofitness

        Put down the Krispy Kreme smoothie! 🙂
        I am sooooo close to ordering. I was going to go with the classic, but i think i am going to get the ksos. I can’t wait to throw these on for a session and see my clients face. I want gorilla feet! Do you know anything about the socks? I have see the ones on the website(injin?), but i have seen a few others as well.
        I can see you now, FiveFingers and a Wii fit, Sarah’s “Rippel program”!! I want to be certified! I want to be certified! 🙂

        March 7, 2009 at 11:26 am

        • LOL!
          You caught me!
          I am leaning towards the classics. I have yet to check out the socks, but that’s awesome, because the thought of wearing shoes without socks…ewww! 🙂
          And yes, I will most definitely create a certification program…you too, can make oodles of money training clients the “Rippel” way…i’m sure my good buddy warrior from the S-T Forums would LOVE it!!!!! 😀

          March 7, 2009 at 11:37 am

          • bravofitness

            🙂 Yes, I have noticed the “relationship” between you and he there. Sometimes you just can’t be all things to all people. I am too far into this to care about who’s method is better than who’s!

            ME…LIKE….D-BALLS….PRETTY….YELLOW. I do like mine however. 🙂

            Hope it’s just allergies.

            March 7, 2009 at 1:49 pm

            • He’s not worth my time. I wanna throw out the words “functional” and “core” right and left b/c he made a point of saying he can’t stand those terms. Oh well.
              D Balls are awesome! I don’t have any…I just have the regular boring bouncy ones…I like the fact that the D Balls don’t bounce.

              March 7, 2009 at 2:01 pm

              • bravofitness

                Who amongst us doesn’t want a functional core? 🙂 Lmao

                March 7, 2009 at 6:01 pm

                • AMEN!!!!!! 😀

                  March 8, 2009 at 8:43 am

  2. DDRdiva

    I hope you feel better soon!

    March 7, 2009 at 10:57 am

  3. I have The Stick and it’s wonderful! And as I have two clients with wrist issues AND tight calves (the two probably aren’t related, but makes you wonder!), foam rolling their calves is out of the question (too much wrist strain), but The Stick works wonders.

    Enjoy your day of active rest, Sarah!

    March 7, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    • Yay for SMR!!!!! I am curious to also purchase a Stick b/c it seems to have a little more “give.” Great point, Leslie, about it being a better option for some clients. I have a few with wrists issues as well. I have been wanting to get the massage balls (there are a few sizes), but have found a tennis ball/lacrosse ball works pretty well for shoulder blades…but still wanting something better for the lats…such a tricky place for clients to get at! Ahhhh…all the gadgets we can get! 🙂

      March 7, 2009 at 5:06 pm

  4. Dj

    Actually Tam and I bought “the stick” today which is a very similar product. Its a little peice of heaven on earth!! lol

    March 7, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    • Hey DJ!

      Awesome!!!!! I’m glad you got one!!!! It’s the next best thing to getting deep tissue massages on a regular basis. That reminds me…I need to find a massage therapist to trade out with…hmmmmm… 🙂 I’m sure your quads are gonna LOVE the Stick! yay!

      Have a good weekend!
      Sarah

      March 7, 2009 at 5:07 pm

  5. Paul

    Are the foam rollers or the Tiger tail necessary? I have only glanced at them on your blog but really haven’t looked any further into them.

    March 7, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    • Hey Paul!

      I don’t feel they are necessary for everyone…but for myself, it’s good to have these kinda “tools” handy for clients who may need them. I personally love the foam roller and it’s helped me keep my low back/hip happy (along with other stuff), so i’m sold. It’s helped some of my clients as well. I don’t use it with ALL clients, however!

      March 8, 2009 at 8:42 am

  6. Paul

    What I meant by necessary was if this is something that all people should use or just those with injuries.

    March 7, 2009 at 7:02 pm

  7. jamieatlas

    Hey Paul! The question you ask is a bit of a tricky one – if someone has an injury then using the stick too aggressively could irritate things.

    If there is scar tissue or leftover muscle flexing byproduct gunk in there then it can be very useful indeed (albeit occasionally painful).

    Hope that helps!

    Jamie Atlas

    March 8, 2009 at 1:31 am

    • Jamie is right!
      I am stealing his term “leftover muscle flexing byproduct gunk”!!!!!!! 🙂 LOVE IT!

      March 8, 2009 at 8:44 am

    • Paul

      Thanks Jamie, that did clear it up.

      March 8, 2009 at 1:04 pm

  8. JMJ

    I’m a big fan of the Tiger Tail, TP Massage Ball and the black foam roller. SMR really does help with warming up muscle tissue and helping with soreness. There are different schools of thought on when you should use SMR, I like to do it before my routine. And in the evenings a few times/wk. I have noticed better range of motion and overall muscle tissue. I have a few clients that have a love/hate relationships w/the good ol Tiger Tail! It’s uncomfortable initially (IT band!!!), but over time, it really feels good.

    March 10, 2009 at 10:39 am

    • I’m with you, Jason…I like to perform SMR at the beginning of my own workouts, as well as those of my clients. I’ll throw it in at the end for part of a cooldown here and there, but I feel it helps “tone down” the tight areas (such as the psoas) so you can more easily get in and “turn on” inhibited muscle groups (such as the glutes)! I need to put my Tiger Tail to work on a few clients’ IT bands, come to think of it…been a while since I did that… 😀 (evil laugh)!

      March 10, 2009 at 11:00 am

  9. Pingback: -5T!- « “Outside the Box” Training

  10. Pingback: -5T!- « "Outside the Box" Tri Training

Leave a Reply

