Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-“Sarah-Style” Training Works…In More Ways Than One!-


Okay…around the time that I began this blog, which was only back in October of 2008, I had realized that running wasn’t perhaps the best idea for me.  Why?  Well, I began to notice that even a short run (20 minutes) would leave me exhausted and in a zombie-like state for the rest of the day.  I am hypothyroid, take Synthroid, and as far as I know, things are a-ok…BUT…I will say that since my thyroid began to tank (roughly nine years ago), my body hasn’t been able to withstand long bouts of exercise.  I am also more susceptible to heat exhaustion.  Long story short, i’ve had to learn my limits.  Trust me, I wasted plenty of time overtraining back in my fitness competition days.  That stuff was insane, and I feel it helped push my thyroid over the edge.  Nowadays, my workouts are pretty intense and last no more than 45 minutes.  I listen to my body.  Some days, my body tells me that 30 minutes is enough, and I end it there.  I train SMARTER not harder.

With this being said, i’m supposed to be playing soccer again, starting in March.  I haven’t been running.  Soccer obviously involves a ton of running, so i’m realizing I need to spend some time with the ball at my feet beforehand.  It’s a gorgeous day today, and I decided to take Biskit (my Parson Russell Terrier) for a jog.  I set a limit of 20 minutes, and had no idea how fatigued i’d get.  

BIG SURPRISE!

We jogged for 20 minutes and it was a piece of cake!

So…what’s the point of all this?

I haven’t been running, and instead have been focusing on kettlebell training, bodyweight, and resistance band exercises.  Like I said above, my workouts are intense.  I don’t rest more than necessary, and I focus on quality, not quantity (in terms of workout time, reps, etc).  In decreasing rest between exercises, i’ve managed to improve my aerobic capacity.  I knew i’d been doing something right, because in the past four months, my overall conditioning has definitely improved…i’m leaner, stronger, and feel better overall.  I guess I just didn’t realize how much easier it would make running!  I could have continued running today, but Biskit was tired and I didn’t want to push it.  I wanted to see how I felt for the rest of the day, so i’ll report back later on that. 

So, if anyone’s wondering if kettlebell/interval/metabolic training can improve aerobic capacity, my answer is a big DUH…YES! 🙂

7 responses

  1. Tonya

    I experienced an improvement in my sprinting intervals after only about 3 weeks of adding swings to my old workouts. I felt like I had a “push” from behind because my gluts and hamstrings had more power and endurance.

    Now I’m a more than just a kettlebell convert…I’m a Sarah convert. Love your workouts.

    February 3, 2009 at 3:01 pm

  2. You’re awesome, Tonya! Thank you! 🙂 Everyone else, Tonya is one of my “online” clients. She is hard-working, dedicated, and does what I tell her WITH AN AWESOME ATTITUDE! She is proving to me, once again, that “online” training works! I have a couple of other online clients I could brag about, but we’ll let Tonya have the spotlight today! By the way, Tonya, I see a “success story” in your future!

    February 3, 2009 at 3:21 pm

  3. JMJ

    Sarah-as a former collegiate soccer player, congrats on getting back on the soccer field. (I wish I had the time to get back on the field). In my own workouts I don’t have time for steady state cardio so 20 min or longer runs are out. In fact, I haven’t done any cardio longer than 15 min’s in the past year. My metabolic conditioning/energy system development work consists of various plyo’s like jump squats, box jumps, jumping lunges, mountain climbers, burpees, seal jumps and jumping rope. In terms of traditional cardio, I have been doing 4 min tabata’s on the exercise bike, running stairs, and every now and then a 6 min interval run on the treadmill. I haven’t really had the chance to test my aerobic capacity lately, but I would almost guarantee with this style of training my aerobic capacity is super high.

    February 3, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    • Hey Jason! Thank you! I wish I would have discovered soccer sooner, but I started playing about five years ago. It’s an amazing sport! I was immediately hooked, and I last played two years ago (yikes!) when I was on a women’s team. I was the youngest on the team at 30, injury-free, and therefore was on the field the entire 90 minutes! Crazy! Anyhow, it sounds like we share similar approaches to conditioning! I have family in Dallas and Carrollton, so next time i’m gonna be in town, i’ll have to drop you a line and swing by Frisco for a workout and meeting of the minds! 🙂 I wish I had access to some better stairs for my own workouts…one of my clients has some pretty good ones in her condo building, and then there’s the almighty LSU Tiger stadium…I need to find someone who can hook me up with access to get in there! Talk about a workout! I’m thinking something like run a flight, lunge across to next aisle, run up, lunge across, etc. Throw in pushups and other bodyweight stuff. Hmmmmm!

      Can anyone get me access to Tiger Stadium? Maybe I need to talk to my uncle…he seems to know people around here, lol 😀

      February 3, 2009 at 6:02 pm

  4. Uncle B

    Enjoyed your email update today.
    Guess you inherited the thyroid problem from Mother.
    Keep up the good work, your reports are improving too!
    Uncle B (the toad)

    February 4, 2009 at 11:12 am

    • Love you Uncle Barry! Thank you! 🙂

      February 4, 2009 at 5:03 pm

  5. JMJ

    Hi Sarah-absolutely. Just let me know when you’re in town!

    February 4, 2009 at 2:57 pm

Leave a Reply

