Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Get A Rope!-


One of the more nifty tools that’s become a little popular these days is simply a 30-50 foot piece of rope.  

What?

What in the heck do you do with a rope, you ask?

Kick your as*!

Seriously.

Rope undulations are TREMENDOUS for total-body training!  Your entire body must work to get the waves going, and keep ’em going.  You can’t just stand there and flail your arms about and expect it to work!  For you core training fanatics, definitely a lot of that goin’ on here!  Talk about something that will jack your heart rate up into the stratosphere…and calorie burn?  GOT IT!

Here’s a compilation of four basic patterns: double waves, in & out waves, alternating waves, and grappler’s throw.  Each one of these patterns has numerous possible modifications.  You can make the waves smaller/bigger.  You can use different stances.  You can add squats and lunges to the mix.  AWESOME stuff!

Can’t you just see the calories going up in smoke as I demonstrate? 😀

You can order ropes through Art of Strength (AOS)!!!!!

So there ya have it…another great tool to add to your “outside the box” training arsenal!

6 responses

  1. Paul

    My friend and I were doing some calisthenics at a local park one day and I passed some tired and two fire hoses. We rigged the hoses underneath the tire to hold em down and proceeded to make some waves. WOW. Definitely a very efficient way to get smoked.
    Today I am going to give a sledgehammer Tabata workout a try (8 rounds of 20sec work, 10sec rest). Thanks again for another great post Sarah.

    February 26, 2009 at 5:40 am

    • Hey Paul!
      Great way to get creative! I’m glad you got to try out this killer way of training! 😀

      February 26, 2009 at 9:17 am

  2. Very interesting. I’m definitely gonna have to throw these in after my next meet when I get back into the conditioning thing!

    February 26, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    • Yes! For sure! 🙂 You will love ’em!

      February 27, 2009 at 10:46 am

  3. Trudy P.

    I was able to afford a personal trainer for about 8 sessions and can no longer go. We did some rope work and I really enjoyed it. I would like to keep doing it. I live in an upstairs apt. and have enough space on my roof. I was told that I need like a 100lb kettleball to hold it down! I’m on a budget here and I’m wondering what the alternatives are, like the firehose idea some people have mentioned.
    Thanks for your help!

    July 10, 2009 at 10:50 am

    • Hi Trudy!

      Glad you discovered how awesome the rope is! I haven’t used a firehose but have seen videos. If there is a pole or column, you should be able to wrap the rope around that and voila! I prefer this over looping the rope thru heavy kettlebell handles.

      Also, if you get rope off eBay, it’s WAY cheaper…you just have to wrap the ends! 🙂

      Yours in Health,
      Sarah

      July 14, 2009 at 1:15 pm

Leave a Reply

