Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Trainer Nation Is Here!-


 

STAY POSTED!  COMING SOON!

IT'S HERE!

In the words of John Izzo:

 

 

“I am John Izzo and I am a fitness professional. Not just a personal trainer…I am a professional. And I have assembled some of the best fitness professionals in the business to help me put together an on-line magazine that features all their chosen specialties and exercise programs. These professionals were chosen by me because they had the day to day experience of training clients and using their program designs to get real results. Some of their stories are about business. These guys are busting their asses making a living training people, so why shouldn’t they educate the reader on how to successfully run a business? In TRAINER NATION, we talk about everything: home training, business start-ups, exercise programs, running, and heck, I have an article in there on glute activation.

I encourage you to get your copy of TRAINER NATION. It is over 50 pages long and boasts some great resources from some very insightful individuals. This FREE electronic magazine is not just for personal trainers, it is for anyone seeking advice and practical programming skills from professionals in the field. Nowadays, it is called “in the trenches”…and these guys and girls have it! I wouldn’t put my name on anything, especially if experience was absent from it. Whether you are a seasoned fitness trainer, instructor, or coach…or dedicated lifter of iron, TRAINER NATION is for you.”

CLICK HERE to go to the TRAINER NATION download page!

9 responses

  1. Pingback: Intense Conversations » Blog Archive » Creatives Always Attract Haters: Get Rid of Them …

  2. Paul

    Downloading now, I will let you know what I think later. Thanks Sarah.

    February 23, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    • Awesome! You won’t be disappointed! 🙂

      February 23, 2009 at 5:10 pm

      • Paul

        You were right, I wasn’t. I was really interested in the first three articles: they introduced some ideas and terms I was not familiar with. Good to see a wide variety of training techniques talked about in the e-zine.

        February 23, 2009 at 6:39 pm

        • 😀 Thanks for the feedback, Paul! I’m passing this along to John! BTW you have me thinking about “non-traditional” cardio…you may have just inspired me to come up with my own unique exercises! I am gonna let the cat out of the bag and say that i’ve started a 2nd e-book, which is about my own style of “metabolic training” (strength/mobility training with cardio benefits)!

          February 23, 2009 at 6:51 pm

  3. JMJ

    Downloaded and looking forward to reading. Thanks for the information.

    February 24, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    • Yay! Awesome! As i’ve said before, you won’t be disappointed! 🙂

      February 24, 2009 at 10:05 pm

  4. JMJ

    Finally had a chance to read the ebook. Good stuff, very good read, quality information for sure. I like your towel swings using the KBs, good change-up. And I especially enjoyed Brian Ayers’ article on A Clash of Philosophies. Great analogy of the power saw. For us in the fitness industry, we understand the correct way to train a client, utilizing total body conditioning, training for function, and not splitting up the routines by bodyparts. However, the average Joe and Jane out there still have outdated views on how to train the body, and at the end of the day-most guys and girls want toned arms so they want an “arms only” workout day consisting of the old isolation exercises they did 8 y rs ago. Most guys I train want a bigger chest or bigger biceps-the beach muscles. They could care less about core strength. So I enjoyed Brian’s article, especially b/c I have current clients like the guy he referenced that was recently separated from his wife and started training more for aesthetics. All in all, a really great e-book by all you guys. John is super intellegent and you can tell in his writing.

    February 28, 2009 at 11:14 am

    • Jason,

      Yay! Thank you, and i’m jazzed you got a kick out of Trainer Nation! I love all the articles, and have gotten to know a few of the authors. Really great group of guys…and little ol’ me! 🙂 Brian’s article was awesome and he makes some really great points. People will always butt heads in our industry, but I feel that’s what makes things so great. We have the opportunity to speak out and be UNIQUE, which is all fine and dandy as long as we are SMART about how we train our clients. We obviously must keep things safe and we obviously must deliver results.

      What’s great about training for function is that it creates not only a better moving body, but a better looking body. I trained using bodybuilder-style exercises and techniques for, wow…a decade?! Yep, a decade. A decade of “training muscles.” I started incorporating more “functional” type exercises into my own workouts after that, and I almost immediately began to notice not only an improvement in how my body felt, but in how it looked. I’m 5’2 and tend to build muscle pretty fast. If i’m not careful, I can look “bulky” without even trying (don’t be scared, ladies, it’s not super-easy to bulk up, so don’t be afraid of weights)! Movement-based training has reshaped my body and my muscle definition is light-years ahead of what it used to be…and the kicker is, I train a fraction of the time I used to train. I wasted sooooo much time in the gym for way too long!

      You are right – waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too many people still adhere to the “bodypart training” mentality because that’s all they know. Heck, it was all I knew! The glory days of Nautilus machines are long gone, but the teachings are still the majority of gym-goers’ fitness education. We are really fortunate because we have so many opportunities to educate people and help them realize that training in this manner isn’t the most effective way. As fitness professionals, we are a lot more than rep-counters and exercise demonstrators…we are EDUCATORS.

      Thanks for contributing, and let me know when you get your blog up and running! 🙂

      Yours in Health,
      Sarah

      February 28, 2009 at 12:14 pm

Leave a Reply

