Official Website of Sarah E. Rippel, BS, CPT, FMS

-Tuesday 10/14/2008 Workout!-


Today was the day I got Anthony DiLuglio’s “Strength in Motion” workbook!

Let me preface this entry by saying, in hindsight, I didn’t realize I should have gone thorugh the “Enter the Kettlebell” workbook prior to starting this program! 🙂

With that being said, I bought the workbook, downloaded it, and immediately devoured it…only to realize there wasn’t much to it but workout sheets.  No biggie, for I could refer back to the Art of Strength website for videos and the forums if I had questions.  I’m more of a visual learner anyway!  I tend to skim things when I read, and it proves to not always be the best thing.

I was JAZZED!  What a kick-ass workout!  The “month 1/week1/day 1” workout looked killer!  I couldn’t wait to get to work!  But first…I had to figure out what the hell a “figure 8 to a hold” was!  Ok, found it on the videos…looked cool…okay, well, I don’t have two kettlebells for the double kettlebell drills…what to do?  Use dumbbells?  Okay…I guess?  Make do and see what happens.

So, I went through the first workout.  Here’s how it went…

I used an 8 kilo bell, a pair of 15 lb db’s, and a 15 lb bodybar for the drills.

Warm-Up: I chose the second drill from the “dynamic flow drill” list, took 4:45 for 2 rounds of:

  1. swings – 10 reps left, 10 reps right
  2. snatch x 1 rep each side
  3. windmill x 1 rep each side
  4. turkish get-up x 1 rep each side

The first round was composed of 30-second “work” intervals:

  1. 1-arm press (8 kilo kb) = 10 reps left (30 sec)/12 reps right (30 sec)
  2. rest 60 sec
  3. 1/s snatch (8 kilo kb) = 16 reps left (30 sec)/17 reps right (30 sec); was confused, did high pull
  4. rest 60 sec
  5. double squat (15 lb db’s) = 10 reps
  6. rest 30 sec
  7. barbell get-up sit-up (15 lb) = 6 reps
  8. rest 30 sec
  9. double kb dead clean (used 15 lb db’s) = 6 reps
  10. rest 30 sec
  11. figure 8 to a hold (8 kilo kb) = 11 reps total (5 reps each side), had trouble and got confused! 🙂
  12. rest 60 sec
  13. push-up = 15 reps
  14. rest 30 sec
  15. plank = 30 sec
  16. rest 60 sec (end time = 19:10, includes warm-up)

Round two:

  1. 1-arm push press (8 kilo kb) = 14 reps left (30 sec)/15reps right (30 sec)
  2. rest 60 sec
  3. snatch (8 kilo kb) = 16 reps left (30 sec)/17 reps right (30 sec) (later realized i did 1/2 snatch)
  4. rest 60 sec
  5. hand to hand sumo deadlift (used 2 15 lb db’s b/c didn’t know what this was) = 12 reps
  6. rest 30 sec
  7. side bend (left and right, with pair of 15’s, again, not sure what to do) = 7 each side
  8. rest 30 sec
  9. alternating clean (dip and switch; used pair of 15’s) = 9 each side
  10. rest 30 sec
  11. figure 8 to a hold = 6 reps each side
  12. rest 30 sec
  13. close grip push-up = 10 reps
  14. rest 60 sec

Round three:

  1. long cycle jerk (did double versus one arm at a time, whoops; used 15’s) = 12reps
  2. rest 60 sec
  3. 1/2 snatch = 17 reps left/17 reps right (30 sec each; did high pull)
  4. rest 60 sec
  5. behind the neck squat (wasn’t sure, so did overhead squat with 15 lb barbell) = 15 reps
  6. rest 30 sec
  7. windmill (left and right) = 3reps each side
  8. rest 30 sec
  9. double kb long cycle clean (used 15 lb db’s) = 10 reps
  10. rest 60 secs
  11. staggered push-up (explosive) = 14 reps total
  12. rest 30 sec
  13. high plank = 30 sec

Okay…after this workout, my right shoulder hurt…later I realized that I must have not adequately absorbed the explosive push-ups (kept arms too straight)…ugh…that’s what I get for being somewhat neurotic, tired of feeling lazy, and ready to get back at it.  Ice and ibuprofen and taking it somewhat easy to make it better.

Leave a Reply

