Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-627 Lb Woman-


“For many years I tried to pretend that I wasn’t as big as I was. I just want to be like everyone else… I just want to feel human again.”

I am sitting here watching a little TV…as usual, there’s nothing on…well, except for right now.  I am watching a program called “627 Lb Woman: Jackie’s Story” on TLC.  I have seen parts of it but stuff like this is so interesting to me that I gotta watch it.  I am drawn to most any show that has to do with obesity, plastic surgery, health, etc.  The human body is the single most magnificent thing I can think of.  A complex, brilliant machine made to work properly from day one for most of us.  So many things that can go wrong, though…so many things we do to disturb this perfection…so many ways we abuse and neglect our most precious possession, our body…our health.

You see, obesity is an epidemic.  Obesity is defined by the National Institutes of Health (the NIH) as a BMI of 30 and above.  A BMI of 30 is about 30 pounds overweight.  The BMI (body mass index), a key index for relating body weight to height, is a person’s weight in kilograms (kg) divided by their height in meters (m)squared.  The percentage of Americans who are defined as obese has continued to grow every year, despite the fact that we live in a day and age of excellent healthcare, healthy food options, and healthy resources at our fingertips.  For more information on obesity, click here.

Obesity is a dangerous disease that leads to a cascade of other health issues.  The most obvious thing to me is that in many cases, these issues can be alleviated to a great degree or even erased by simply MOVING. Most of us are well aware of this.  I wish I could snap my fingers and be able to tap into so many people’s minds…to get to the root of the problem…because more often than not, obesity has nothing to do with genetics or health issues…more often than not, obesity is deep-rooted in one’s psychology.  This is why I have a hard time with what these days seems to be the use of bariatric surgery as the “cure” for obesity.  I believe that if a person has not gotten to the root of the issues that led them to become obese, surgery isn’t “the” answer.  Just as taking up an exercise program or another diet isn’t “the” answer.  The answer lies in a multi-faceted approach to weight loss that includes proper nutrition, exercise, counseling/support, etc.  I believe bariatric surgery is a “quick fix” for most people.  Don’t get me wrong – for many it’s a lifesaver.  I feel that too many view it as the “solution,” however, and it is simply not this.  The emotional/mental aspects are just as important as the physical.  If you are struggling with your weight, I encourage you to take a step “inside.”  Take a deeper look at yourself.  Work on the “inside” as well as the “outside.”

One response

  1. Pingback: Weight Loss » Blog Archive » -627 Lb Woman-

Leave a Reply

