Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Four Great Hip Mobility Drills!-


I figured i’d expand on my previous post by giving y’all a few more lunge-type drills.  This is a great lunge/squat “matrix” I put together.  You can use it as part of a dynamic warm-up or as a mini-workout! Give it a shot!  Try 5 reps per side of each movement.  Always push through the heel as you stand up from each.  Make sure to keep your back flat and hinge forward from the hips on the reaching lunges!

bw-prisoner-split-squat-1

bw-prisoner-split-squat-2Prisoner Split Squats

You’ll feel a great stretch in the hip flexor/quad of the back leg, and the “prisoner” position of the arms encourages good posture and provides a little chest/anterior delt stretch!

 

 

Starting PositionEnd Position

Lateral Lunge + Contralateral Reach

Great for stretching those adductors and improving t-spine mobility!

 

 

rot-reverse-lunge-arm-up-1rot-reverse-lunge-arm-up-41Reverse Lunge + Rotation

A “twist” on stretching the hip flexors of the rear leg!

 

 

 

trans-reaching-lunge-1trans-reaching-lunge-3Transverse Lunge + Reach

Hits those adductors from a different angle and makes those glutes happy! 🙂

 

 

Here are two other pictues showing the Transverse Lunge + Reach, giving you a few different angles so that you may better see the foot placement.  Please excuse their poor resolution! 🙂

me-reaching-lunge-transverse-mb-7me-reaching-lunge-transverse-4

9 responses

  1. DDRdiva

    That looks good! Quick question about the transverse lunge, are you stepping back with your left leg, or to the side? (it’s hard to tell from the photo) Thanks!

    March 5, 2009 at 11:12 am

    • Hola!
      I know, the pics are bad. 😦 I had a few minutes to kill the other day, and shot those…not realizing my position in relation to my Flip!

      In the picture, i’m stepping around and back with my left leg, so yes! It’s a “drop step,” and you’ll plant that foot in a position so it’s perpendicular to the stationary foot. I always think in terms of 90-degree angles, and it’s roughly a 90-degree angle in relation to the stationary foot. Let me see if I have a picture that better shows this, and i’ll add it to the post!!!!!!!

      March 5, 2009 at 11:30 am

  2. DDRdiva

    Thank you for the speedy response! Gosh, it’s almost like you’re in the same room… I better sign off before I get a scolding for spending too much time at the computer and not working out, LOL!

    March 5, 2009 at 11:57 am

    • No problem! You are welcome!!! 🙂
      I am home for the rest of the day! No clients this afternoon!

      March 5, 2009 at 12:24 pm

  3. Paul

    I have to come up with a comprehensive stretching schedule, I really have neglected that component.

    March 5, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    • Hey Paul!

      Stretching is something most people neglect. What’s really awesome is when you pick dynamic stretches, such as these, that also “work” you…I like exercises that are multi-functional (ie – work on strength, flexibility/mobility, etc all in one)!!!!!!

      March 5, 2009 at 5:22 pm

  4. Tonya

    I think this quick routine would be a great way to counteract my hours of sitting at the computer, especially those reverse lunges with a twist.

    March 5, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    • Heck yes, T!
      I will include them in next week’s workout for sure!
      BTW – Tonya is one of my rockstar clients…not only that, but she’s an ONLINE client. She busts her butt for me LONG DISTANCE! How ’bout them apples?!!! 😀

      March 5, 2009 at 5:23 pm

  5. Pingback: -Sarah’s Reaching Squat Matrix!- « “Outside the Box” Training

Leave a Reply

