Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Yes, I’m A Bit Of A Sap-


I’m in deep-thought mode, so look out! 🙂

I just responded a second time to a post over on Kaiser Serajuddin’s Super Trainer Forums, which is a community for top-level Fitness Professionals.  I really love the forums because I am able to interact with trainers from all over the globe!  Even better, it’s an opportunity to help trainers new to the “game,” by sharing mistakes i’ve made, experiences, etc.  Definitely something I wish I would have had had access to when I was a “green” trainer! 🙂

Anyhow, this specific post dealt with a trainer’s inquiry regarding a client with a very unique condition.  The trainer was wanting to know what types of exercises the client should do, based on limited physical capacity due to injuries.  There have been some great responses to the post!  Although i’ve contributed my $0.02 on types of exercises, the major thing that really struck me was that this is an AMAZING opportunity for this trainer!  Talk about a position of being able to help make someone’s life better…wow.  It got me thinking about all kinds of things.  It made me realize just how much I enjoy working with people who aren’t in “100% working condition.”  I love being able to take a client from the most basic level, and gradually build opon this to a point where they are doing things they never dreamed were possible!  

I go to thinking about another thing – the fact that Personal Trainers are often viewed as “luxuries.”  Many people are not able to work with us because of financial reasons.  To me, finances are the LAST thing someone needs to be thinking about, because I know there are numerous ways to make training affordable and fit the client’s situation.  If you fire the “I can’t afford it” excuse at me, i’ll fire back with something like “you can’t put a pricetag on your health.”  Yes, I know…that sounds a bit cliche…but it’s TRUE, people!

Anyhow, the point I would like to make is that I believe we Fitness Professionals are in an awesome position.  Think about it – WE GET TO HELP POSITIVELY CHANGE PEOPLES’ LIVES ON DAILY BASIS!  How many other professions can say that?  Trainers, we are FORTUNATE.  Yes, our clients want to lose weight, look better, and feel better…we help them achieve these goals…but we are also making a positive impact on their lives.  We are helping people realize that they CAN accomplish things if they put forth the effort and keep their hearts and minds in the right place!  Because of this, we are blessed.  We get to witness so many positive things on a daily basis.  We get to help people AND we get paid to do it.  We get paid to do it BUT the money isn’t the driving force behind why we train people.  Making a good living IS important, but it’s not the reason we work with clients.  If you don’t agree with me, then you don’t need to be a trainer.  

Everyone have a wonderful weekend!  Stay active and make each day better than the last! 🙂

Yours in Health,

Sarah E. Rippel

2 responses

  1. DDRdiva

    I’m enjoying reading that Super-Trainer forum and it’s good to see that you and John Izzo have found a home there. I’m especially interested in the thread you started on kettlebell certifications. Kettlebells have just “exploded” in the past year or so and everyone and their dog is trying to get a piece of the action it seems.

    February 16, 2009 at 2:41 pm

    • Awesome! 🙂 I am really loving being a part of the forum! You won’t hear me say this often, because i’m very picky about who I “rub elbows with” in this industry. It seems to be a trend to schmooze and name-drop for the sake of getting ahead…and although this is gonna happen, I feel it’s sleazy when I see trainers jumping on the “I’m an affiliate for X’s product, A’s product, D’s product, etc etc etc etc”. This tells me that they don’t really care about TRAINING people, they are trying to make money pimping out everyone else’s products to make commission. You may have caught the great quote someone said in that exact thread you mentioned. Something like “it’s sad that fitness is becoming a MLM scheme.” SO TRUE! With all this being said, I owe both John Izzo and Kaiser Serajuddin a great deal of gratitude, for they have both encouraged me to step out of my “comfort zone” and network a little, and as a result, i’ve begun to realize that it’s okay to promote myself! It’s okay to do things that will build my business, as long as I don’t ever lose sight of the fact that I am a TRAINER and that’s where my heart lies. It’s great to be amongst like minds, especially since I am not around other fitness professionals in “real life.” I have gotten to exchange ideas and mingle with some great people already, so i’m excited about what lies ahead! Keep your eyes peeled!

      And yes…I feel the same way. Kettlebells are the “cool” thing to do these days. Because of this, everyone wants to get in on ’em, and as a result, the “higher-ups” have realized they can make a TON of money. $2000 for a certification is just plain ridiculous in my opinion. I don’t need a certification to prove i’m great at what I do. Like I discussed in my post, I would love the opportunity to learn from the “greats” in the kettlebell world, but I can’t seem to wrap my head around the pricetag.

      February 16, 2009 at 3:40 pm

Leave a Reply

