Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Art of Strength – Santa Monica…AMAZING!-


OMG.

I finally got to go through the latest work-along kettlebell DVD from Art of Strength and I am completely obliterated!  What a challenge, but what a feeling!  Whoever it was that asked Anthony for his money back because the workout was too easy either is the bionic man/woman or did the workout at the wrong level.  I am completely in love with this workout!

and get this…

I didn’t even include the “ropes gone wild” segments!  I don’t have room in my living area and couldn’t go outside b/c of the rain today, so I did without them.  I can only imagine how much harder it would have been!  I don’t know if I would have been able to hang!  I got a 50-foot rope not too long ago and I’m thinking about ordering a 40-foot because the 50 is HARD!  I am still figuring out the best ways to loop it several times so that it’s shorter, but it seems the more you loop it, the less the rope “flows.”  I just need to fiddle with it more.

Once again, I must say that I LOVE the AOS workouts for several reasons, the main one being that I DON’T HAVE TO THINK about my own workouts!  I write up personalized workouts for my clients every day, and to be perfectly honest, when it comes to my own workouts, I don’t want to have to think about anything!  I just want to work hard, get it done, and feel good about it.  The AOS workouts are awesome because you can modify them to your liking, which is quite easy for me as a fitness professional.  I like to “tweak” things here and there to suit my needs.  I am also able to substitute exercises here and there as I wish, essentially creating a plethora of different workout possibilities!   I am also a big fan of working for time rather than couting reps these days, as I feel it allows me to focus more on my form rather than getting to a specific number.  Numbers, numbers, numbers…we are so caught up in numbers!  Things are much simpler without ’em! 🙂

I’m not going to lay out the workout as it is on the DVD, but I will share with you the weights I used.  I selected the “speed intervals” option (no explanations of exercises), “no ropes,” and 30 seconds rest after each round.  I kept up the pace, didn’t skip reps, and went through the workout once.  It took approximately 38 minutes.

Figure 8 to a Hold – 8kilo

TGU’s – 12kilo

1A Swings – 12kilo

Alt Swings – 12kilo

Squats – 12kilo

Chest Presses – 8kilo 

Pushups, Squats, Squat Hold, Jumping Squats – bodyweight

Squatting Press – 15 lb bodybar

Hi Pull – 12kilo

Staggered Squat – bodyweight

Press to Windmill – 12kilo

Deadlift to Row – 12kilo

Flip N’ Squat – 8kilo

Press to Getup – 8kilo

Superplank to Drop Hip – bodyweight

Double Alt Snatches – 8kilo

Lunge Cocktail – 8kilo

Squat & Hold – bodyweight

Bottoms Up/Open Palm Presses – 8kilo

AOS SANTA MONICA ROCKS!

I got done with the workout and hopped on here to enthusiastically write my review.  I’m done writing and I still feel revved-up!  My heart rate has come down but wow…what a great workout!  Dare I say that I can’t wait to do it again!

Another thing…the Squatting Press was a new exercise for me, and I was pleasantly surprised to find them not that tricky!  I have most definitely seen improvements in both my hip and shoulder mobility, and there’s no way one could do this movement without adequate ROM!

Anyone else who LOVES this workout, feel free to comment! 🙂

One response

  1. Pingback: -AOS: Santa Monica…Redux- « “Outside the Box” Training

Leave a Reply

