Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-I’m Glad I’m Not An “Expert”!-


These days, information is more than readily accessible by pretty much all of us.  It’s easy to get online and find tons of useful stuff!  Of course, along with the useful comes a plethora of garbage.  You have to know where to look and be able to weed out the “filler” info to get to the good stuff.  Case in point, eHow.com.  I started writing articles on there and every now and then will continue to do so.  Problem with the site is that tons of people are writing “how to” articles for things no one really gives a crap about.  Okay, so maybe there’s some little ol’ lady in Bangladesh that needs help learning how to knit teeny-tiny mittens for her chihuahua.  I dunno, lol!  Anyhow, my point is that it seems that everyone wants to be an expert on something.  

IF EVERYONE’S AN EXPERT, WHAT’S SO GREAT ABOUT BEING ONE?

I personally would like to boycott the term.  I have never claimed i’m an expert.  When i’ve been labeled as such, it’s been by people interviewing me.  My mind flashes back to a news interview I did twelve years ago where the guy claimed I was a “fat loss expert.”  At the time, it was a little cool because I was relatively “green” in my personal training career and wanted people to know me. 🙂  Nowadays?  I feel there are so many “experts” out there that the label doesn’t hold water.  In fact, the label seems cheap and sleazy to me.

I AM NOT AN EXPERT!

I often try to put myself in the client’s shoes.  If I were in the market for a new “fat loss” program, and had very little working knowledge of exercise and nutrition, who do you think I would listen to:  the formerly skinny kid who trains all his clients like they’re football players OR the formerly overweight woman who has struggled with weight loss all her life and finally found a “solution” (and it’s not a “secret” or a “miracle”)?  It’s obvious.  The problem with the internet is that many times, people don’t realize just what they’re getting into.

So, what can you do?  You can educate yourself.  You can make smarter choices about where you get your information from.  You can learn to “weed out” the fluff and turn to legit sources for help.

5 responses

  1. I honestly hate the word “expert”. I grew up thinking an “expert” knew it all. And I know I don’t know it all and I’m sure I know alot of “experts” that don’t know it all either…they just know exactly who to call to help promote a product or publish a book. Green trainers are attracted to “green”. 🙂

    December 13, 2008 at 9:47 am

    • Great minds think alike! 🙂

      December 14, 2008 at 7:57 pm

  2. Hey Sarah! What’s up with dissing Bangladesh huh? You know that’s my motherland!

    Haha – liked the post – yeah, anyone that labels THEMSELVES an expert, probably isn’t one –

    December 14, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    • Do dissin’ on the ‘desh! 😉 I promise! That’s the first place that popped into my head when I was writing! Thanks for stoppin’ by!

      December 15, 2008 at 7:16 pm

  3. Pingback: -My Views on the Personal Training Profession Pt. 1: The Client Connection- « RIPPEL EFFECT FITNESS

Leave a Reply

