Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Nothin’ Beats Bodyweight Training!-


I am a BIG proponent of bodyweight training!  Why?  Well, first off, you must be able to perform movements with your bodyweight itself prior to adding resistance (in the form of dumbbells, kettlebells, bands, etc).  Here I am doing pullups and hanging leg raises.  Yes, i’m kinda a monkey! 😉  I WAS a gymnast, after all.  Let me tell ya, I haven’t been spending a lot of time doing hanging exercises lately.  On this particular day, I remember the most noticeable thing was that of my grip strength.  Since i’ve been training with kettlebells, it has most definitely improved!  I was able to hang on tight, and go to fatigue on both movements you see here.  I was able to eke out five pullups on the first round, and three on the second…which doesn’t surprise me, because I haven’t really been doin’ em, lol…BUT…I used to be able to do sets of 10-12.  My lats were SO sore after this day!

Make note of my range of motion on both exercises.  I don’t cheat on the pullups – I lower myself back down all the way.  My hanging leg raises are nice and stable – i’m not swinging my legs. 🙂

4 responses

  1. Paul

    I find the leg raises to be several times more challenging on grip as opposed to pull-ups. My hands are rather mashed up at the moment from several callouses so I haven’t been doing the following exercise as hard as I like, but what I do is grasp the bar with one hand and dangle for time. Usually 10 seconds is something to shoot for.

    February 10, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    • Thanks for sharing, Paul! Simply hanging from a bar is a great idea for a lot of people, myself included. It feels good to decompress the spine and stretch the lats! I looooove being able to hang at a level where my feet can touch somewhat, so I can hang on with my left arm and shift my hips to the left, stretching out my left IT/hip/obliques/lats…yeah…good stuff! 🙂

      And EVERYONE should be doing things that improve their grip strength! We’re not getting any younger, people! Keep your hands strong!

      February 10, 2009 at 3:39 pm

  2. JMJ

    You are a stud Sarah! The pull-up is one of true tests of strength. Very impressive.

    February 10, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    • Hehe! 🙂 Thanks, Jason!

      February 11, 2009 at 1:39 pm

Leave a Reply

